We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Riad, amazing service, as good as the reviews suggest!”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #20 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Riad, amazing service, as good as the reviews suggest!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here at the end of September/beginning of October this year.
We booked the 4-day package which included tours, meal massage etc and it was excellent value. We stayed in the Junior Suite Loubana.
The room was very luxurious, very clean and well serviced. The staff always seemed to know when you were out of the room, they never once disturbed us by knocking when we were in the room. You can tell they place an importance on this.
The pool and sauna are nice, quite small but we didn't have to wait on the sauna any time and the pool was almost always vacant. The number of rooms means that there is no need for a bigger pool or sauna.

The roof terrace is perfect, the dining tables etc are the best place to have breakfast and on nice evenings, dinner too. Many are in shade, under nice timber structures with canvas curtains, which makes it a nice place to escape the direct sunlight if needs be. And the sun loungers are classy wrought metal framed with nice cushions etc, not cheap white plastic ones.

The massage was excellent, both of us said it was the best massage we ever had. Saida was her name and she was great.
There always seemed to be more staff than customers, whether that be in the pool area, roof terrace or dining rooms.

The dinner was very nice and the portions were huge, actually more than you could usually eat. Some other couples had been staying at other riads and they came for dinner at Riad Kniza because they didn't like the food at their riad and they had heard good things about the food here.

We found the location of the riad to be great. If you want to be right beside the main square of the Medina or the Souks then you will find other riads closer but Riad Kniza is right in the middle, between the Medina and the new city. It is worth going to the new city to on some of the evenings to eat in some of the French/Moroccan restaurants as it seems (from online reviews) that many of the restaurants in the Medina are inconsistent when it comes to quality or service.

The tours which the riad arranged were great and I advise doing them on the first couple of days. The walking tour and then the chauffeured tour into the Atlas Mountains including a hike to some of the waterfalls. I advise stopping for a camel ride on the way. The driver will know a good merchant to stop at for the camels.

The best thing about this riad is the amazing service from all of the staff. They will also give you a lot of good advice. They always walk around with a smile on their face, they seem genuinely happy to work there and they take a lot of pride in their jobs. The place seems to be a very nice atmosphere to work in and once I met the owner on the 3rd day I realised that he is a huge factor in this. He makes you feel very welcome and is so down-to-earth. You will see from his photos that past happy guests, Will Smith, Brad Pitt etc. have really enjoyed their stay as well. When we were leaving, an Emperor (of somewhere I can't quite remember) was ringing up to book his next stay, not long after his first stay!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are probably a bit quieter than where we stayed which was the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    69
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
207
859
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa San Miguel, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The walk from anywhere , except to the gate that is just around the corner (Dukka,,,sort of) is quite long...but well worth the walk from anywhere cause the Riad is exceptional. We booked thru an online discounter,,,Luxurylink) and were treated royalkly from arrival on. Kamal is an exceptional host!!!!

Dinner in a courtyard salon was incredible...the food was excellent (particularly a simple fresh orange with cinnamon dessert) but what made the event so spectacular was the total decadent luxury....and having the unspoken but understood permission to collapse prone on the sofas after dinner was beyond any prewvious experience. Do it for yourself...go here!!!! Needless tio say the rooms are suites,,,huge and plush...and exceptional as is the roof terrace for breakfast and the onsite hamman. All in all worth the fortune....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkslittleelves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The arrival into Marrakech at the Airport is extremely slow going through passport control, we experienced a hour.

You do walk through a fresh food market to get to the Riad so don,t be squirmish.

We arrived at the Riad and met with a warm welcome. The Riad is superb. We ate at the Riad that evening and it was the best meal we had in Marrakech. Breakfast is a feast as well.

All rooms are beautiful. The staff are superb

We did have a guide for a day to show us around Marrakech is well worth the investment

The Riad is about a 15 minute walk to the main square, we taxied back or got a Horse and Cart.

We did eat in Marrakech for two nights and had superb evenings.

I don't know why we haven't been to Morocco before but we will be back.

A perfect stay at the Riad Knizakasbah.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had read about this place from home, and were particularly looking forward to staying here. It is a very impressive place.

We had spent the whole day travelling from Fes - via the inland route, about 10 hours - and all we wanted was a quick drink and dinner. We were a little puzzled when we were told that there are only three choices - vegi, chicken or beef tagine. We also found it odd that there is no wine list - you can have white, red or rose - no information or option on what you will get.

Dinner turned out to be a lavish affair, with many courses - unfortunately for us served way too late, and way too much. There did not seem to be any option of getting something simple - food just kept on coming. We made a point of eating out every other night.

Breakfast also seemed to be a mystery - firstly where it was served, secondly what you get, and thirdly, when it will come. Don't be in a hurry to eat at Riad Kniza. I shouldn't have to ask three times for my morning coffee. Breakfast when it arrives is an extravaganza. Many plates and servings of many things - including several slices of cake. Can't say I've ever had cake for breakfast.

Rooms are very dark, and I found that had to use a torch to see the keyboard on my laptop.

None the less, the Riad is a delightful place - with its swimming pool, roof top lounges and well appointed public areas, and it is a quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahame_B255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Some years ago while researching Marrakech and looking at different styles of accommodation I became intrigued about “Riads”. My only knowledge of accommodation back then was hotels, bed and breakfast cottages, motels and camping grounds so I started to find out as much info as I could about this traditional Moroccan house or palace with an interior garden or courtyard. That is when I came across the Riad Kniza.

From that moment all those years ago I decided that one day I would visit Marrakech and stay at the Riad Kniza for my 50th birthday. Well that dream turned into a reality recently and I have just returned home from the most amazing time staying there and I am proud to say that we are part of the 98%+ people that find this “gem” excellent and you should believe the wonderful reviews about this very special place.

Chawki and Hanane who both spoke perfect English handled my initial enquiries by phone /email and were always very prompt in coming back to me on a number of questions prior to our arrival. At the time we booked it turned out that the only room left of the 11 on the property was the Royal Suite Bahia…I decided to book the great 4-night package which was on offer that also included airport transfers.

At the airport we were met by Rachid who was not only prompt and courteous, but had an impeccably clean van and offered us bottles water for our journey. He was also happy to fill us in on some history as well as cultural information on our way to the old city where we were staying, approximately 15mins away.

Once there we were met by one of the Riad ‘s staff and escorted from the Medina gate on a short walk through the cobble stoned market ( full of merchants selling anything and everything) to a small walled alley and a very imposing door. Behind that door lies Riad Kniza, an oasis of beauty that is a sanctuary and a perfect retreat from the heat, noise, hustle and bustle of the market atmosphere, sightseeing and the sometimes strong odours of the old city
,
Upon check in we knew we were in for a special time when we were treated to mint tea and delicious pastries in one of the air conditioned salons while the staff organised our paperwork. Kamal, the owners son, joined us to go over the details of our stay and any special requests that we might of had. He also suggested our walking tour be taken the following morning (part of our package) so that we would feel more comfortable getting around in the old city. His advice was spot on.
Riad Kniza is situated in a great location within the old city and it was very easy to navigate our way around after we enjoyed our guided tour with Moustaffa. The Medina is full of alleys so this handy location allows you to make use of a main thoroughfare that is close to the Riad. This gives you the option when exploring to walk the short distance to the fork in the lane …..left to the Souks or go straight on to the Djemaa el Fna, both about a 15 minute stroll away. Getting a taxi is also quite easy outside the Medina gate.

During our stay we were very fortunate to run into Mohamed, the owner and his son Kamal on numerous occasions. Both always had the time to chat, have a laugh, give some advice and share some history about their beautiful Riad, which has been in their family for over 200 years. We found being surrounded by such Moroccan authenticity with both the hosts and the Riad an amazing experience especially when appreciating the fine antiques that have been collected over time. Their company was most entertaining and we were very humbled when they welcomed us to enjoy their Riad as if it were our own home.

That was very easy to do with the beautifully air-conditioned suites that include modern amenities and free wifi, rooftop garden, (you can take breakfast, lunch or dinner in one of the cabanas or enjoy relaxing on the sunbeds) gorgeous indoor swimming pool and intimate sitting rooms where one can get easily get lost reading, in the tranquillity of the Riad. We even enjoyed a relaxing massage from Saida.

Our Royal Suite Bahia was located on the first level and we were certainly not disappointed….it was absolutely beautiful, spacious, luxurious and so tastefully decorated in a traditional Moroccan style. Upon arrival it was adorned in rose petals which was such a nice touch. I did get to look at some of the other rooms during my stay and they too were equally stunning

The staff are very special and we can’t speak highly enough of them. From the welcoming smile, to the outstanding service and the genuine care for their guests…it really is exceptional! My husband had a bad headache and needed to know where the pharmacy was one evening to go and get some paracetamol. When he explained to staff what he wanted to do, they insisted he return to the room to rest and they would go and get it. Within 15 minutes they had returned with the paracetamol and refused to take payment for it. Their only concern was that he got better.

Other gestures were the surprise birthday cake that arrived to our room after we had retired from our beautiful dinner in the Riad. Not only was it delicious but it was a touching way to end a very special day. The yummy pastries, complimentary water/sodas / fruit that would greet us in the suite on our return from exploring Marrakech and the beautiful room that the staff allowed us use of on our day of departure because of our late plane flight.. We could go on and you should believe the other gestures that past guests have made reference to because the staff at Riad Kniza are that thoughtful ….we have never experienced service quite like it and we have stayed in many hotels around the world.

We did eat in the Riad. Once we enjoyed lunch of Chicken Tagine, traditional salads and bread which I had cooked with chef Amina as part of my cooking lesson. One of the other guests highly recommended it and I am so glad I had the opportunity to take the lesson while I was there. The experience was great from beginning to end….. even shopping with Amina for the fresh ingredients in the souk. On the other occasion we enjoyed a traditional style Moroccan dinner which was delicious. Those meals were over and above the daily breakfasts and the optional room service that we often ordered. There is no room service menu but the staff are only too happy to accommodate whatever you desire so we ordered chicken sandwiches or kebabs from time to time.
On a final note, Riad Kniza made my Marrakech experience and 50th birthday a dream come true. From booking transportation, tours and restaurants to respecting our privacy but always being there when we needed them, the impeccable service and kindness….. as well as the other things that I have mentioned in this report

You could not go past this very special place to stay on your visit to Marrakech and that is the reason I have taken the time to share our experience. Our family, including our 16 year old son will certainly head back to Riad Kniza when the earliest opportunity arises for us to return to Marrakech.

Thank you so much to everyone for such a memorable stay.
John, Carla & Andrew P
Australia & Usa

Room Tip: Look for the internet specials and deal direct with the Riad. After speaking to some of the other gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

On entering the Riad Kniaza you are greeted by a peaceful haven from the Hustle and bussle of Marrakech. The staff were exceptional, kind and efficient. nothing was too much trouble. The rooms was beautifully furnished and relaxing. We had a meal on arrival and this was delicious. We were able to have breakfast in either the dining rooms, the roof terrace or your bedroom. We also used the Hammam which was fabulous. This has to be one of the best hotels I have ever hadthe pleasure to stay in. Thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Riad Kniza was remodeled extremely well.The service was excellent,the rooms are very comfortable, beautifully decorated. The food is excellent with a wonderful atmosphere to enjoy. They provided us with a van to take us to the airport with no charge.Very nice place to stay in the medina of Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micaelaColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#9 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#30 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing