We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Honeymoon!”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #17 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavenly Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Riad Kniza for the first several nights of our honeymoon in Morocco. The riad was an oasis of calm. Try the restaurant for dinner -- food is delicious and the service is attentive. We would highly recommend this riad to any traveller in the Marrakech area.

Room Tip: Room #1 was romantic and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
211
873
29
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kisaran
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Finally my last evening in this riad feel so quick. We stay 5 nights. And the owner really upgrade our room for the last three days. Both room are so authentic. Ambar suite and Bahia suite also amazingly like in the 18th century rooms. Thanks for all the hospitality. The staff was amazing. Even though we Order tea early morning, the staff also serve us kindly. We will definitely gonna miss this riad kniza. It's an amazing holiday and wonderful introduction to morocco. Hopefully they can keep up all the good work. Only set back is the hammam. But we don't reAlly mind,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 704Joni704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

What an amazing experience at this Riad. Once you find it, everything about it was beautiful. The family that own it are amazing, the staff that work there are amazing, our room was amazing, the service was amazing and the food was delicious. I cannot recommend this Riad enough. We wanted to experience a Riad as opposed to a hotel to get a feel for the traditional Moroccan experience. We absolutely loved it here and would say that if you are going to Marrakech then you need to try this place. Truly lovely experience all-round - they totally know how to look after their guests. Congratulations and thank you to all at the Riad Kniza as you have an amazing place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 the Yakout Suite - absolutely beautiful but then I think all the other rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and i had a chance to visit this Riad, it's very nice
staff, decor and ambiance, they have roof terrace with an amazing view
also they have a pool in a private patio
all seems to be very good
i will return to stay there

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I already wrote a review in french but we loved so much this wonderful Riad that we really wanted to share it with our english speaking friends. You are here in the true Maroco welcomed by the wonderful Bouskri family and their legendary father Mohammed who was such a famous guide well respected by all .
Anything you need to know ask them their culture is so wonderful it is an enchantment. The suites are beautiful full of antiques the SPA provides an outstanding treatment with Haissa and the restaurant serves the best food in Marrakech. You can take classes with the cheffe..but just the flavor the perfume of these wonderful dishes they would serve you in not to be missed...They are many Riads in Marrakech..but this one is the best so special..It is a must go

Room Tip: suites are gorgeous..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

RIAD KNIZA: My boyfriend and I stayed in Riad Kniza in June. It was perfect. The service is the best I've ever had. The wonderful, accommodating, nice, polite, friendly staff gave us so many tips (restaurants to visit in Marrakech; best times to go Jemma El Fna; what excursions we should do outside of Marrakech, where/how to shop in the souks). Every room is the riad is beautiful. There is no noise from the courtyard ever (the doors are thick and so are the windows). Oh and they gave us a free 30 minute massage which was very nice. There is also a very nice sauna.

MEALS at RIAD KNIZA: Everything about Riad Kniza is perfect. They are beyond accommodating!!! I'm a vegetarian and quite picky about food and they accommodated everything with a smile The food there is delicious and generous portions! (and my stomach didn't bother me once for the entire trip!)Breakfast was so impressive every morning (they even made us delicious double espressos every morning and anytime during the afternoon we wanted one).

The kitchen is spotless and they offer cooking classes there (unfortunately we didn't try this, but I wish we had. We heard from another guest that the class was very informative and a great experience).

Riad Kniza gives you so many extra bottles of water, tons of mint tea, any beverages you'd like (free of charge of course). They also give you yummy cookies and small pastries in the afternoon and after you get back from dinner if you'd like.

They'll even make dinner reservations for you every night. They also told us how to get a taxi and not get ripped off.... In sum, Riad Kniza has YOUR best interests at heart. They want the very, very best for their guests and will go ABOVE and beyond to make sure your vacation is perfect.


BOOKING EXCURSIONS THROUGH KNIZA:
SAHARA - Also, we booked all of our outside trips through Riad Kniza and couldn't have been happier. We booked a three day Sahara trek (ask for Abdou as your driver! he is so pleasant, a great/safe driver, and gives you lots of cultural/historical background if you'd like - if you want quiet, he gets that too). It was great (but absolutely exhausting - just keep that in mind as you plan your itinerary). Abdou really went out of his way to make the trip super memorable! He even worked with our Sahara tour guide to make sure I had a wonderful vegetarian tagine out in the desert! The food was surprisingly delicious and totally clean/sanitary out in the desert.

ATLAS MOUNTAINS - We also did a half-day trip to the High Atlas Mountains (we were SO lucky and had Abdou for this trip as well!), booking through Riad Kniza. It was FANTASTIC. Definitely a highlight of Morocco for me. The hike is incredible (and not too difficult a hike at all!) and you hike to these gorgeous waterfalls. MUST DO! Then you have a delicious lunch right on the river/stream there. Plus, there's no pressure to rush back exactly at 1 or 2pm. We got back in Marrakech around 5pm. Abdou was VERY happy to let us hike as long as we wanted and even stop and shop for pottery on the drive back. (He even helped bargain down prices on pottery for me!!!). He never once pressured us to hurry at all (even though we only arranged for a half day trip). We did give him a nice tip after it was over (but he never would have even asked for a tip obviously or ever said anything about how long we were taking).

I recommend booking everything through Riad Kniza, especially if this is your first trip to Morocco. They are so organized. They have the best and safest drivers in all of Morrocco (and the drivers and tour guides are so pleasant and well-informed, they'll give you lots of historical and cultural background).

IN CONCLUSION:

Don't think about staying anywhere else. Especially if you get a package deal - it's basically the same price as other riads, which are not nearly as accommodating and helpful. We stayed at another riad for our last night (won't say which one, but it is rated in the top 15 riads on tripadvisor) and the service couldn't compare. The owner at the OTHER riad was very pushy and generally annoying (also no one on staff was there at 8am when we got up for breakfast at that other riad. She also gave us a terrible dinner recommendation)...

Anyhow, Riad Kniza has the most pleasant, clean, accommodating, helpful, polite staff in all of Morocco. Book now and definitely book any trips outside of Marrakech through Kniza if you're new to Morocco.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EEM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the Riad Kniza. The rooms are a delight - we stayed in the Yakout Suite which was exceptional, very spacious - only downside to the sleep quality was the call to pray at 3:55 a.m.!!!! Staff are very tentative and the whole riad is extremely clean. The guides provided for the half day tour of the medina (Amin) and the Atlas mountains (Abdul) were great and spoke very good English. We pre-requested that the half day medina tour did NOT includes any shops (carpet/perfume) and was very informative. The Atlas mountains tour was a highlight and our daughter's favourite day. We seemed to be lucky and had luxury 4x4 vehicles for any pick-ups that involved a car (not sure if this is the norm). Our legs ached a little the next day from the climbing in the Atlas mountains and was glad that we had left this visit until our last full day, which we followed up with the inclusive massage and gourmet dinner when we returned to the riad - all in all a real highlight for our last day. Airport transfers were spot on too.

The main square where most things seems to be mainly located around is a 15 minute stroll away from the riad. The route is interesting and can be a little crazy at times!! (Negotiating pot-holes, people, mopeds, carts etc.). Marrakech is a real eye opener and the riad was a welcome, safe retreat to return to. The modern French quarter where the more "international" shops are, is a 10 minute stroll in the opposite direction. So the riad is well located too.

Definitely book the Riad Kniza if you are considering it - we were told that there are only about 8 riads still owned by Moroccan's - this being one of them. It won't disappoint.

Pack sensible shoes, we walked for hours each day!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#292 of 500 in Marrakech
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darsor
Darsor
#320 of 500 in Marrakech
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#340 of 500 in Marrakech
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#344 of 500 in Marrakech
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#297 of 500 in Marrakech
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#456 of 500 in Marrakech
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing