We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #21 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

What an amazing place to stay, so peaceful and the staff couldn't do enough for us. We were upgraded on arrival and had a small suite which was fabulous - rose petals all over the room! Food was excellent, really tasty and served beautifully. You also have to treat yourself to the Hammam and massage.

Would stay at Riad Kniza again and again and again!

Marakesh can be a little scary and you need to prepare yourself as it's "full on". But don't be put off just do it!

Room Tip: Only 11 Rooms I gather and sure they're all to the same high standard as the one given to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maharg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
208
864
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Riad Kniza is an excellent choice if you want to experience the culture of Morocco, enjoy Moroccan food, and are looking for a hotel inside the medina with easy walking access to the sights, sounds and experience of Marrakech. We stayed for three nights, and very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel arranged transport from the airport, provided a very nice welcome, and the standard of service was very good. Our room (number 5) faced into the courtyard, and was fairly spacious with a sofa, table, and a small fireplace (not used). The room was clean, and serviced twice a day. The bathroom was decent, but not luxurious. We enjoyed experiencing a few nights in a riad. This might not be to everyone’s liking since you will likely be disturbed by the call to prayer at dawn, and the facilities are somewhat limited. The breakfast (which was included in our rate) was enormous, and really too much. The waiter appeared every morning with a tray containing tea, coffee, orange juice, pancakes, cake, crepes, an egg of some nature, bread, preserves, yogurt, and cereal. (All very good.) We also ate dinner in the hotel for 2 nights. Dinner was also very good, and the service was excellent. It was a set menu with a choice of 4 entrees in a traditional dining room. This was very nice, however, we found the tables and seating rather uncomfortable. (You can’t get your legs under the table, as it is very low.) The hotel provided us with a guide on the first day to orient us, to assist us with bartering, and to point out places to visit later. I suggest you get a map of Marrakech before you visit as the one provided by the hotel is not so helpful, and it is easy to get lost. One slight downside was that the outside temperatures were very low during our visit, and the heating unit in the room was set to cut out at about 68-70˚F. (We prefer it to be a bit warmer so felt a little chilly at times. I suggest you take slippers if you go in the winter.) Overall, I am glad we stayed here instead of one of the luxury chain hotels, and would recommend Riad Kniza if you want a Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed at the Riad Kniza in Mid Feb and had the most wonderful experience.

The Riad is well located and only a few steps away from the hussle and busle of the Souks but once you walked through the front door you entered another world of calm and tranquility.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and a special mention to Walid and Abdellah you helped make our stay a enjoyable one

We ate at the Riad on our first night and the food was amazing and would highly recommend eating there during your stay.

We booked a packaged that included a meal, a 30min massage, an escorted trip around the Souks, a day trip to the Atlas mountains and airport transfers. We thought the package was excellent value

You can have breakfast anywhere in the Riad but eating breakfast on the lovely roof top terrace was a great start to the day

The Riad was exquiste in Design and very traditional which we liked.

The owner was a lovely, kind and curteous man, and always had time to ask you how you were and how your day had been

I would highly recommend staying at the Riad Kniza when visiting Marrakech

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be of a very good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

There are so many things to say about Riad Kniza that I am not sure where to begin - I am actually writing is review before our departure (which I never do). We stayed with my mom and our two kids ages 5 and 9 in the Royal Bahia suite which is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!! The architecture, furnishing and lighting is breath taking and so incredible. We had fresh fruit and moroccan cookies daily which was such a nice treat. Each night we could hear the music on the floor below which was fantastic!

We ate breakfast on the roof deck that we loved and they helped us to plan our entire itinerary which included a tour of the medina with Mustafa (HE IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING) and two day trips to Casablanca and Essaouira of which Mohammad drove us both days. His patience with our kids and attentiveness was second to none!!

The service is absolutely superb. From the owner who was warm and so hospitable, to the management who was friendly and accommodating, to the wait staff of which each of them were wonderful to the musicians -they are all truly a group of very special people.

They treated us and our kids like family. It is an experience we won't soon forget!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julesdole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Riad Kniza, a short stop over in Marrakech before going onto Essaouira and we wished we were staying longer! This is our third visit to Riad Kniza, the last time being 6 years ago so since then we noticed a few changes!
Wow, we didn't think it could get any better but it has! We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had some wonderful food accompanied by live traditional music, just what we need to start our holiday and relax. We also managed to find time to experience the hammam, which was great! The pool was very cold though! Breakfast on the terrace each morning in the sunshine, what could be better! Kamal and his team looked after us very well as usual, a great example of personal service! We can't wait to revisit ...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolblue-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I spent the three wonderful nights at the Riad Kniza in early February. As we had been expecting having read previous reviews, the moment we were met by a member of staff from the included airport collection and led through the streets of the Old City, to the moment we arrived at the hidden door down a quiet, unassuming street, we found ourselves stepping into another world compared to the surroundings outside!

The Riad Kniza is beautifully designed and tastefully decorated, with staff that simply cannot do enough for their guests! We were provided with anything we desired, including breakfast in the sunshine each morning on the roof terrace, to wine and skewers whilst watching the the sunset after a hectic day exploring. We also ate at the restaurant one evening, where the food was brilliant albeit plentiful to say the least! My wife did use the spa, which she enjoyed, but it was a little too cold to use the pool as I believe it is not heated.

It was only a safe and pleasant 15 minute walk to the Jemaa el-fns (dodging the scooters and motorcycles, something which one must be aware of all over the place); a bonus as you really feel like you are living with the locals rather than surrounded by the vast array of tourists. Highly recommended and no complaints whatsoever!

Room Tip: Try to enjoy breakfast on the roof terrace. Beautiful views across the city and of the snow capped A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sibs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We selected Riad Kniza for our 3 nights in Marrakech after careful research, but unfortunately we were double booked by a 3rd party booking site. Riad Kniza could not have been more efficient in recommending an alternative Riad for 2 nights and kindly welcoming us to Riad Kniza for our last night.

From our welcome drink to the chaperone to our taxi as we left, the staff and management could not have been more charming. They manage to achieve something special in my opinion, which is 5* hotel service, but delivered as if you are a personal guest in their home.

Our duplex suite was exquisitely comfortable, traditional but with all mod cons. The Riad adapts very well to both good and bad weather, When we arrived we sunbathed on the spacious roof terrace but when it rained later, we ate dinner in a cosy lounge with a roaring log fire.

Dinner was a traditional moroccan 5 course set meal but personalised with individual choice of main course. We drank Moroccan red wine with dinner selected by the waiter which was very good. Breakfast can be taken in your room, in one of the lounges or on the terrace and it is nice to have table service rather than the ubiquitous buffet. An excellent choice of breads, cakes pancakes, yogurt, cereals, jams were offered.

Sadly there was no time to enjoy the pool, hammam or massages, but I would recommend you do if you can.

Thank you to all the team for your kind hospitality and we hope to see you again for longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJAJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
1,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing