We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Riad in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #21 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Riad in Marrakech”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Very romantic and luxurious place, the best food, excellent and highly educated staff that paid attention to every detail.

From the moment of booking they offered to pick us up at the airport. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljupop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
208
864
27
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just a few steps away from the madness of the Marrakech Medina, this Riad was everything we hoped for and more. We were collected at the airport, a relief being mother and daughter travelling alone, and then welcomed by Walid at the Riad with a map to orientate us accompanied by mint tea and moroccan pastries. We were thrilled to be told we had been upgraded to a suite; a stunning moroccan-style room across two floors, littered with rose petals, that couldn't have been more comfortable.

We ate dinner in the Riad on the first night; a selection of delicious and beautifully presented authentic moroccan soup, salad and bread, in the tranquility of the lounge area which linked onto the beautiful central courtyard which the Riad is built around. Breakfast was equally as impressive, with the choice of eating up on the roof terrace, dining room or in our suite.

Walid and all the staff were always on hand with restaurant recommendations, directions and of course the mint tea, ensuring we were able to get the most out of our 5 days in Marrakech. We would really recommend Riad Kniza for its impeccable service, rooms and food as well as the stunning decor that offers a contrast to the madness of the souks for an authentic Morocco experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandaella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The rooms and the service were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Riad has a lot of charme and feels very authentic.
Apparently it is one of the very very few Riads that is actually Moroccan managed. Most other Riads are owned by foreigners.
The guided city tour by a certified guide that is included in the rate, is the perfect way to start off the visit to Marrakesh and the equally included massage is a good way to relax after a day of visiting the city.
If you have a light sleep, the one thing you should not forget are earplugs. While you do not have any noise from the outside, the wooden doors of the rooms open onto the inner court of the Riad and you can hear everything that is going on within the Riad.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is simply stunning - a place of incredible luxury and tranquility, yet, on the other side of the door, the absolute chaos of the Marrakech souks. What a location!!! If you can afford it take the Royal Suite.

Helpful?
Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Husband and I stayed for 5 nights in this beautiful Riad just inside the Medina Wall, close to the hustle and bustle but you'd never know that from inside the riad, was so peaceful! We stayed in a stunning suite, full of luxury and beautiful decor throughout. Breakfast on the roof terrace each morning was delicious. We had a massage at the spa in the riad, can highly recommend this, very relaxing! The quality, service and staff couldn't be faulted. Would love to go back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 007Michelle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Riad Kniza in a suite for 5 nights
Beautiful room excellent service cannot fault it at all
Very relaxing and enjoyable time
Staff were wonderful very helpful
Would definitely recommend this place an Oasis !
Perfect retreat!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just an alley way from the bustling souk is a lovely door that opens into the Riad Kniza. Beautifully laid out, simple, yet elegant with Moroccan decor is what you will find. Service was great..as others have said, very high quality, attentive, but, allowing the guest their own private space without being invasive. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful way to begin the day, relaxing while enjoying breakfast. We got the four day package, which is highly recommended. Also, took a side trip to Essaouria, a very French style beach resort town. Mohammed was our driver to the beach as well as a trip to the Atlas mountains. He was great, and offered us the "non-tourist" trip to the mountains, which was fantastic...no other cars on the winding, rough mountain road, but, awesome views from above as well as scenic villages that felt as if we had stepped back in time. Our walking guide through the Medina was Noury, who was friendly and extremely informative. Highly recommend either or both of them as guides. All in all....a great place to stay and an incredibly interesting place to visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bongomoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
1,212 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,113 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing