We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem,”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #19 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem,”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Down a little back street of the old town we had to be guided by a local from our taxi to the front door. From the moment we walked in the service was impeccable and we were made to feel at home. It is run by a family whose attention to detail could not be replicated the riad was mesmerising. The 5 course meal was the best we had in Marrakech and a truly special experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eloise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    69
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
207
859
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

In common with most other reviewers I cannot speak too highly of Riad Kniza. I and my wife accompanied by our 2 late teen children spent 2 nights in the Bahia suite and a junior suite respectively in early April. Both were lovely rooms - the Bahia particularly, very spacious, well appointed and quiet.
The email communication prior to our visit was exemplary - every query\admin point answered quickly and efficiently.
Our arrival from airport to riad was handled very smoothly with a welcoming round of pastries and mint tea. Unexpectedly, the Riad owner offered to escort us on a (free) walking tour of the Medina and Ville Nouvelle (we also took a caleche) and it was excellent - we spent 2 and a half hours seeing many of the key sights with expert commentary and observations - really illuminating. Having a local to quietly dispose of the more insistent offers to sell us stuff was great although I have to say more generally we never felt hassled in the souks even when unaccompanied - a few words of Arabic go a long way to assist in this.
We had had a long day and it was very hot in the medina so we decided to eat in at the kniza which proved to be a good choice as dinner was taken on the roof terrace and the food excellent. Service was attentive throughout.
The pool and sauna were earlier used by my daughter and wife and was another nice extra to have available.
After a big lunch in Marrakech the following day we again ate dinner in and we simply selected which course what we wanted without any problem.
I've been fortunate to stay in some of the world's best hotels in my time and i have to say the Kniza knocks many of them into a cocked hat. Without exception everyone was helpful, courteous and efficient and having only 11 rooms one felt it was still someone's well loved home. The riad itself is an oasis of calm in amid the bustle of the Medina - very smart and well maintained. I shall be returning and I won't bother to look elsewhere.
If you want a very comfortable base for exploring Marrakech this is the place (it is also worth noting that it is on hand for all the main sights being well located between the old and new Marrakech).
We were fortunate to be moving on to Richard Branson's Kasbah Tamadot for a friend's birthday bash and I can also recommend that highly too. The mix of Marrakech and the cooler, tranquil Atlas mountains made for a really well balanced visit to Morocco. Hope the above is of help to those planning a visit.

Room Tip: Splash out and go for the Bahia if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnCForsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

we just came back from Marrakech, and i had to write this review. We had the most wonderful stay at riad kniza. The people, the surroundings, the beauty of the place are not to be believed. The rooms are gorgeous, we had a pleasure of staying in two different rooms, and they were both very nice, and beautifully decorated. The location is most convenient, you are a walking distance to the medina, and the new city. Of course the best part of the riad are the people who work there. Every one of them is there to help and to make your stay as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. The best place to stay in Marrakech hands down.
Thank you, riad kniza for such a memorable stay

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice and comfortable, we stayed in room # 10, and room #8, both are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lana081960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I can only fully endorse the positive reviews that have already been written. The service,attention to detail,comfort,ambiance,and facilities are all excellent.
However room 7 is affected by outside noise,so avoid if you are light sleepers.
ALSO,THINK CAREFULLY ABOUT WHY YOU ARE VISITING MARRAKECH - IT ISN'T PLEASANT

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NigeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Well, how do you write a review after reading all the other previous ones. I can only confirm how lovely a Riad this is. The ambience and beauty of the hotel was superb. The staff were most helpful and friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. The meals were served at our own convenience, no set times, and the food was very good also.
It was amazing to leave the noise and hustle and bustle of the Medina to enter this world of peace and tranquillity. Even on the roof terrace it was peaceful.
The décor of the Riad is beautiful, with lovely paintings and furnishings, many of which are antiques I`m sure.
Thank you all at Riad Kniza for giving us such a lovely stay. We would not hesitate to return and we strongly recommend you.

Room Tip: They are all lovely.........some obviously bigger and more expensive than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have been there for 3 nights in March. Riad Kniza was the highlight of our stay. The service is unique very personalised and luxurious. My wife and I felt like being the unique guests in the Riad. The food was also amazing, tasting the best Moroccan dishes. I highly recommend Riad Kniza for couples looking for a good rest in the heart of the medina with easy access.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

You feel like you are staying in a private palace from the moment you arrive. They welcome you in one of their gorgeous sitting rooms, with an ample serving of local pastries, and, of course, mint tea. You meander through the courtyards to your room. We stayed in the King Bahai suite and were blown away. It is not to be believed. We were a family of four (parents, a teen and a tween). The suite was enormous and spectacularly beautiful.

The owner and staff are very gracious. Breakfast is phenomenal: delicious food, beautifully presented.

The most incredible is the contrast between the chaos outside and the tranquility inside. This is a perfect place to stay while visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: The King Bahai suite is mind-blowing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screenname96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#9 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#31 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing