We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace in the heart of the city”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #14 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a classic Riad , family owned and with an atmosphere of quiet calm and wonderful service.
Located in the heart of the old city walls you enter through a discreet doorway into a traditional Morrocan riad ,centred around a central courtyard.
Service is best described as immaculate, attentive and totally relaxed.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and well kept.
On the roof is the delightful terrace , with either shelter from the sun or quiet corners with sun beds to relax on if you need the rays.
We stayed full board , breakfast on the terrace- marvellous . With a light green salad for lunch.
Evening meals we limited ourselves to main course only , and as veggies I would say the choices were limited , and which ever meal you have you will need to like the local staple bread, which supports every meal.
The meals were served in a very light touch style with the usual odd mixtures the Moroccans tend to like- but the restaurant and service were never less than excellent.
Such a contrast to the hustle a bustle just outside the doors , it is a classic style and you get the attention of the family owner , checking on your welfare.
Small pool , try the massages.

Room Tip: Ring ahead when you arrive in Marrakech - you cannot get your car or taxi to the Kniza- its in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARCSMIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just spent two nights at Riad Kniza ( too short of course) but it was wonderful nevertheless. We knew the Riad was going to be beautiful but we were amazed by the charm and warmth of every member of staff we came across. We didn't get around to asking everyone's name but we managed to remember Hanane, Wallid and Isham amongst all the lovely staff. Smiley faces, discreet and calm service. Nothing was a problem. The location is ideal particularly if you want to experience the real Marrakesh - surrounded by the fantastic chaos, colour and excitement of the souk. The guided tour with Noure was amazing - seeing places and people we would never have otherwise seen - a trip full of laughter and culture. I want to be back there!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which was gorgeous and looked out onto the delightful pool. Enormous bed and a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in Riad Kniza for 4 nights for our honeymoon and I must say we could not have chosen a better hotel. Prior to the trip, all communication was excellent and all arrangements were straight forward including the arrangement of airport transfers. The Riad itself is absolutely beautiful with ornate carvings and tranquil rooms to sit and relax. There is incredible attention to detail and the staff are always friendly and attentive. The roof top terrace gives a great roof top view and is an especially good place for having dinner... and what a dinner it is. Exquisite Moroccan cuisine, the best food I ate in Morocco. The breakfast is also very good and plentiful. I would definitely recommend Riad Kniza to anyone wishing to stay inside the Medina (it's only a 10-15 minute walk from the centre) and I hope we get to go back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattfink9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

4 nights stayed - very accommodating and lovely staff, great service, do take up their offer of a free guide for a tour of the media (superb), great location - just inside a gate so great to taxi and 10mins to souks and 15min stroll into square . Great pool - amazing breakfast.

Stay there!!





Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank katbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a wonderful 4 day break at Riad Knizna over Easter. We stayed in the Bahia suite which was stunning and perfect for a family of four. The hotel is beautiful with ornate carvings, stunning tile work and leafy courtyards and a delightful roof top terrace. Staff are friendly but not obtrusive. We opted for the package which included a driver for the day for a trip to the atlas mountains, a city walking tour and a four course dinner and massages for all- really excellent quality and value. Our driver, Abdul, was excellent and went out of his way for us. The food at Riad Kniza was superb - one night we decided to have 'room service'- even then our table was set up festooned with rose petals and lovely crockery. We had private dining on the roof terrace one night and again the service and food was superb. By far the best food we ate was at the road.
We looked at about ten 5 star roads before selecting Kniza and we are pleased with our choice and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Down a little back street of the old town we had to be guided by a local from our taxi to the front door. From the moment we walked in the service was impeccable and we were made to feel at home. It is run by a family whose attention to detail could not be replicated the riad was mesmerising. The 5 course meal was the best we had in Marrakech and a truly special experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eloise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

In common with most other reviewers I cannot speak too highly of Riad Kniza. I and my wife accompanied by our 2 late teen children spent 2 nights in the Bahia suite and a junior suite respectively in early April. Both were lovely rooms - the Bahia particularly, very spacious, well appointed and quiet.
The email communication prior to our visit was exemplary - every query\admin point answered quickly and efficiently.
Our arrival from airport to riad was handled very smoothly with a welcoming round of pastries and mint tea. Unexpectedly, the Riad owner offered to escort us on a (free) walking tour of the Medina and Ville Nouvelle (we also took a caleche) and it was excellent - we spent 2 and a half hours seeing many of the key sights with expert commentary and observations - really illuminating. Having a local to quietly dispose of the more insistent offers to sell us stuff was great although I have to say more generally we never felt hassled in the souks even when unaccompanied - a few words of Arabic go a long way to assist in this.
We had had a long day and it was very hot in the medina so we decided to eat in at the kniza which proved to be a good choice as dinner was taken on the roof terrace and the food excellent. Service was attentive throughout.
The pool and sauna were earlier used by my daughter and wife and was another nice extra to have available.
After a big lunch in Marrakech the following day we again ate dinner in and we simply selected which course what we wanted without any problem.
I've been fortunate to stay in some of the world's best hotels in my time and i have to say the Kniza knocks many of them into a cocked hat. Without exception everyone was helpful, courteous and efficient and having only 11 rooms one felt it was still someone's well loved home. The riad itself is an oasis of calm in amid the bustle of the Medina - very smart and well maintained. I shall be returning and I won't bother to look elsewhere.
If you want a very comfortable base for exploring Marrakech this is the place (it is also worth noting that it is on hand for all the main sights being well located between the old and new Marrakech).
We were fortunate to be moving on to Richard Branson's Kasbah Tamadot for a friend's birthday bash and I can also recommend that highly too. The mix of Marrakech and the cooler, tranquil Atlas mountains made for a really well balanced visit to Morocco. Hope the above is of help to those planning a visit.

Room Tip: Splash out and go for the Bahia if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnCForsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#302 of 501 in Marrakech
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darsor
Darsor
#318 of 501 in Marrakech
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#339 of 501 in Marrakech
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#337 of 501 in Marrakech
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Racine
Hotel Racine
#224 of 501 in Marrakech
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#301 of 501 in Marrakech
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £180 - £463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing