We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolutely Serene Gem”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #14 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel offers everything a guest can possibly hope for; wonderful building, courteous and efficient service and total peace and serenity. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the place is absolutely spotless.
It is difficult to believe that such a peaceful haven lies amidst the total chaos, and bustle of the alleyways of the souks.

Upon arrival, we were met by the hotel 's driver at the airport,as arranged, and transferred to the gateway near the hotel as cars are not allowed within the City walls. A porter took our luggage to the hotel where we were met by the hotel manager and a mint tea. Very welcoming!

Our room was delightful. Very traditional. Well appointed. Beautiful.

The hotel arranged a walking tour the following morning with a guide to provide us with some interesting info and help us get our bearings. The Souks can be an intimidating place initially and it was reassuring to have a local with us.

Unfortunately we were taken to 3 shops by the guide so be prepared to say ,"No" if you do not want to buy. We found this slightly annoying, although the tour in general was enjoyable.

We also went on a tour of the Atlas Mountains, again organised by the hotel. We had our own driver for the day and were advised that we could go on a gentle hike in the mountains if we wanted. The gentle hike was more strenuous than we thought, involving some scrambling up rocks and it was lucky that our footwear was appropriate.

We were met by a walking guide in the mountains which we assumed was included in the price of the tour, which cost us 90 euros, paid to the driver.

The walking guide advised us at the end of the hike that his personal cost was 200 dirhams. We felt that this should have been made clear to us at the outset, so be prepared to pay extra if you do the Atlas Mountain hike.

The advantage of staying in the Riad Kniza is that you are staying in the medina and experiencing traditional Marrakech. Some might say that the medina's people live in squalor but we found that the area and it's people had a certain charm. Expect your senses to be pummelled with the sights, sounds and smells of the medina. It was very interesting to see the different culture and how life is lived by the locals.

We did not feel under threat whilst in the medina even at night despite the apparent poverty.

Not all is pleasant however and if you are an animal lover you may be upset by the manner in which animals are treated. Animals seem to be treated with less respect than we are used to.

You need to be vigilant in the souks as there is a constant stream of scooters, mules and motor bikes bring driven through the narrow lanes of the souks with little regard for those on foot. We saw numerous near misses but remarkably, no accidents! More by luck than judgement!

Go to the Riad Kniza and enjoy the experience. I doubt you will find a better hotel as this is exactly how all hotels should be run, but very few will reach these standards.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Step from the mayhem of the Medina into the delightful tranquility of a superbly family run operation. Attention to detail is paramount with Mohamed and his son Kamil on hand at all times to ensure every guest receives the highest level of service. Their quick response and replies to our initial queries before booking, arranging our pick up from the airport, the warmth of welcome on arriving along with the welcome drink and nibbles to the clear guided tour of the hotel ( the roof garden is great for breakfast). The rooms are beautiful, the breakfast plentiful and appetising, the evening Moroccan 5 course dinner is a must and the orange juice ( or other drink) quickly provided on returning to the hotel after a hot day are all highly commenable.

Room Tip: Room Johara, well laid out and furnished with small seating area, large kingsize and very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdavidb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Can you say WOW! You walk down this little alley down from a main street of the Souk and behind this big wooden door is a little bit of heaven. Incredible building (actually a couple of buildings that are joined) beautiful courtyard with a fountain filled with rose petals open to the sky. Pool in its own courtyard open to the sky. A roof terrace to die for, beautiful tented lounging couches and tables filled with plants. The staff treats you like you are the owner of the place and your every request is looked after attentively. Even the owner Mr. Mohammed makes you feel like the place is yours while you are there. Marrakech is the gem of Morocco and this Riad is the gem of Marrakech.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishAudity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked our break back in January, and stayed in the Bahia Suite for 4 nights at the beginning of May, We have to say that this Riad is truly excellent. The personalised service is superb, a great example of a family owned Riad. The location in the Food Souk is just fantastic, and the Riad is an oasis of calm in the frenetic (but friendly) day to day life in Marakech.
All the staff were very friendly, and in the time we were here we felt as if the Riad was our own personal hotel, we hardly met any of the other residents (despite the Riad being fully booked).
Our suite was exceptional (with maybe too many lights and light switches!!) and was a very relaxing place to celebrate a significant birthday.
As we took advantage of the special package for the suite, we had day trips, massages and a lovely meal cooked personally for us.
wIth it's location in the Medina, this is a perfect place to stay. We will be back!!!!!

Room Tip: Recommend the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woods_of_winchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a classic Riad , family owned and with an atmosphere of quiet calm and wonderful service.
Located in the heart of the old city walls you enter through a discreet doorway into a traditional Morrocan riad ,centred around a central courtyard.
Service is best described as immaculate, attentive and totally relaxed.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and well kept.
On the roof is the delightful terrace , with either shelter from the sun or quiet corners with sun beds to relax on if you need the rays.
We stayed full board , breakfast on the terrace- marvellous . With a light green salad for lunch.
Evening meals we limited ourselves to main course only , and as veggies I would say the choices were limited , and which ever meal you have you will need to like the local staple bread, which supports every meal.
The meals were served in a very light touch style with the usual odd mixtures the Moroccans tend to like- but the restaurant and service were never less than excellent.
Such a contrast to the hustle a bustle just outside the doors , it is a classic style and you get the attention of the family owner , checking on your welfare.
Small pool , try the massages.

Room Tip: Ring ahead when you arrive in Marrakech - you cannot get your car or taxi to the Kniza- its in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARCSMIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just spent two nights at Riad Kniza ( too short of course) but it was wonderful nevertheless. We knew the Riad was going to be beautiful but we were amazed by the charm and warmth of every member of staff we came across. We didn't get around to asking everyone's name but we managed to remember Hanane, Wallid and Isham amongst all the lovely staff. Smiley faces, discreet and calm service. Nothing was a problem. The location is ideal particularly if you want to experience the real Marrakesh - surrounded by the fantastic chaos, colour and excitement of the souk. The guided tour with Noure was amazing - seeing places and people we would never have otherwise seen - a trip full of laughter and culture. I want to be back there!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which was gorgeous and looked out onto the delightful pool. Enormous bed and a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed in Riad Kniza for 4 nights for our honeymoon and I must say we could not have chosen a better hotel. Prior to the trip, all communication was excellent and all arrangements were straight forward including the arrangement of airport transfers. The Riad itself is absolutely beautiful with ornate carvings and tranquil rooms to sit and relax. There is incredible attention to detail and the staff are always friendly and attentive. The roof top terrace gives a great roof top view and is an especially good place for having dinner... and what a dinner it is. Exquisite Moroccan cuisine, the best food I ate in Morocco. The breakfast is also very good and plentiful. I would definitely recommend Riad Kniza to anyone wishing to stay inside the Medina (it's only a 10-15 minute walk from the centre) and I hope we get to go back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattfink9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#18 of 502 in Marrakech
2,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 502 in Marrakech
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#20 of 502 in Marrakech
192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#23 of 502 in Marrakech
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £172 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing