We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #13 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Like so many other reviewers, we had a wonderful stay at Riad Kniza. We arrived with high expectations and were never disappointed. We were warmly greeted by the owner and well looked after by attentive staff. Our suite was split over 2 floors, with sitting room + cloakroom downstairs and bedroom (with very comfortable bed) + good sized shower room upstairs, all beautifully furnished. We loved having breakfast on the roof terrace and relaxing in the small but delightful pool after tiring days sightseeing. We only had dinner there one evening, but the food was excellent and very good value.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the pre arrival emails with Walid, to the timely and warm airport welcome, the greeting at the city gate and then the mint tea and rosebuds everywhere welcome in a stunning building with incredible silver work, carved ceilings, amazing lighting, cools inner courtyards with fountains full of rosebuds, breakfast on the rooftop overlooking the city and the attending to our every need- even before we knew we had it- this was the most wonderful place we have ever stayed- and we have traveled the world. Riad Kniza was soft spoken, gracious, and everything they arranged was first class, including the trips through the country the stay in the desert. We enjoyed free massages, free guides, unlimited beverages, lute music in the courtyard,fresh fruit and dates, and being in the thick of life in the souk yet feeling like in an oasis. Magnificent- we are coming back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuotetheRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I just got back from a trip to Morocco. While in beautiful Marrakech we stayed at the Riad Kniza in the medina (the old town). From the minute we walked in until the minute we left we were treated so well. The Riad itself is gorgeous with beautiful furniture, chandeliers and paintings throughout. There was a bowl of oranges, apples, cherries and dates in our room when we arrived and it was replenished everyday. Soft drinks and water were also included. I miss the breakfasts on the roof terrace. We had dinner there on our last night and it was delicious! We also hired a driver through the hotel to go to the seaside town of Essouria. It is well worth the two and a half hour drive. We even saw goats in the argon trees. It was spectacular. Our driver Abdul was so great. He told us a lot about Morocco and he was so accommodating. We took as long as we wanted in Essouria and we didn't feel rushed at all. It was a great day. He is starting his own business called daytripsfromMarrakech. I highly recommend him! Morocco is beautiful. I can't wait to go back one day soon and I will only stay at Riad Kniza!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor overlooking the little courtyard. So nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerriandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in the least expensive Room and is was beautiful. From the time you entered the door you were treated like family only better. The staff was great, helpful and friendly and we did not want to say good bye. The food was unbelievable good and you could never eat it all. The owner was the kindest man and you could tell he is happy for you to be there and what ever you wanted they wanted you to have. The room was covered in rose petals, great fabrics and floor coverings. There are antiques along with many precious things to look at, make sure you have a real look around.
I give Riad Kniza the highest rating of any where I have every stayed and a lot has has to do with the staff.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, you will not believe your luck in staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWDeanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

With over 600 riads in Marrakech, only three are owned by Moroccans, and Riad Kniza is one of them. It is a family-owned and operated inn that is conveniently located. Mohammed and his wife Najat walk gently and you hardly know they are there. He is front of the house managing staff and service, and she is back of the house preparing the delicious cuisine. Hannan, the manager, is calm, most helpful and kind. Ask Amina to give you a cooking lesson in the traditional dishes, like tagine, couscous, and various vegetable salads. The inn is impeccably maintained and scrupulously clean. The attention to detail is impressive. Ask for Abdou Arrahal as a private day guide, you will delight in his knowledge and kind personality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What makes this Riad stand out from, say, Le Maison d'Arabe, is that this Riad feels like you are staying in a home with your own staff and that you have the whole place to yourself, It is beautifully decorated throughout.

We stayed in the Yakout Suite which was lovely - there were rose petals scattered throughout on arrival, fresh fruit and water each day and the room was made up twice a day. The bed was very comfortable and there were plenty of thick towels, robes and toiletries.

The Riad transferred us to and from the hotel, which I would strongly recommend as all Riads in the Medina are difficult to find initially.

They were happy to make us a meal when we arrived in late at night - absolutely no trouble at all. On our day of departure, we wanted an early dinner and again it wasnt a problem - we were just asked what we would like to eat and it was made from fresh ingredients, arriving at exactly the time we asked for it. The meals are Morrocan and very tasty.

Breakfast is a lovely presentation of yoghurt, cereal, a little cheese, egg, a mix of crepes, bread and cake, fresh orange juice and tea/coffee. We had ours on the roof terrace each morning and, despite being fully booked, we always had the terrace to ourselves.

The spa is very small - one treatment room for massage. There is an Hammam and this is chargeable. The pool is a good size and seemed to be empty whenever we passed by.

Reception were particularly helpful - always on hand to make arrangements for us. Nothing was too much trouble. They organised a very well informed and articulate guide for the Souks which was free of charge. Obviously you will be taken to shops where the guide gets a fee for your visit but you don't have to buy, you do see some interesting things that you wouldn't see otherwise and it does cut down on the hassle factor. But do watch out at the Herbe shop (or pharmacy) - we were taken into a room and left by the guide where we stupidly bought a few pots of worthless creams out of politeness, that turned out to be ridiculously expensive when we came to pay. The alternative is tell the guide right at the outset that you don't want to do the Souks and to be taken places like the Tanneries and the metal workshops where tourists are less likely to wander.

There isn't a bar but wine is served with dinner and we were able to get G&T's for a night cap when we came in late one night.

All in all, this is a wonderful Riad to stay in and the service is second to none. I can see why it is consistenly top of the TripAdvisor list.

What I would say is that we booked through Hotels.com. However, the Riad had a much better deal on their website which included a massage, a dinner, the guide etc.included for the same period. So do contact the Riad directly as they may well be able to offer you some extras.

Room Tip: The cheaper and possibly better restaurants are outside the Medina - a short and cheap taxi ride awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DublinJane_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel offers everything a guest can possibly hope for; wonderful building, courteous and efficient service and total peace and serenity. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the place is absolutely spotless.
It is difficult to believe that such a peaceful haven lies amidst the total chaos, and bustle of the alleyways of the souks.

Upon arrival, we were met by the hotel 's driver at the airport,as arranged, and transferred to the gateway near the hotel as cars are not allowed within the City walls. A porter took our luggage to the hotel where we were met by the hotel manager and a mint tea. Very welcoming!

Our room was delightful. Very traditional. Well appointed. Beautiful.

The hotel arranged a walking tour the following morning with a guide to provide us with some interesting info and help us get our bearings. The Souks can be an intimidating place initially and it was reassuring to have a local with us.

Unfortunately we were taken to 3 shops by the guide so be prepared to say ,"No" if you do not want to buy. We found this slightly annoying, although the tour in general was enjoyable.

We also went on a tour of the Atlas Mountains, again organised by the hotel. We had our own driver for the day and were advised that we could go on a gentle hike in the mountains if we wanted. The gentle hike was more strenuous than we thought, involving some scrambling up rocks and it was lucky that our footwear was appropriate.

We were met by a walking guide in the mountains which we assumed was included in the price of the tour, which cost us 90 euros, paid to the driver.

The walking guide advised us at the end of the hike that his personal cost was 200 dirhams. We felt that this should have been made clear to us at the outset, so be prepared to pay extra if you do the Atlas Mountain hike.

The advantage of staying in the Riad Kniza is that you are staying in the medina and experiencing traditional Marrakech. Some might say that the medina's people live in squalor but we found that the area and it's people had a certain charm. Expect your senses to be pummelled with the sights, sounds and smells of the medina. It was very interesting to see the different culture and how life is lived by the locals.

We did not feel under threat whilst in the medina even at night despite the apparent poverty.

Not all is pleasant however and if you are an animal lover you may be upset by the manner in which animals are treated. Animals seem to be treated with less respect than we are used to.

You need to be vigilant in the souks as there is a constant stream of scooters, mules and motor bikes bring driven through the narrow lanes of the souks with little regard for those on foot. We saw numerous near misses but remarkably, no accidents! More by luck than judgement!

Go to the Riad Kniza and enjoy the experience. I doubt you will find a better hotel as this is exactly how all hotels should be run, but very few will reach these standards.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
2,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#26 of 500 in Marrakech
205 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#23 of 500 in Marrakech
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £165 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing