We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of luxury, service and peace in the heart of Marrakech Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #19 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An oasis of luxury, service and peace in the heart of Marrakech Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

As a travel writer, I frequently stay in hotels the world over as part of my traveling and writing about my travel experiences. Riad Kniza is, quite simply, one of the most beautiful and service-oriented hotels I have ever been. The place has been in the family for two centuries, and some years ago was added to and remodeled to create the gorgeous, sumptuous riad that it is today. In an excellent located in the Marrakech medina, Riad Kniza offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. Once you walk through their doors, everything outside falls away and you are in the heart of luxury and calm.

The service is incredible and impeccable. They attend to your every need and make sure that you are well cared for. The rooms are simply gorgeous, as are the courtyards and the various lounges available for guests. A pool and hamman experience will complete your stay, and of course don't forget to have breakfast or an end-of-day glass of wine on the rooftop terraces overlooking the city.

The food here is simply amazing, and the riad offers special moroccan dinners with music, bar and belly dancing. The entire experience is a truly magical one, not to be missed. You will not regret choosing Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriterGirlAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    68
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
201
843
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

My wife and i went to Marrakech and stayed at Riad Kniza after spending a few days in Fez (at one of the top hotels) and this was really special. We booked the Royal Suite Bahia (the top of the line) since there were only 2 rooms available and we aren't coming back to Morocco any time soon given the long journey and desire to continue to see new places. THIS WAS UNREAL. The space is incredible and so tastefully decorated. It has a sitting room in the front, an oversized bathroom with dual sinks, and a sweeping bedroom with a separate sitting area. It was spotlessly clean and beutiful. We had breakfest delivered to our room each morning to start our busy days. We also ate dinner one night in their lovely dining area and the service and food were first rate. My only criticism is that the riad is located in a back alley but that seems to be typical in this area. The staff was friendly and welcoming too. I would come back in a heart-beat.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seetheworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

We went to Riad Kniza for a special birthday celebration, looking for somewhere out of the ordinary. We were not disappointed in any way. The suite we had booked was superb, and even now our photos make us go 'wow' at the memory. The beautiful and tasteful decoration, combined with the 'whatever you want, whenever you want' service which was never obseqious [unlike many so-called 'luxury' hotels] but rather made you feel that some good friends were helping you have a nice time, made the whole experience perfect. Make sure you eat at the Riad at least one day - we had dinner on the rooftop and the food, service and overall experience was superb. I had mentioned when booking [7 months earlier] that it was my wifes birthday.........a cake arrived with a candle at the end of our meal....what a nice and unexpected touch! The proximity of the main Souks, and the experience of staying within the Medina, means that outside the front door Marrakech grabbed you, pulled you forward and provided an experience that was never less than a full on, total sensory experience. At the end of days spent wandering through the markets, experiencing the sights, sounds, smells and tastes as well as the engagement with genuine Marrakshi's, it was a genuine pleasure to come through that door into a tranquil oasis, order some mint tea [and wonderful pastries - I put on 3lbs in a week!] and just collapse either in our room or taking the sun on the beautiful roof garden. The spa was a delight and anyone visiting should make sure they use the hamman for a good steam and massage, followed by the pool.

Several points to note for the first timer visiting Marrakech. Firstly, unless you make it plain to the guide that you are NOT interested in buying things, you might well get taken to 'shops' that he knows and become quickly embroiled in a hard sell experience. If this happens, simply stand your ground, be polite, and leave.

Secondly, the food is generally very good everywhere - don't expect it will necessarily be any better in a higher class restaurant - it is likely to be the same/similar menu as a much cheaper establishment - what you are paying extra for is simply the environment.

We look forward to returning - as surely we will!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fairlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

I celebrated my 50th Birthday at Riad Kniza along with my closest friends, 17 of us in all taking over the whole of the Riad. The Riad itself has to be seen to be believed, it's stunning. Thanks to Kamal and his staff we all had the most memorable weekend possible. Nothing was too much trouble. Please visit Marrakech and stray at Riad Kniza, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheeky15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

I was fortunate to stay at the Riad Kniza with 17 friends to celebrate a fiftieth birthday. Apart from the sumptuous accommodation, which in itself deserves a five star rating, we were a lively, demanding group and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were cared for most politely and with good humour. I would recommend the Kniza to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

This is a lovely high-end riad that is impeccably maintained. Our suite was truly beautiful but there were a few, very basic aspects we could not understand for this level of hotel--

--there was no turn down service, no freshening of the room, no towel replacement, every night we struggled with these enormous bed cushions just to get under the sheets.

--there were no luggage racks so we spent our trip digging through our suitcases that were on the floor, which was aggravating and annoying.

--there were no pads of paper, no pens, and no tissues in the bathroom!!! even the Holiday Inn provides these basic ammenities.

As I said, this is a gorgeous riad--truly beautiful. The staff is helpful and very friendly. The breakfast is delicious. I just don't understand why they let the ball drop on these few items.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lckychrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamal_bouskri, Manager at Riad Kniza, responded to this review, 20 March 2009
We are always seeking to improve the quality of our service and we are very attentive and grateful to our guests’ constructive critics and remarks. While we choose not to supply pads of paper and pens in the rooms, there is 24 hours room service and we are always happy to respond quickly and efficiently to our guest’s requests. At Riad Kniza we seek to provide a cultural and authentic Moroccan experience, making our guests feel as they are in a traditional luxury Moroccan mansion and helping them forget that they are staying in a hotel. This is why there are no pads and pens with our logo in the rooms. We assure our future guests that our rooms, while decorated in an authentic Moroccan style, are very practical and have specious cupboards. The rooms are also cleaned twice a day and if the guests need anything in their room all they need to do is let us know.

Kamal Bouskri
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2009

A beautiful hotel, with the best service we have had on holiday. The weather was poor, but the log fire in our bedroom every night more than made up for the lack of sunshine. The food was the best we had in Marrakech and certainly the most attractive - with rose petals decorating our dining table each evening. Service was impeccable and the tour guides provided by the hotel were first rate. Marrakech is a feast for the senses, the people warm and friendly - definitely a destination not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#5 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing