We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and superlative service”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #13 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We arrived at 9 pm from having spent a night in the desert (Erfoud) totally exhausted and hungry. The minute we got to the Riad, Kamal and his staff took over. We were ushered into our beautiful suites and had a wonderful meal at the restaurant. A surprise was the belly dancing show along with dinner and after having many courses we retired to our rooms. We had 3 suites and one of our friends did not like their suite and Kamal took care of this moving them into another suite the followwing morning. They had arranged for our sightseeing and the guide we had was terrific. We also wanted to have a hot air balloon ride but as we decided at the last minute it was all sold out. Kamal called the owner and arranged an extra flight so that we could go up in the air and proceed from there directly to the airport.
This is where the service exceeded any Four Seasons or high end hotel I had ever stayed at! My wife dropped her blackberry in the car that transported us to the balloon ride. We were frantic at the airport and Kamal and Samira told us not to worry about anything. We realized it was dropped in the car and thet contacted the owner of the balloon ride , retireved the blackberry and Fed Exed it back to us in the US. I wanted to pay for the costs but the tremendous hopitality of kamal would have none of it. When we got home my wife's blackberry was waiting for us.
The rooms were excellent , the service the best I ever had in any hotel and the warmth and hospitality were one in amillion. I may sound like an infomercial but this is the best service experience in my hundreds of high end hotels I have stayed in my travels.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2009

The Riad Kniza is a beautiful and peaceful sanctuary. From the intricate tilework and beautifully embroidered fabrics to the sound of water falling in the main courtyard fountain and the delicious tagine dishes, this place is an absolute feast for the senses. Even if we had never set foot out the door to see Marrakech, it still would have been one of our best vacations.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChloeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

This was our first trip to Morocco and our stay at Riad Kniza made the experience a memorable one. We have traveled all over the world and stayed in many luxury hotels and resorts, but this was our first stay in a property like a riad. The Riad Kniza was an experience that I would highly recommend with no reservations, but it is not a hotel experience and that should be understood. Kamal, his family, and staff aim to provide an experience of being guests at a luxurious Moroccan mansion. The property is tastefully decorated with fine antiques and objects of art that pay tribute to the rich culture and history of Morocco. The rooms are spacious, richly decorated, and very comfortable. You will not find paper tissue in the rooms as you would find in a hotel. Neither will there be stationary. However, the overall experience at the Riad Kniza and the services provided will more than compensate for these inconveniences. We greatly enjoyed daily breakfast on the rooftop terrace and afternoon mint tea with pastries. We still miss that. The restaurant was an excellent, quiet, and intimate experience. The staff, especially Samira the front desk attendant, were attentive and genuinely excited to be of assistance. Kamal and his family were kind enough to pack, at their antique shop, two inlaid wood table we purchased in Essouira. From the moment you enter it's door, the Riad Kniza will never stop greeting you with comfort, warmth, and the ever present scent of orange blossoms and rose petals.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jefekolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights and can thoroughly recommend this Riad.It has been beautifully restored by the family generations of whom have owned the property for 200 years.Spotlessly clean, superlative service and friendly staff made my stay very memorable. All the excellent meals were served in delightful surroundings and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. My friend and I sampled two different suites as we started a tour of Morocco here and came back for our final night, they were both sumptuous and very different. we did notice that the Riad had won two awards from trip Adivisor and can understand why!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanWelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

My wife and I went on a trip to Marocco. I booked the Hotel Riad Kniza in Marrakech before hand with the Sons owner Kamal, checking on prices and deals, and it was the best experience we had. I'm from the hospitality business myself but this was somethings else. Included in the package we had a local Gourmet dinner with a bottle of wine, Guided tour thru the Souks, a trip into the Atlas mountains with driver and in an air conditioned car, all soft drinks throuout our stay, 1/2 hour massage each and use of the Hammam for free. Fruits in the room and local ammenities were included throu out our whol stay in our room also.
Arriving at the hotel was no problem, after getting a bit lost in the city (we drove ourself) Kamal came and picked us up to guide us to the Hotel and the Parking, what was paid for aswell. We already booked a suite for 4 nights and got an upgrade to a Royal Suite with Living room, 2 clothing rooms seperate Toilett and a huge sleeping room. The hotel is extremely clean and the food is fantastic. The breakfast was absolutely the highlight. Every day a different version on the lovely rooftop. The pool is very refreshing and super clean. Extremely friendly and helpfull stuff.
I can highly recommend this Hotel and I'm sure Kamal and his team will be our host again one day. Kamal thank you very much for your hospitality. It was a unique experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

As a travel writer, I frequently stay in hotels the world over as part of my traveling and writing about my travel experiences. Riad Kniza is, quite simply, one of the most beautiful and service-oriented hotels I have ever been. The place has been in the family for two centuries, and some years ago was added to and remodeled to create the gorgeous, sumptuous riad that it is today. In an excellent located in the Marrakech medina, Riad Kniza offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. Once you walk through their doors, everything outside falls away and you are in the heart of luxury and calm.

The service is incredible and impeccable. They attend to your every need and make sure that you are well cared for. The rooms are simply gorgeous, as are the courtyards and the various lounges available for guests. A pool and hamman experience will complete your stay, and of course don't forget to have breakfast or an end-of-day glass of wine on the rooftop terraces overlooking the city.

The food here is simply amazing, and the riad offers special moroccan dinners with music, bar and belly dancing. The entire experience is a truly magical one, not to be missed. You will not regret choosing Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WriterGirlAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

My wife and i went to Marrakech and stayed at Riad Kniza after spending a few days in Fez (at one of the top hotels) and this was really special. We booked the Royal Suite Bahia (the top of the line) since there were only 2 rooms available and we aren't coming back to Morocco any time soon given the long journey and desire to continue to see new places. THIS WAS UNREAL. The space is incredible and so tastefully decorated. It has a sitting room in the front, an oversized bathroom with dual sinks, and a sweeping bedroom with a separate sitting area. It was spotlessly clean and beutiful. We had breakfest delivered to our room each morning to start our busy days. We also ate dinner one night in their lovely dining area and the service and food were first rate. My only criticism is that the riad is located in a back alley but that seems to be typical in this area. The staff was friendly and welcoming too. I would come back in a heart-beat.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seetheworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#20 of 502 in Marrakech
2,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 502 in Marrakech
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
1,192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#19 of 502 in Marrakech
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £168 - £482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing