We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here!”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #13 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
320
Reviewed 5 January 2006

What a lovely place and excellent staff/service. We were taken care of very well, with drivers, trips, hammam visits, restaurants etc. arranged whenever we wanted. Even balloon flights can be arranged! The room was absolutely lovely with a roaring fire and excellent room service, as was the rest of the wonderfully restored building, so calm and welcoming, and all for a very reasonable price. Kamal, Mohammed and the other staff have a lovely riad and kitchen, and ensured we had a perfect stay, I cannot fault this riad in any way. I hear there is a pool and hammam being added which will be great. We will definitely be back! Thanks to all at Riad Kniza we had a marvellous time... Diane & Jeremy

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,299 - 1,305 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TravellingHeavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
110
Reviewed 16 December 2005

Stunning suites
Amazing personalised service
Superb location
Beautiful food
Access to great guides
This is a sublimely traditional Riad that has been renovated to the highest of standards.
Breakfast on the roof terrace, rose petals scattered throughout the suite - stunning.
We have recommended this Raid to everyone we know!

Emma & Josh Corrigan

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2005

This Chic Luxury Hotel has a heart of gold. This luxury oasis has hospitaily down to a fine art. The staff works with express service and a smile. The owner and his son are by far a class act, who can arrange a guide, a spa day, even a hot air balloon ride. When looking for a hotel in Marrakesh for the first time, this is the way to go. We had never been to Morocco and after the stay with Riad Kniza, we will be coming back again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jking1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2005

the most beautiful place we've ever stayed. From the moment we arrived we were referred to by name and were assisted in everything from suggesting and reserving the best places to spend the evening to arranging a trip and lunch in the Atlas Mountains. 24 hour room service and food to die for.
This is personal service of the highest order. We visited the sofitel hotel in marrakesh for a 'nose round' and couldn't wait to get out of there, too many people, too much noise. we couldn't wait to get back to the riad. A calm, beautiful oasis in the middle of crazy, charming marrakesh

12  Thank d0berman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Durham, England
19
Reviewed 27 October 2005

We arrived in the evening and were dropped, hot, tired and wondering what we had got ourselves into, in the midst of the souk Bab Doukla in full chaos. We were led through the clamour down a dark allley to an imposing wooden door. The bell was rung and we were led into an oasis of tranquility. Mohammed and his lovely staff greeted us, showed us around and then offered refreshments in a splendid cool lounge. The Riad has been restored authentically and lovingly and our rooms were beautifully furnished in Moroccan style. The staff are very friendly and attentive and even took time out to lead us through the souk one evening to dine at the Riad Pavillion (which was excellent). We hope to have the good fortune to stay at the Kniza again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New Hampshire
118
Reviewed 23 October 2005

My wife and I recently returned from a 10 day trip to Spain and Morocco. The very best part was our stay in Marrakech at the Riad Kniza. The place is spectacular! It is located inside the walls of the Medina. In the tradition of the Islamic culture, the outside of the Riad was non-descript and the only sign of luxury was the massive cedar door that separated it from the street. Once inside, it was like staying in a sultan's palace.

The property was completely restored to 18th century opulence. Because the owner is a large antique dealer in Morocco, he spared no expense in outfitting the Riad with lovely pieces of furniture and fixtures from his collection. We stayed in the suite sultan, one of seven rooms in the Riad. It had the amenities of a major European or US hotel, but the charm of an 18th century luxury hotel. The ceilings were ornate, handcrafted cedar. We were awed by the quality of the restoration. Having stayed in some of the finest hotels in Spain earlier in our stay, we were so pleased the last days our vacation were in Marrakech and the Riad Kniza as it was the best!

We enjoyed several meals on the roof top terrace including wonderful breakfasts of juice, coffee, crepes, honey and assorted jams, and yogurt....all of which was included in the price of the room. We had two of the most delicious dinners of our entire 10 day trip at the Riad. They were made in the traditional Moroccan tajine, an interesting piece of clay cooking pot that is used to stew lamb, chicken and other food. When it is served, the meat, juices and vegetables are so unbelievably tender and tasty. The mint tea and pastries...also included with the room...was a welcome refreshment whenever we went back to the Riad for a break.

The manager, Kamal, is the owner's son and a most gracious host. He met us at the airport and provided wonderful advice and service throughout the stay. The other members of the Riad's staff were equally friendly and helpful. We felt as if we were visiting dignateries the hospitality was so delightful.

The crown jewel of the Riad is the owner and Kamal's father, Mr. Mohammed Bouskri. He has been a tour guide for over 30 years. We were fortunate to have him personally guide us through the Medina the day we arrived and throughout the city the following day. Having guided US Presidents, Heads of State from Europe, and several entertainment industry celebrities, he is incredibly adept at bringing Marrakech to life with his descriptions of its history and architecture. It's not difficult to see why Kamal and the others at the Riad are so attentive, polite and dedicated to making your stay in Marrakeck memorable....they take after Mr. Bouskri.

Mr. Bourkri walked with us through the Medina, oriented us to the souks and the labyrinth of streets, and described the origins of the various locations we visited. Both my wife and I are Irish Catholics and have never visited an Islamic country. We learned more from Mr. Bouskri on the customs and culture in two days than we have learned in 60 years. Since we visited Marrakech in the midst of the Islamic holy month, or Ramadan, we truly came away with a greater appreciation and more positive view of Islam.

My wife and I toured the streets of the Medina both day and night with no guide and not once felt uncomfortable or unsafe. When you visit the souks, square and bizarres, the street vendors will be persistent and sometimes annoying. They are, however, part of the flavor of this wonderful city. The photos and video we took just cannot capture the true atmosphere of street life in Marrakech as it overwhelms your senses. Our day trip to the Atlas mountains was equally enjoyable. Luck was with us as it occurred on Saturday when the small village of Asni held their weekly bizarre. Over a hundred Berbers from around the region descended on the village with their goods packed on donkeys. There was every imaginable fruit, vegetable and meat for sale.

We hope someday to return and wish that our children and grandchildren will have an opportunity to experience Marrakech, the Riad Kniza, and the enchantment and hospitality of this outstanding city. It is a most remarkable place. It is what makes a trip abroad worthwhile.


John and Barbara
New Hampshire, USA

18  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 500 in Marrakech
2,141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 500 in Marrakech
1,359 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £145 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing