We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous luxury in prime location”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #19 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Issaquah, WA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous luxury in prime location”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Riad Kniza well deserves its reputation. The interior is beautifully decorated in Moroccan style, and our room (junior suite) was large, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was very solicitous and helpful. An oasis of calm in the bustling medina. A 1/2 day guide, 1/2 hour massage, breakfast, and 25 Euro gift certificate to an affiliated artisan gallery was all included in our price. We also had a delicious dinner there, although the choices were limited (as might be expected for an 11 room facility).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    69
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
207
859
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glos, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Spent 4 days at this lovely hotel. Well organized, very comfortable and with staff that cannot do enough for you.
It is well located, quiet and serves great food.
Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roovizsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We have just returned from our 1st visit to Marrakech where we stayed for 4 nights in Riad Kniza. We were delighted with every aspect of this Riad. They were helpful and caring and on hand for advice whenever needed. Marrakech is an exciting place to visit, the hustle and bustle, colours and aromas invade your senses - the roof garden of the Riad was a perfect place to sip tea and relax after sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milfordmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, East England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous five-night stay at the Riad Kniza in Marrakech, the success of which was due in no small way to some expert advice and guidance from Kemal the manager, and to the kindness and care of his wonderful staff. As first time visitors to Morocco the hundred paces from the car to the Riad were a little daunting, through alleys thronged with busy stalls and kamikaze scooter riders, but the moment we reached the haven of the Kniza we knew that we had struck oil. Its stylish décor featuring traditional craftsmanship in wood, plaster, leather, tapestry and paint, the comfortable well-appointed rooms, and the attentiveness of the staff, all combined to make us feel utterly pampered.
We found the Riad Kniza ideally placed for exploring all the main must-sees of the Medina, which we managed entirely on foot and without getting too lost! On one of our days the rep. arranged a trip to the mountains, a great chance to sample the flavour of life outside the city. The rest of the time we were independent explorers, enjoying the busy Medina and beautiful gardens at our own pace. I have some great pictures that will help to keep our memories fresh.
My wife celebrated her birthday during our stay with a dinner at the Riad. It was a feast. They pulled out all the stops to make it a very special occasion, and just when we had eaten fit to burst they entered with a chocolate cake, diplomatically embellished with just one candle. [We are both mid-sixties and appreciate that sort of thoughtfulness! ]
I recommend the Riad Kniza unreservedly!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldGlobetrottersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2010

What a fabulous experience! Riad Kniza is a most special place. The general ambience is one of lovely tranquility, the rooms are spacious and cozy with the perfect blend of "old and new" and the service is impeccable. Never have we experienced such wonderful people, especially Mohamed, whose warmth and charm made us feel like "family". Our dinner was beyond wonderful, tweaked to accommodate our dietary needs with nothing lost in the process. Each morning we couldn't wait for our delicious breakfast. The perfect location gave us easy access to our guide each morning. Four nights were not enough and we cannot wait to return to this charming and gracious riad. It was top-notch is every way.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeetzieRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed for three nights at Riad Kniza in January 2010. Riad Kniza was a delight, hidden away in the midst of the medina, an oasis of calm and tranquility. The welcome and the service given by everyone was perfect and could not be faulted. The suite we stayed in was lovely and comfortable and we particularly enjoyed the real fires burning everywhere, from the lounges to our own suite. We ate one night at the Riad and enjoyed a traditional Moroccan meal, and also loved the experience of the hamman and a massage. Thank you Kamal, Samira, Mustapha and all!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Fabulous riad. It was like being the guests of a wealthy moroccan family! The rooms are lovely. Clean, well furnished and welcoming. The food was some of the best in Marrakech. The service outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble. Ask for Mustapha to be your guide, he's well informed, doesn't push shops onto you and he has a great sense of humour! It's also worth having a cookery lesson. The chef takes you to buy the ingredients ( you choose what you'd like to cook),, you have demo/hands on experience then you sit down and are served the result. Fascinating and lots of fun. A trip to the Atlas mountains is also well worth doing. Absolutely beautiful! I actually wasn't aware of outside street noise at all. I found the riad tranquil, in fact. If Mindi (?) reads this I would love to know which spices went into the aubergine salad....... I lost my paper with the recipes on!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mustaphasussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#28 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#9 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#30 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing