We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis to escape with everything perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #19 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis to escape with everything perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

For those who have not traveled to Morocco for the first time. I just returned from my frist trip. The most important thing is to choose the right place to stay. Everything is very exotic, hectic, interesting, hot, dirty, lots of smell (and not all pleasant) but if you have a wonderful place to rest, eat and sleep it can make the trip. Riad Kniza was above my expectations. From the gracious owners who the Riad has been in the family for 400 years to the exquisite decor and ambiance. The staff were excellent the foo amazing. A cool pool the beat the heat and a wonderful view from the roof top cafe.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoWaPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    68
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
201
844
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

This was to be the final leg of our Moroccan adventure - ending a trip in which we had covered hundreds of miles. We were therefore hoping to finish on a high note & Riad Kniza certainly delivered. We arrived following a nightmare drive from Essaouira - unfortunately in trying to improve the road system they have essentially dug up miles of the main road surface & left a bumpy dirt track. I didn't think our little hire car would handle it but bruised & battered we still made it through. The Riad had kindly arranged for complimentary transfer from the airport so we could drop off our car - the driver was there as arranged & our transfer to the Riad was seamless. Welcomed inside by Kamal we enjoyed refreshments in the lounge whilst he gave us orientation & a map of Marrakech which we found helpful & informative. Keen to get started with our sightseeing we were escorted to our room. We were told en route we were to receive a complimentary upgrade to the room we had booked which was a lovely surprise, however did not prepare us for the surprise to follow.... We entered our room into a long corridor with a sunken seating area & flatscreen TV. From here we walked up some steps & around the corner into probably the biggest bedroom I have ever seen! It turned out we had been upgraded to the Royal Suite Bahia & the pictures on the website do not do it justice. We have stayed in some magnificent hotels & suites around the world but this has to rank as one of the most impressive. There was a selection of morrocan pastries for us to snack on - which were kept topped up at all times during our stay - and the room was showered with pretty rose petals making it very romantic in the tranquil lighting.
The rest of the Riad is similarly amazing with a warren of cool tranquil courtyards with a large pool area and many seating areas to escape the scorching summer sun. The roof terrace was also lovely although temperatures in the high 40's celcius during our stay saw our attempts at sunbathing thwarted!
All the staff were great, with hands on input from the owner Mohammed & his son Kamal - they all made us feel very welcome. The medina tour the Riad provides was also excellent with a knowledgable guide who keeps to the sights with no attempts to hard sell. At our request they organised a day trip to Ait Benhaddou and we must thank our great driver Abdul for looking after us in an Air-conditioned Mercedes for what was a very long drive. Having had excellent food in many Riads on our journey we opted to eat in on 2 of our 3 nights stay having an exceptional dining experience on both of these nights. I will post a separate review on this in the restaurant section but again a special mention must go to Mohammed for his excellent service & effort in running up & down stairs all evening to keep our food piping hot & ensure we were well watered. All soft drinks at the Riad are complimentary which is most welcome in the heat of the day!

In conclusion we thought that the Riad Kniza was the one of the best places we have ever stayed in with magnificent surroundings, amazing food & great staff. When we return to Marrakech we will stay here again & would recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Technog0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

From the moment we turned up, all the staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. It's a fun short walk to the main square and a haven to come back to once you've been exploring the rest of the city. We particularly enjoyed the incredible roof-top terrace, where they will serve breakfast as well as fresh orange juice, shisha and mint tea late into the night. The other guests were all extremely nice and it was helpful to swap stories of our bartering efforts and experiences, and the staff always took an interest in seeing the souvenirs we got from the souks. All the transport links to and from the hotel, including arrival and departure, and the trip into the Atlas Mountains were organised and well run. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmooshmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

I'm a veteran world traveler (35 countries under my belt) and made my first trip to Morocco, solo, in June 2010. Stayed at Riad Kniza for several days on the front and back ends of my trip...loved it...wish I was there right now. Great location, beautiful architecture/decor, outstanding service, incredibly friendly/helpful staff, mellow soulful vibe, and food so good it makes me drool just to think about it. They set a standard for friendly impeccable service seldom found elsewhere. This is the kind of place that I would normally try to keep all to myself, but they deserve my highest praise here on Trip Advisor.

To Kamal, Samira, Mohamed (the owner) and the Kniza staff -- thanks for everything. I miss you all and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarrakechFan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We are two elderly rather disabled people who have done a lot of travelling in the past. I cannot speak too higly of Riad Kniza. They firstly noticed my wife's difficulty with steps and very quietly upgraded us to a ground floor suite without any request, and with the nicest of help and friendly comment.

The rooms are immaculate and a privilege to occupy, the owner makes you feel a personal and important guest, the food is excellent and the staff are extremely well trained and rightly proud of the care they take of their guests.

As someone who has spent 34 years in the banqueting trade in 4 and 5 star hotels in Central London and throughout Europe I have a very critical eye (as, rightly, have those who watch me at work) and I cannot speak too highly of Riad Kniza and everyone connected with it. I hope we can return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DandGNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

I stayed in Riad Kniza for my first 2 nights in Marrakech and truly enjoyed it.
All the staffer are very professional, very well trained, polite and welcoming. Also they are very flexible for your requests. You would certainly feel treated like a special guest.
I loved the architecture, the pool, how they decorate every space, the room, are all beautifully done, also I loved the arts they had are wonderful. I saw Brad Pitt picture when he visited there so I am sure this place satisfy anyone who loves beautiful architecture.
Also if you are someone who care about a bed quality, this is the place for it. I'm picky for the bed quality and I loved the bed here.
I would recommend this place for anyone.
It is truly a peaceful and joyful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank machukuchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the last 2 nights of our honeymon and it was simply perfect. We had stayed at Riad Kniza in Feb 2007 in the Oriental room (which is beautiful) and had booked to stay in the same room again but were upgraded to the Royal Suite - just AMAZING! We were so touched by the generosity of the staff, the service we received, the food was amazing and the massages and pool were just what we needed after walking around the medina. We cannot imagine there is anywhere better to stay in Marrakech, it is more than 5* quality but with B&B-style personal service - just perfect. We will certainly be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#5 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing