We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Kniza
Nearby Hotels
US$1,222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$636
US$623
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$165
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$515
US$408
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$448
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Elvoline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$734
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,523)
Filter reviews
1,523 results
Traveller rating
1,436
72
11
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,436
72
11
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssenior suiteroof terracebrad pittroyal suiteatlas mountainsrose petalsbab doukkalamoroccan familyan oasismint teaold citylamb taginesitting roomtour guideday tripmoroccan experiencethe hustle and bustle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,012 - 1,017 of 1,523 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This place was an Oasis on the edge of the Medina. Riad Kniza had an owner who took pride in his facility. It was flawless! Great service, accomodations, pool, spa and the food was incredible. If you go to Morocco you will wear yourself out with Tangine Veal, chicken, beef, etc. but MAKE SURE YOU TRY the Tangine Chicken here. It was the best chicken I have ever had anywhere in the world.

Whatever the price, make this place your refuge. A friend on the tirp made a great observation: "4 inches of wood makes all the difference in the world" he was referring to the thick door that doesn't have a handle on the front of this Riad. You ring the bell and they answer promptly, but the 4" thick door keeps you tranquil in very busy medina.

This place is the best when it comes to Customer Service. It is truely 5 stars!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCWorldTraveler1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

For those who have not traveled to Morocco for the first time. I just returned from my frist trip. The most important thing is to choose the right place to stay. Everything is very exotic, hectic, interesting, hot, dirty, lots of smell (and not all pleasant) but if you have a wonderful place to rest, eat and sleep it can make the trip. Riad Kniza was above my expectations. From the gracious owners who the Riad has been in the family for 400 years to the exquisite decor and ambiance. The staff were excellent the foo amazing. A cool pool the beat the heat and a wonderful view from the roof top cafe.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoWaPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This was to be the final leg of our Moroccan adventure - ending a trip in which we had covered hundreds of miles. We were therefore hoping to finish on a high note & Riad Kniza certainly delivered. We arrived following a nightmare drive from Essaouira - unfortunately in trying to improve the road system they have essentially dug up miles of the main road surface & left a bumpy dirt track. I didn't think our little hire car would handle it but bruised & battered we still made it through. The Riad had kindly arranged for complimentary transfer from the airport so we could drop off our car - the driver was there as arranged & our transfer to the Riad was seamless. Welcomed inside by Kamal we enjoyed refreshments in the lounge whilst he gave us orientation & a map of Marrakech which we found helpful & informative. Keen to get started with our sightseeing we were escorted to our room. We were told en route we were to receive a complimentary upgrade to the room we had booked which was a lovely surprise, however did not prepare us for the surprise to follow.... We entered our room into a long corridor with a sunken seating area & flatscreen TV. From here we walked up some steps & around the corner into probably the biggest bedroom I have ever seen! It turned out we had been upgraded to the Royal Suite Bahia & the pictures on the website do not do it justice. We have stayed in some magnificent hotels & suites around the world but this has to rank as one of the most impressive. There was a selection of morrocan pastries for us to snack on - which were kept topped up at all times during our stay - and the room was showered with pretty rose petals making it very romantic in the tranquil lighting.
The rest of the Riad is similarly amazing with a warren of cool tranquil courtyards with a large pool area and many seating areas to escape the scorching summer sun. The roof terrace was also lovely although temperatures in the high 40's celcius during our stay saw our attempts at sunbathing thwarted!
All the staff were great, with hands on input from the owner Mohammed & his son Kamal - they all made us feel very welcome. The medina tour the Riad provides was also excellent with a knowledgable guide who keeps to the sights with no attempts to hard sell. At our request they organised a day trip to Ait Benhaddou and we must thank our great driver Abdul for looking after us in an Air-conditioned Mercedes for what was a very long drive. Having had excellent food in many Riads on our journey we opted to eat in on 2 of our 3 nights stay having an exceptional dining experience on both of these nights. I will post a separate review on this in the restaurant section but again a special mention must go to Mohammed for his excellent service & effort in running up & down stairs all evening to keep our food piping hot & ensure we were well watered. All soft drinks at the Riad are complimentary which is most welcome in the heat of the day!

In conclusion we thought that the Riad Kniza was the one of the best places we have ever stayed in with magnificent surroundings, amazing food & great staff. When we return to Marrakech we will stay here again & would recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury stay in Morocco.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Technog0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

From the moment we turned up, all the staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. It's a fun short walk to the main square and a haven to come back to once you've been exploring the rest of the city. We particularly enjoyed the incredible roof-top terrace, where they will serve breakfast as well as fresh orange juice, shisha and mint tea late into the night. The other guests were all extremely nice and it was helpful to swap stories of our bartering efforts and experiences, and the staff always took an interest in seeing the souvenirs we got from the souks. All the transport links to and from the hotel, including arrival and departure, and the trip into the Atlas Mountains were organised and well run. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmooshmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

I'm a veteran world traveler (35 countries under my belt) and made my first trip to Morocco, solo, in June 2010. Stayed at Riad Kniza for several days on the front and back ends of my trip...loved it...wish I was there right now. Great location, beautiful architecture/decor, outstanding service, incredibly friendly/helpful staff, mellow soulful vibe, and food so good it makes me drool just to think about it. They set a standard for friendly impeccable service seldom found elsewhere. This is the kind of place that I would normally try to keep all to myself, but they deserve my highest praise here on Trip Advisor.

To Kamal, Samira, Mohamed (the owner) and the Kniza staff -- thanks for everything. I miss you all and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarrakechFan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews