We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is PERFECT”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #13 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Just spent 2 weeks travelling through Morocco, and the Kniza was a highlight! This riad which has been in the same family for 200 years is capably run by Mohammed, his son Kamel, and their amazing staff.
They define service and hospitality, and if you are looking to stay in Marrakesh, I GUARANTEE you will love the 2 rooftop terraces, the amazing rooms and pool, the fantastic breakfasts and hammam, the beautiful antiques and decor, and the whole Kniza experience.
We booked our trip through Moroccotour.org and recommend them highly also.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranciscoHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

971 - 977 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2010

I generally don't take my time to go and write a review about a place I stayed, but Riad Kniza experience really deserves a rave review!
Very charming, most beautiful rooms I ever stayed, good internet, GREAT food.
If you're a gourmet don't miss the cooking workshop, its a great deal.

Pros:
- Walking distance from the main square (Night Market)
- GREAT food, one of the best restaurants around
- Perfect ambiance, the mix of smells and musics makes it a perfect place for Marrakesh
- Good swimming pool, too hot there !

Cons:
- Beer and wine should be in the appropriate temperature
- Hard to find since its inside the Medina, they should have signs
- Hard to park and to find the correct parking places, directions for drives should be available
- Don't miss your time on the suggested Guide City Tour, the guide will take you to expensive places for shopping

If I ever go to Marrakesh again I wouldn't dare not staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

you walk through complete chaos to this lovely calm clean and friendly Riad. We stayed in the Royal Suite which was absolutely lovely. Our trip included a half day with an english speaking guide, Omar he was fantastic, a trip to the Atlas mountains, again superb with Mohammed at the helm! The owner wandering around always finding time to talk - brilliant. If I could change one thing I would have liked a menu, whilst we appreciate you can have what you liked we wanted help and guidance in trying the local cusine. Staying in the Medina is a must!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summerdays10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

the riad is tuck away off the busiest street when you entry it is like a total different world after a hectic day around marrakech it is a real treat to enter the staff are excellent

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SolihullMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Wow! What can I say? We stayed for 4 nights and felt like Royalty. The riad is intimate, personable, friendly and understated whilst delivering anything and everything effortlessly. Luxury without pretention. We booked through Voyage Prive and got an amazing deal spending one night in a Senior Suite (upgraded from the price we paid) and then we were apologetically moved after one night to the Royal Suite. This was an amazing experience and we kept wondering what we had done to deserve it. The Royal Suite was a seriously sumptuous experience, with a suite of rooms incuding a huge bedroom with super super king bed, 2 chaise lange, sofa and flat screen TV and 2 desks, an ante room (like a sitting room with table and sofa in which our breakfast was served) and a huge marble bathroom with 2 sinks and separate his and hers dressing rooms. We certainly did feel like Royalty. The roof terrace was amazing for drinks and meals, and the stairs leading up from our suite felt like we had our own separate roof terrace with loungers and a shaded seating area. In reality it is linked with the main area of the roof terrace, but we never saw anyone on 'our' part. The whole experience was very exclusive but understated. The pool is open air, but mainly enclosed with high walls surrounding it and a small square of blue blue sky which you can see as you lie on your back in the cool water, with the occasional blast of very warm air coming through. The service is amazing - don't be afraid to ask for anything. You don't get a menu or prices,which meant we didn't know what to order, but please be assured that when you leave, the bill is very reasonable. Almost cheap! We had the usual drinks, both alcoholic and non, and were almost embarrassed about asking what they had. Don't be. We had a variety of drinks including Whisky. The house wine is very drinkable and quite pleasant. Perhaps the red more than the white.
All in all, nothing is too much trouble for any member of staff. The owner is often present which enhances the feeling that you are staying in someone's home and the decor is very authentic and charming, and extremely clean. We had our best meals at La Maison Arabe (another beautiful riad feeling a little more like a hotel as it was bigger and with a bar with live piano playing) and at the Riad Kniza which has a limited but very tasty menu. As we met in Morocco and are due to get married soon, we found Riad Kniza was amazingly romantic and laid back, as well as being personal and discrete. We recommed it 100% and as seasoned travellers rarely go back to the same place twice - the world is too big - but we would make an exception for Riad Kniza!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drillersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We brought our daughter and her friend for their high school spring break trip. We had both been to Morocco, but it had been many years and we were a little apprehensive about bringing teenagers, would they feel safe, would they enjoy the country etc. They had a great time, everything went perfectly and we will go back.

We found the Riad Kniza on Trip Advisers and it was the first time we had used Trip Advisers. The reviews were wonderful so we contacted the hotel. From our first contact to our arrival, to our final departure, they were fantastic. Helpful, friendly, polite, we could not have asked for more.
The Riad is gorgeous and we will soon add some pictures to this review, but pictures do not do it justice. it is far more beautiful than pictures can convey. It is a gorgeous haven in the midst of the Medina. When the car from the airport pulled up down the street, we looked out on a bicycle repair shop and a congested and loud street. They said "you are here, welcome to the Riad Kniza" I didnt think we would be able to get the girls out of the cab. We then walked down the street, turned up another and went thru the door of a beautiful private home, the Riad Kniza. If you are looking for a hotel go somewhere else. If you are looking for a luxurious private home, where your every need is met then stay here.
Our room, the largest suite, was the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. The staff, all of the staff, could not have been more gracious and met our every request. The location is wonderful, the experience is truly Moroccan and you will be very happy you chose the Riad Kniza. We would highly recommend Riad Kniza

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed at this Riad for two nights, and it certainly is fantastic. Its location provides a very interesting contrast when you walk from the incredibly busy and noisy Medina into a peaceful patio with a fountain full of rose petals to welcome you. We loved our room (a senior suite), which was very spacious and beautiful. The multiple common areas are fabulous, and we really enjoyed the tea service.
Most of the staff are very nice, helpful and welcoming, but a couple of them did make us feel like we were annoying them, I think due to us travelling with a young (and not always quiet) child. Other than that I have no complains. I feel we got a true Moroccan experience and I would recommend this Riad to anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
2,129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £141 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing