We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely”
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Kniza
Ranked #19 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed 20 January 2011

It's really difficult to add anything new to what has already been said. It's a really beautiful riad with charming staff in a great location. The food is excellent although even two greedy people like us couldn't finish everything at dinner. Breakfast, as others have said was also delightful and even in November, we could eat it outside, on the roof terrace. A real gem.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
210
867
29
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed for a week and had a fabulous time. On arrival we were warmly greeted by the staff with a cup of mint tea - a most refreshing start. The formalities were completed quickly and we were shown to our room - the KENZA. It was decked out in typical morrocan style. It was very spacious and looked amazing! It was a beautiful environment to spend a week in. It sits just off the main street that takes you to the souks and there are shops and restaurants within easy walking distance.

On our first night we decided to have dinner at the riad and My God we're glad we did! I'm a bit of a 'foodie' and I am used to sampling all sorts of food from around the world but this was one of the most amazing eating experiences ever. We had the Lamb Tagine and It totally blew us away!!! I'm not going to write too much here as it would take too long. It was served over five courses and by the time I finished I was stuffed and in dreamland. Just go and try it - you wont be disappointed!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

All the staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. They spoke quietly which was in keeping with the ambiance of the whole place. Anything you needed or wanted was sorted out quickly and without fuss. It felt like they cared.

OK The very minor downside - I am going to nitpick here but thats what reviews are for and I wish to be totally honest. There are no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms or even a fridge however we found that we could order at anytime of day or night and it arrived quicker than we could make it anyway. There are no shower curtains or doors so the water collects on the floors but the staff clean up as soon as you go out so wasn't a big issue.

All in all it was a most wonderful introduction to Morrocco. The Riad was amazing, the staff were helpful and we had a ball therefore we have no hesitation in recommending Riad Kniza to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

There is not much to add to the previous review. We spent one week at Riad Kniza over Christmas and New Year, and it was excellent. The Riad feels like a secluded, tranquil island of luxury in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff is genuinely friendly, hospitable and helpful while being very discreet. The "restaurant" does not feel like one but more like being hosted in someone's private home, and the food is by far the best we have tasted in Marrakech (and we have been to a few other acclaimed restaurants while there). The interior feels authentic, not overdesigned in a faux western style like many other places, and is perfectly maintained as if it was opened only recently. Very nice and quiet roof terrace, where breakfast is served upon request. We hope we will have a chance to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10179k79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We spent 3 wonderful days in Marrakech, in October, for our 20th wedding anniversary. Riad Kniza is stunning - a real gem in the hubbub of the old town. Staff were attentive and helpful, the suite was palatial and the room terrace offered the perfect spot for breakfast or romantic dinner. The only thing we couldn't get to grips with was the lighting in the suite - we never managed to turn all the lights out in the suite at the same time. Not exactly a major issue!

We would certainly stay there again and would recommended it to anyone. It is also nice knowing you're staying in a locally-owned riad, rather than an impersonal chain. Photos of the owner ( a celebrated tour guide) with the likes of Will Smith, subtly placed in the library area, add to the atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAT65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Last summer, we spent a week at the Riad Kniza, after deciding we needed a short break from our foster caring responsibilities and also due to the fact my wife and I still hadn't had a proper honeymoon 9 years after getting married. We found the Riad Kniza through recommendations on Trip Advisor and booked straight away. We tried to get the smallest room (due to a modest budget) but this wasn't possible for the dates we needed, but the Riad staff, unbelievably, gave us a free upgrade to the Royal suite for the whole week. Fresh pastries every morning, unlimited mint tea and the suite itself was beyond belief. We went off season, which was unbelievably hot (47c max!) but the hotel was a total refuge. Clean, cool, airy...the pool (which I had to myself, pretty much all week) was small but so peaceful and beautiful. Breakfast on the roof terrace was included and very fresh and hugely generous in terms of portions and variety - sets you up for a full day exploring. The Riad is a perfect base for the walled city / souks and we would explore in the morning and evening, with a long siesta each day in the Riad to recharge! The staff were courteous, efficient and friendly and the memory of the trip will stay with us forever. Would give it 10/10 and advise all to go and check it out. Only very slight issue is that the Riad is really not set up to provide lunches - they are happy to make whatever you want, but I would recommend just tea and pastries in your room at lunch. Due to the enormous breakfasts and the plethora of quality restaurants around for dinner, eating was never really a problem for us, however. All in all, adream holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_Fynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Riad Kniza was simply wonderful. My husband had booked it for 3 nights during our honeymoon in Marrakech. We were made to feel very special and the level of service was extremely high. Nothing was too much trouble at all. Breakfast on the roof terrace is definitely a highlight. We would recommend this to anyone who wants to experience a little bit of heaven and tranquility amongst the hustle and bustle of the Medina in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SammyScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George's, Grenada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My husband John and I visited Riad Kniza, Derb l”Hotel in late Novermber 2010. We were both skeptical about the hotel when we had to walk through the beginning of the suke and thendown a narrow alley with high walls and just a couple doors. Our guide knocked on a large wooden door and low and behold we entered “the Arabian Nights”. Our room wasn’t available so we were ushered into a beautiful room with sofas and cushions and low tables. We were brought tea and coffee and cakes and made to feel so welcome. Within a half hour we were brought to a beautiful room with twin beds, two long sofas and a wonderful fireplace which the staff lit for us since it was a bit chilly. After resting for a while we explored the Hotel and became more enamored with the many rooms, the pool and particularly the roof-top garden with sofas and tables under lovely cloth canopys. In the three days of our visit we had two dinners in a lovely room on the lower level and lunches on the rooftop with all the beautiful plants and flowers. The food was excellent and the service was superb. It was such a remarkable experience that we are in the process of planning another trip to Morocco in April, 2011 and plan to spend a week at Riad Kinza, Derb l’Hotel. Because the Hotel provided a half day guide who was knowledgeable, personable and extremely pleasant we are now asking the owner to assist us in planning trips to Fez and to the mountains of Morocco. We rate our stay at the Riad Kniza, Derb l’Hotel one of the best hotels in any of our travels because of the beauty, service, food and convenience to many of the marvelous sights and sounds of Merrakech, Morocco…..

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwhelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#292 of 499 in Marrakech
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Darsor
Darsor
#339 of 499 in Marrakech
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#344 of 499 in Marrakech
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Pavillon Du Golf
Le Pavillon Du Golf
#322 of 499 in Marrakech
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#294 of 499 in Marrakech
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#460 of 499 in Marrakech
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Property: Riad Kniza
Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing