We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect bliss”
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Ranked #1 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect bliss”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

My brother and I spent one evening at the Riad on our way back from the High Atlas mountains.

The Riad is the perfect contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. On entering, one is confronted by a beautiful, serene courtyard which was meticulously maintained. The points I think are important to highlight about the Riad are the following :

1. The staff were fantastic, including the owner Cyril. Indeed I mistakenly left my iPod at the hotel, and he has offered to go out of his way to send it back to me - it is not often hotel staff care about their customers post settling the bill, however this for me was the prefect representation of the care taken by Cyril and his staff to make ones stay as enjoyable as possible.

2. The views over Marrakech are breathtaking, allowing you to view some splendid Moroccon architecture in the comfort of a lounger sipping home made lemonade.

3. The breakfasts were fantastic. I can't comment on other courses as we sample the delights of the souks for our lunch and dinner.

Would not hesitate to recommend the Riad, and shall be returning myself in good time.


Chris and Steve

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherAndKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
164
412
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

HIGHS:
1. service: hosting personnel (in my case: Ismail and Jamal) go out of their way to help you and guide you. If it's not against the law, they'll find a way to do it for you ;)
e.g. when I forgot my toilet bag upon departure, they arranged to have it delivered to me at the airport (for free).
2. refuge: thick walls + quiet area = no noise during your sleep at any time. Just close the windows and the shutters and you're cut off from light and noise (I didn't even hear the muezzins)
3. location: go one side and you are a short walk from the taxi stand, go the opposite direction and you enter the souks right there, go the third in a straight line for the Jemaa el Fna main square in less than 5 mins.

LOWS:
1. Breakfast is a generous, but for me a too typical (?) Moroccan affair: next to the excellent mint tea, fresh orange juice and eggs any style, the served-at-the-table offer is heavy on sugar (only single type of fruit and it is sweet, baguette is white, jams are sugar-packed, plus pancakes AND marble cake), but poor on slow-carb (there is no muesli/oatmeal). Tip for the owners: replace sweet melon by red fruits like cherries from the market, replace cake by oatmeal, make the bread multigrain instead, and serve low-fat goat's cheese (it's welcomed by dairy-challenged stomachs like mine) instead of yogurt.
2. Prices of consumptions inside the Riad are distinctly European, not Moroccan... 2 euro for a coke, 3 for a beer. Not a complaint really, this one (I didn't expect local prices in this boutique property), but it is best to be aware of this.

Room Tip: the ground surface of the road is small, therefore rooms not on the ground floor have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I've been in this splendid Riad together with my wife and her parents, and all of us really loved the Stay.
Even starting from the reservation you get a lot of caring and attention by Cyril (the owner) who will arrange everything you should need also for organizing your trip and stay in Marrakech. Just by mail we've got organized by him all the transfers from and to Casablanca, day excursion and what I really suggest at all a wonderful homemade dinner based on typical Tagine (Chicken in traditional Moroccan style that I really loved), Couscous in addition to traditional Moroccan salads and dessert. We had dinner the first evening at our arrival on the roof terrace of the Riad with amazing views on Marrakech, Wonderful!
The Riad is very clean, comfortable, and relaxing, with just 7 room and a lot of services like pool, hammam (which you can use exclusively), a wonderful patio, sitting/dining room with marvellous typical furniture, and a wonderful roof terrace. The position of the Riad is also great, next to the suq, and less than 5 minute walk form the main square.
Rooms are very nice and big, decorated in a great elegant and simple style with features of the typical Moroccan elements, bathrooms very big, with comfortable shower.
Every morning breakfast is served on the terrace, each morning changing in menus and with typical salted and sweet dish, fruit, yogurt, juices and whatever you may desire. Breakfast turns fast in a really complete lunch!!!!
But most of all the excellence is provided by all the staff, everybody is extremely professional and kind, starting from Ismail (the general manager) that will organize everything fro you, from restaurant reservation, to excursion organization, great indications of what to do and see in the city, taxi call and whatever you may need.
Furthermore starting from your arrival and for all your stay you will constantly be served with complimentary the (great mint tea), café.
By writing my report I really would wish to get back as soon as possible, so really go there in order to be enthusiastic about your stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cippi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

After a long overnight flight from JFK and a 3-hour layover in Casablanca, we arrived in Marrakech. From the edge of the Medina, we were escorted to Riad L'Orangeraie. Upon entering, we were warmly welcomed by Ismail, and offered our first glass of mint tea, before being taken to our suite. We immediately felt that we had walked into an oasis of tasteful serenity and calm. Our room was air-conditioned, well-furnished, and extremely comfortable, with ample space. That first night, Nadia prepared us a delightful dinner, served on the terrace. Breakfasts on the terrace included a generous assortment of breads, seasonal fruits, home-made yogurt prepared by Nadia, and coffee.

Riad L'Orangeraie offers a sense of privacy. We thought perhaps we were the only people staying in the riad, since it was so quiet. Only when we had breakfast the next morning did we see other guests on the terrace. We felt as if we were living in a private home. Aziz and other staff members took great care of us.

Riad L'Orangeraie is located in The Mouassine district, which is the ideal location within the Medina - a brief stroll down to Jemaa el Fna Square and a short walk to the souks. The Mouassine is home to some of the best shops for browsing and buying. Riad L'Orangeraie was the perfect home base, making it easy to return for a break from the shopping and hustle-bustle of the souks, and then venture out again.

This was our first trip to Morocco, but it will not be our last. We plan on returning to Marrakech, and to Riad L'Orangeraie. Thank you, Cyril and Staff, for a memorable stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masalayogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Stayed at this Riad for two nights. The staff was wonderful and extreamly helpful and the riad was great. Nice rooms. Food was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familywithtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

A beautiful oasis of calm within the heart of the medina. Very friendly welcome and extremely helpful staff to make your stay truly relaxing despite the madness of Marrakech. Recommend eating in at least once. Romantic place to stay and very well located. Great breakfast on the roof terrace with fantastic views over the roofscape of the medina.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed in this lovely riad at the end of May. We were riad "virgins" at the time, and didn't have any comparisons. We loved everything about it. The the rooms, staff, location, service and amenities all top notch! We had wonderful breakfasts on the rooftop, as well as one evening upon our arrival,we chose to have dinner there.

The manager and staff did everything possible to make our stay stress free and enjoyable. We received suggestions for an itinerary and things to do and see. If we needed things arranged, the staff was happy to do so. The riad is well located and we would not hesitate to stay there again. Especially now that we have experienced other riads. None compared to this one.

Room Tip: We stayed in the second floor in the Cinnamon room and loved the location. If you aren't good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mojboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#3 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#15 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Property: Riad l'Orangeraie
Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing