We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extraordinary service”
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Ranked #1 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Riad l'Orangeraie is serene, beautiful, and well located--but all of those great attributes pale in comparison to the extraordinary service. Aziz, one of the two concierges (for lack of a better word, though that doesn't fully describe all that they do), met my taxi at the gate to the medina, with a cart for my bag. After a short walk to the riad, I sat down in a comfortable alcove for mint tea, biscuits, and a tour by map of the city. Aziz pointed out good places to visit and areas with excellent but little known (to tourists) restaurants, and made sure I had everything I needed. And that attention continued throughout my stay, by both Aziz and Jamal, the other concierge (Aziz and Jamal alternate days). Ismail and all the staff were great too. The riad was an oasis in a beautiful but busy city, and the service made me never, ever want to leave--and to hurry back as soon as possible. I also recommend a visit to the Maison de la Photographie, which I wouldn't have known of but for Aziz's recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the riad and your wonderful comments about your stay with us.

We really appreciated the fact that you outlined the quality of the service. We take great pride of meeting the needs of all our guests.

We really hope to see you again soon in Marrakech.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stepping into this Riad, through the large wooden door, reminded me of the book 'the secret garden'. It was like stepping into a piece of paradise. Beautiful rooms, roof terrace and exceptionally friendly staff who were always willing to help no matter how early or late it was. I would personally like to thank Cyril, lsmal, Aziz, Jimahl and all the other members of staff for making this trip such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your visit at l'Orangeraie and your favorable review.

We are really happy to hear that you had a great time at l’Orangeraie

We all hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Friends who joined me on a trip to Marrakech were experiencing Morocco for the first time. Some were feeling a little bit of apprehension about the trip. The minute we arrived though everything fell into place. Our driver Mouusine was organized, professional and spoke English well.
At the ancient city gate to the riad, we were met by Aziz who became our den mother for the rest of the week...a super wonderful person who made anything possible. Jamal and the rest of the staff were excellent as well. The owner Cyril was exceptionally helpful before, during and after the trip.
We all felt so safe and comfortable and cared for. The food was divine..breakfasts so delicious and tagines, some of the best food we had in Marrakech and it was all excellent.
Genevieve and Nadia were looking after the rooms and kitchen and not sure who did the cooking but their mother taught them well! We felt we had an extended family for a week and enjoyed everyone immensely. It was a big part of the visit. We all want to come back and share this warm and friendly place with our families. I highly recommend this riad over a hotel..lots of hot water and rooms equipped with snacks, water and the best smelling orange scented soap! Quiet too.

Room Tip: No fitness centre but you will walk a lot in Marrakech and then go to local Hammam for a full massag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Catherine,

Thank you so much for your visit to the riad and your wonderful review.

Thank you for mentioning the quality of the food served at the riad, Nadia and Leila, our two cooks, always use fresh products to prepare their meals and they will be so happy to know that you enjoyed their food.

We are delighted that you felt like home at the l’Orangeraie and hope to see you again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have recently returned from Marrakesh to celebrate a very special birthday with 7 girlfriends. I had been recommended this boutique Riad months ago and I was keen to try it out as it seemed small and intimate of high quality and in a great central location. I am a very tough customer as I work in hotel and travel marketing in the uk so I am always on the look out for what could be done better. Well I can honestly say that the whole experience was amazing from the pre trip TLC and care from the owner, the organisation of all the trips and entertainment that they help set up , to the highly personal service and attention that we received whilst there along with great food. All of it was an absolute delight. Its increasingly hard to find somewhere in the world where you feel at home and totally cared for that exceeds all your expectations but this place does that in bucket loads. Thank you all so much for making my birthday so special - a fabulous Riad with an awesome team (Cyril, Ismal, Assis and Jimahl) in magical Marrakesh We will be back.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautifully furnished but the suites offer that bit more room and more dramatic ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your visit to l’Orangeraie and your kind comments about your stay. We are really happy that you had a fabulous time and that the celebration of your birthday was a success.

We really appreciated the fact that you outlined the quality of the service. We take great pride of meeting the needs of all our guests.

Your whole party was a delight and we would warmly welcome you all back!

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Everything about this Riad was excellent. My initial contact was with the owner, Cyril, who went out of his way (even calling me!) to make sure our rooms were booked and we had all the information we needed - really helpful considering we were a group of 9!. When I asked him about a cooking class, he provided several options and when we decided, it was all set up for us. From getting picked up at the airport, to arrival at the Riad (a very interesting process!!), it was smooth - especially for a female traveling alone to Marrakech and very tired! Ismal met me at the door with a wonderful hot mint tea and a run down, complete with a great map, of the area. They even give you a local cell phone in case you need to call the Riad or other members of your group, which came in handy when our group were all going in different directions. Aziz and Jimahl make sure you get what you need day or night, and provided us with lots of information, directions and wine!! Since we had 5 of the rooms, I was able to peek inside each room - all beautiful and made you feel like you really were in Morocco... We were in the Paprika room, and we loved it, but all were fantastic! Thanks to Cyril and his staff for a fantastic start to our Moroccan adventure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ywest79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear Yvette,

Thank you for choosing l’Orangeraie for your stay in Marrakech and your very nice review.

We are very pleased that you had such a good experience at the riad and really hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Azziz met us from the mini-bus, which the Riad had kindly arranged to meet us from the airport. His manner was so kind and friendly and as we walked along a character filled back street of Marrakesh, we were made to feel so welcome. The most beautiful site was to greet us, once we had entered the door of the Riad. The decor was exquisite, very traditional and as we had arrived at night, there were candles flickering everywhere, and the best bit - A silent movie of Casablanca was being projected onto the wall of the pool area.

Ismail was there to greet us and spent time introducing us to Marrakesh and reviewing our itinerary (most of which had been planned and arranged by him). As a group, we changed our schedule on a number of occasions and nothing was too much trouble for Azziz, Ismail or Jamal to re-arrange or organise. From coffee early in the morning on the roof terrace (6am) to opening a bottle of champagne late at night when we returned from dining out (2am), they guys were always arrange with a smile. I absolutely believe that we had made new friends by the time we had left, these guys were amazing.

Needless to say, each of the rooms was stunning, with unique and individual styles to the bedrooms and bathrooms.

This is my little piece of heaven and I absolutely intend to return. I can't thank Ismail, Azziz and Jamal and the girls enough, for making our weekend trip so enjoyable. Also a special thanks to Cyril xxxx

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your visit to our riad and your very kind review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your time at l’Orangeraie. Thank you for outlining the quality of the service provided which is absolutely key for us.

We really hope to have you stay with us again.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Beautiful riad.Nothing was too much trouble for lsmal, Aziz and Jimahl. Top service!!!!
A peaceful oasis in a busy city. Don't won't to tell you all the wonderful little touches as nice to have surprises..safe to say one of the best holidays I have had...believe me don't bother looking anywhere else...can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indecisivemarlow8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your gracious review and your visit to l’Orangeraie. We are delighted to know that you had an amazing time in Marrakech.

We will do all out best to make sure you get will the same feeling for your next visit to the riad.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 502 in Marrakech
1,761 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#20 of 502 in Marrakech
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,170 in Marrakech
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £107 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing