We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in the heart of the medina.”
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Ranked #1 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real gem in the heart of the medina.”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I've just returned from a three night stay at Riad l'Orangeraie in Marrakech and have to say it was great. From the moment we (my mum, sister and I) arrived, we were made to feel welcome and at home.
The staff are truly great and couldn't do more for us - and what's more they seem to genuinely enjoy it. We were also really impressed with Cyril, one of the French brothers who owns this Riad. His main aim is to ensure everyone is enjoying themselves and is seeing the very best of this wonderful city.
The food is also really good - from breakfast to dinner. In fact we felt that the riad's own kitchen served us the best dinner we had in Marrakech.
There are smarter (and more expensive) riads you can stay in, but this one is a real gem. It's authentic in every way and captures the magic of Marrakech. I am already looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: The biggest and most plush rooms are on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Alexandra,

Thank you for coming to stay at l'Orangeraie and for your very nice review. We are very pleased to know that you had a great time in Marrakech.

Thank you for mentioning the quality of the food served at the Riad, Nadia and Leila, our two cooks, always use fresh products to prepare their meals and they will be so happy to know that you enjoyed their food.

We all hope to see you again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    28
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
164
417
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just returned from five nights and was truly impressed from the moment we stepped inside it was like an oasis, so tranquil and impressive from the decor to the service. The location is superb and we stayed in the coriander suite which was beautiful. We was given a map of the district and a mobile phone if we got lost the food was superb and breakfast on the terrace was beautiful. On our last day we was asked if we would like prepared for us to take to the airport and on my birthday I received a scrumptious surprise birthday cake made by the chef Nadia. Thank you to the whole team who made my birthday week very special and for the fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in the coriander suite which is located on the ground floor opening to the courtyard. Bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Angela,

Thank you so much for choosing l'Orangeraie to celebrate your birthday and your kind comments.

We are really happy to hear that you had a great time at the Riad and we all hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Wilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We -my daughter and I- have just spent three truly fabulous nights in this wonderful Raid.
Our transport to and from the airport was arranged by Jameel the manager of l'Orangeraie, Upon our arrival we were given mint tea and pastries while Jameel took us through the map of the locality, advising us on the varying attractions and things to do.
We had booked to eat in house on our first night and we should have taken the advise of other reviewers and eaten there every night! It was fabulous food.
Our room was all that we expected and more, even the candle lighting fairies came in during the evening, it was lovely to come back at the end of the night to find the soft glow of candles lighting the way.
Each room has a small safe in which to leave your valuables etc so no worries there.
The location is brilliant, just a few paces from the Souks and in easy walking distance of the Square...Djemma el-Fna. Most of the other attractions are walk-able, if you go for taxis make sure you agree a price before setting off and like-wise with the Calesh drivers.


This has been my first time visiting Marrakesh and it was perfect, the staff are second to none and nothing was too much trouble...even arranging a visit to REAL locals Hammam, (this was not the 'do it your self' sort, you get a very intense scrub down and massage by a very lovely Moroccan woman who speaks no English but you develop an understanding and leave with a big hug, a feeling of cleanliness like never before and a massive smile)


My advise to anyone visiting for the first time is to go out, walk about and get totally lost, it's not a very big place and Jameel gives you a local phone to make use of. We met so many superbly friendly people, make sure you say Salaam/Bonjour to all the shop keepers etc that you come into contact with, everyone wants to help you and not all want money, but a couple of Dirhams for local info isn't much to pay.
.
Thank you so much to Jameel, Aziz and the rest of the staff -whose names I can't remember, sorry- you made our stay absolutely fabulous and we will return, insha'Allah
And may Valentino find his Valentine soon.


And now back to reality with a huge sigh. X

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Carolyn ,

Thank you for choosing l’Orangeraie for your stay in Marrakech and your very nice review.

We are all very pleased that you had such a good experience at the Riad and really hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for eight nights and couldn't be happier with our choice! The location is fantastic, and the Paprika room is the best!

From the moment we stepped into the riad we were warmly welcomed and offered mint tea and cookies. We were given a map and shown the best spots to see.

Breakfast can be described in one word: Amazing!! We usually had it on the rooftop terrace and it was the perfect start to the day!

The staff planned all of our day trips and gave us a ton of helpful advice. Special shout out to Jamal. He was so lovely and helpful, we were actually sad to say good bye to him!

This place has the best service and will make your experience a memorable one!

Room Tip: The Paprika room is the best. We stayed in another room for our last night, and although it was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanmuffit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit to l'Orangeraie for your wonderful review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your time at the riad. Thank you especially for mentioning the quality of the services which is absolutely key for us.

We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My daughter and I stayed here on our first trip to Marrakech. From the moment we arrived we felt we had found a haven amidst the bustle of the old city. Its location is fantastic, you can just walk almost everywhere in the old city. The staff looked after us so well, nothing was too much. Advice was always to hand and Jameel even organised a taxi and guided trek for a day in the Atlas Mountains. If you ate in the food was tasty and plentiful. The evening meal is served around the main courtyard. The first night there my daughter and I tried to leave the table after what we thought was a very substantial meal only to be stopped by the look of dismay on the waitress's face....we had only had the starter! The rooms were delightful - clean and cool and very comfortable. And the small plunge pool in the courtyard or the roof top terrace were welcome oases after a day's sightseeing and shopping. Just unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your kind comments about your stay.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate the quality of the service and recommendations provided by our staff.

We all hope to see you again soon in Marrakech.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

A friend and I made a last minute decision to get out of the rain in Milan. Within an hour we booked ez-jet, looked at photos, and called l'Orangerie having no expectation.

As an American living in Italy, I always find their culture to have a beautiful element of hospitality and care. But the way in which Cyril and his team treat their guests as family is simply next level. And I guess you could be anywhere in the world and with a team like that, feel absolutely at peace and comfortable.

The hotel is stunning. Cyril has an amazing ability to decorate. He is truly talented. The entry, once you find it, opens up a small gem full of light and calm. It is modern without defying traditional style nor adhering to the somewhat Indian style of decor loaded with contrasting and dizzying materials, which can be really quite kitsch.

Having read other reviews, I concur regarding observations about the hotel food. We did not have Nadia but frankly the food was some of the best I have ever had. When we asked for a variation or less spicy, etc, we found a level of willingness that almost felt enthusiastic to make additional effort.

I could give a list of examples of how personally Cyril takes the experience of his guests but I fear no one has read this far. So in summary, you won't see this level of enthusiastic attentiveness and inclusion at any Four Seasons in the world.

If I had one suggestion, it would only be to heat the library in January at bit more. But everyone says I'm irrationally always cold, so don't weight my input on thermostat too heavily.

The team should be very proud of itself and guests are so lucky if they stumble upon L'Orangerie.

You can be sure that none of the comments posted here are inflated. They are perfectly in-line with the way I experienced my time there.

Thank you to everyone for such an outstanding experience.

Cara Goldenberg

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Cara,

Thank you for visiting Riad l’Orangeraie and for your amazing and detailed review.

We are delighted that you like the decor at the riad and that you enjoyed your time in Marrakech. Thank you for outlining the quality of the service provided. This is mostly important to us.

It was genuinely a great pleasure to meet you and we sincerely hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was our first trip to Marrakech and, as when visiting a new country and arriving in the dark, we had our concerns but these were all swept aside from the moment Jamal met us at the taxi rank just outside the walls of the Medina. He piled all our luggage into his trolley and two hundred metres of narrow, cobbled alleyways later we passed through a studded and fairly nondescript door into a beautiful oasis of calm to be met by the wonderful Cyril. He showed us to our rooms and gave us a quick guided tour before we were brought a tray of mint tea and sweetmeats. Dinner followed and we were treated to an array of Moroccan dishes followed by a superb chicken tagine, prepared by the staff and served by Jamal. The following morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast on the roof terrace and Cyril gave us a mobile phone to use should we get lost, completely free of charge. He spent time with us to ensure our day was planned and helped us choose and book a restaurant for the evening. All the staff were extremely helpful, without being over-attentive, and we were made to feel very special. Cyril also supports Arsenal, which was an added bonus! Thank you, Riad l'Orangeraie for a wonderful, but all too short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit and your very kind review.

We are delighted that you had a great time at l’Orangeraie. Thank you for outlining the quality of the service at the Riad. We are also very pleased to that you found the mobile phone that we provide to our guests useful to stay in touch with the riad at all time.

We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to your next visit.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 499 in Marrakech
1,648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,139 in Marrakech
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,139 in Marrakech
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Property: Riad l'Orangeraie
Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing