We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasently surprised”
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
Ranked #153 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasently surprised”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

6 of us stayed here for 3 nights and I was very worried that it would be a shabby hotel however i was extremely relived when we arrived and especially when we saw our rooms. The rooms are clean and spacious and the hotel is ideally situated surrounded by many shops and restaurants; it is also a 30min walk from the main square. They cleaned our rooms daily; the breakfast was good and the exchange rate at the hotel was great so we did the rest of our money here. The tour bus is ideally located just outside the hotel.
The Diwane Spa is excellent, the staff are very polite, provide great treatments and the spa is clean and good value for money.
You can get a bus - number 1, horse and carriage or taxi to the square.
Overall we were all very pleased with the hotel and would definetly recommend it and stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can choose a pool view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    464
    174
    53
    35
See reviews for
199
382
76
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Hotel Diwane is ideally located. It is situated in Guilese ( new town). It is 40mts walking distance from Jamaal El Fna square which is the centre of old town. The souk is just opposite to the square. Hotel is clean. Staff are friendly and good. Airport bus (no: 19) driver stopped very close to the hotel. Hop on / off bus starts very close to the hotel. We booked for Atlas tour (Orika Valley) from a tour shop very close to the hotel Diwane (next to Hotel Renaissance opposite Hotel Diwane). Breakfast was good although it is the same menu every morning. 4 or 5 varities of croissants, fresh egg (omlett or hard boiled or fried) etc etc. We took half board. So we had dinner at the hotel for the 4 nights that we stayed there. The firt night was very disappointing. Food wasn't as delicious or spicy as i had expected. Most of the menu consisted of variety of salads. I had slight tummy cramps that night. The next night onwards i stuck to hot food and i was alright. Cous cous was served every day with one or two meat dish and one fish dish and a variety of vegetable curries, soup etc. I was expecting to be served Khoubous or variety of bread. But didn't get any of that during our stay. All in all, i would rate evening dinner as 5 or 6 out of 10. But staff were very good. There was no label next to the dishes, so you are unsure if you are eating meat, fish or vegetable! Although you have booked half board, when you go for dinner, you have to pay for the drinks. I didn't expect this. A glass of orange juice is 20dhs, half litre bottle of water is 10dhs ( compared to price in the shop opposite to the hotel viz, 6dhs for 1 litre bottle and 4 dhs for orange juice in the shop at the souk). We enjoyed Marrakech, the hotel, the weather and the people.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 360sunshine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barlad, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

so, we stay here 4 days.The hotels is clean, big balcon, beautiful and clean pool, the room is quite big, but not so modern,the bathroom is clean. Every day they are changing our sheets, and towels. The food is ok,we have half board, 3 dishes of meet and so on. For Maroc is 4 star, for europen is mote that 3. We like the hotel, and the position is very good. Take bus 19 from the airport and take bus 1 fot Jemaa el Fna place. No drinks at restaurant but in the front is a small store who sell alchoolic. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toratora09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed at the Diwane for 3 nights January 2012. Staff gave excellent service. Very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, good choice and fresh. Had dinner on one night, great service, good food and very good prices. Room was cleaned every day. Hotel was very nice throughout nicely decorated. Pool and pool area very clean. Pool was quite cold due I expect to time of year, but plenty of towels and good service. Hotel situated in the new part of town, plenty of shops, restaurants and bqrs around. Within walking distance of main square and souks ( about 20 - 25 mins). Was quite a nice walk and it was nice to be staying a little away from the mayhem of the old town.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilly1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Lets start with the negatives:
The Diwane Hotel is definitely not a four star hotel. It is a 3* at the most and the reasons for this are;
1. The rooms are very much what you'd expect from a 3* hotel although they are very clean, they are also very dated & in need of a coat of paint to brighten them up. But who cares, when your in Marrakech the last thing you'll be doing is staying in your room.
2. The breakfast buffet is very very basic & unless you like eggs & are really in to pastries you'll go hungry. I would recommend taking a little bit of extra cash & eating out in one of the cafes/restaurants that are a stones throw away from the hotel.
3. The pool; if you go in January as we did do not expect a pleasant swimming experience as the pool is freezing & in a very shady area of the hotel. However, come summer time I can see the pool area being a nice little place to sit & chill out.
Also, please note that prayer is announced through giant & very loud speakers that can be heard across the city so, expect an early rise & shine at some point unless you're a very very deep sleeper. I wasn't expecting it to be quite so loud & when you're minding your own business in the land of nod it can come as a bit of a shock to the system if you don't know what it is at first.
Now the positives: The hotel is by far the best in terms of it's positioning to central Marrakech than any other hotel as, it is slightly off of & away from the busy main strip yet just a few steps around the corner when you're ready to brave the Moroccan driving madness (I'll explain in detail later).
The tour bus is located right outside the hotel & is the first stop on a tour of the entire inner & outer city of Marrakech & is most definitely worth the money. Me & hubby went for 2 days & bought a 48 hour hop on hop off ticket for 170 dirham per person (£12 each). This is by far cheaper than a taxi (& much safer than being on foot) & will take you all over Marrakech including the Koutoubia mosque & the famous Place Jemaa El Fna souk where, you'll get to see the real Morocco, haggle with the locals & buy some really cheap goodies. Hubby bartered his way to a real bargain & brought a real leather briefcase/satchel for 230 dirham =£17(usually you'd pay about £50 for it in the UK). It's also a great place to buy various types of fabrics, spices, teas etc for a really good price if you haggle. Never ever pay the first price offered; the traders expect & enjoy being haggled with. Start off as low as half the asking price but pay no more than a third of the original price. Unlike some other countries we've visited where market traders will follow you up the street & try to drag you into their shops, the nice thing about Marrakech is that if you don't want to haggle or buy from a trader as long as you are polite in saying 'no', they will leave you alone. The bus tour is guided with free headphones & the bus itself is safe, well maintained & modern with an open top (very much like a London tour bus) & is split in to 2 tours of the inner town & outer town.
The inner town tour of Marrakech (the historic tour) takes you to the above named places as well as other sites/destinations of significance & if you want to stop off along the route, no matter where you stop you'll also be close or within a short walk to a cafe/restaurant where you can pick up a meal, drinks for a very reasonable price. In fact, Marrakech is one of the only holidays we've been on where we actually came back with money.
The outer part of the tour (the Oasis tour) is a nice bus ride taking you out to the palm groves & alongside the Gueliz mountains (not to be mistaken for the atlas mountains which are much bigger & best viewed on the historic tour) but too be honest it was our least favourite of the two tours & there are very few if any, places to eat or drink along the way & although the palm groves are nice, once you've seen one palm tree its safe to say you've seen them all.
The City; Marrakech is very very manic!!!! Be warned!!!! It appears that when it comes to driving it's he who dares wins!!! You'll find that cars share the roads with horses, horse & carts, donkeys, push bikes, motorised scooters, stray cats, stray dogs & very confident pedestrians who are just happy to weave in & out of the very busy traffic. It is certainly an eye opener & in the end you'll find that the best way to cross the roads is just to shut your eyes, pray, make a mad dash & hope for the best! If you don't have high blood pressure you certainly will by the time you get home. If you've got very young children keep them close or in a buggy if you're doing a lot of walking as cars, scooters etc come at you from all angles.
Restaurants to visit: for a taste of authentic Morocco from the Diwane hotel turn left then left again & on the right side of the road you'll find Al Fassia. Excellent food, nice autgentic Moroccan atmos, slightly more expensive than the other restaurants we went to but, well worth the few extra pennies for the experience & food.
Complexe Solaris Restaurant/bar: left out of the hotel & straight across the road, 5 mins walk on the corner on your left. A lovely restaurant with free internet access that do wonderful food & the best teas. Try The Al Menthe (mint tea) Vervaine tea & Jasmine....all tasty.
Elite Restaurant/Cafe; very modern, at the new end of the same road close to the main shops such as La Senza, Mango, etc. They offer delicious milk shakes & deserts & very reasonable in price.
Pasteries: this is an amazing shop!!! It is a few doors down next to the Diwane hotel itself & right opposite the tour bus stop. It looks expensive from the outside but go in & pick up a selection box full of Moroccan pastries, you think its going to cost you the earth but for a full box of these lovely dainty treats we paid £1.25. (Stick that shop in the heart of London & you'd expect to pay £7-8 pound perhaps more). A real bargain.
Overall, for our first visit to Marrakech we both had a wonderful time & I am so glad I chose to go here for my 30th birthday as I shall never forget it & hope one day to return for a milk shake & chicken Tagine.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank no1chocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have just returned from a week over Christmas with Family and Friends at the Diwane Hotel and have to say we had a fantastic time and would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

Positives:-

Clean - Hotel was very clean and cleaned everyday. Maids were very good and attentive
Location - We stayed in Gueliz which is a great area surrounded by Bars, shops and Restaurants and about 30 minutes walk or 15 mins taxi from the Main square Jaama El-Fna.
Hotel Staff - Extremely helpful and friendly and spoke pretty good English. Two of group changed rooms on the first day with absolutely no fuss. Very obliging.
Room - Good size, Clean, with Balcony
Pool Area - Not huge but made most of the space, always very clean
Safe - Hotel had doormen who controlled entry
Gym - Free Gym with new equipment including two pretty good running machines.
Food - Breakfast reasonably good with nice omlettes, good for Veggies. Restaurant had decent food menu, reasonably priced and serving alcohol.
Trips/Excursions - Hotel offers several day trips which were easy to book and very reasonably priced

Negatives:-

Pool - Freezing cold (Although we have been told that no pools in Morrocco are heated?)
Entertainment - If you are looking for evening entertainment then the Diwane has none. For me this was a positive but for some of my family they enjoy evening entertainment so were a little dissapointed
Noise - Rooms at the front get a lot of street noise because the hotel is so centrally located, we relocated two rooms to the back. Walls were thin so could hear people coming back to the rooms late some nights.

Overall I and everyone in the group would heartily recomend the Diwane and also a week in Marrakesh. Weather was fantastic, 21 to 23 degrees everyday (We had one cloudy day, otherwise blue skies although cold at night).

Room Tip: Rooms at Back are quieter, some rooms have double beds but some large rooms have chaise longes and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We (a Belgian couple) stayed at the Diwane hotel for a week, and we miss it already. We were welcomed on our day of arrival with some delicious mint tea, pampered by our room maid with rose petal decorations all over the bedroom and bathroom, and generally treated with courtesy and professionalism by all staff , from the shop attendant to the waiters. The reception staff made a local call for us in Arabic to check why the minibus for our excursion to Essaouira had not shown up, free of charge. They will also advise you on the maximum charge for a taxi, what type of traditional Marrakchi henna hand decorations to get (instead of the fake touristy ones with the flowers) and other local advice. Our room was spacious and decorated with traditional tiles, carpets and moroccan plastering (tadelakt). We gave our room maid some clothes to take to her family, and the next few days she continuously surprised us with novel ways of decorating our room and bathroom with rose petals and elaborately folded bed covers. We had fluffy towels, changed every day, just as the bedsheets were. Choose this hotel if you want to combine the comfort of a hotel with swimming pool and the feel of a traditional ryad in the medina. The hotel lobby and corridors are decorated throughout with traditional morroccan handpainted furniture and carpets. The food was fabulous, with a great variety throughout our stay. Do not come here though, if you can't live without baked beans or pork sausages. They do a fabulous omelette for breakfast and also serve sweet pancakes with honey, prepared on the spot.
We considered the live music during dinner a big plus, although some may find the volume a bit loud. Guests staying in half board can choose whether they want to take lunch or dinner in the hotel. The only downside to the hotel is its location next to an empty plot full of rubbish. The hotel owners have already offered to clean up the area for free, but this was unfortunately refused. They have now officially complained to the city authorities in order to have the plot cleaned up. So this will be sorted out in future, inshallah...

A big thank you to Mrs. Nadia Amouch (Executive Manager) for making our stay at the Diwane such a big success. We don't usually return to the same hotel twice, but this might become an exception!
Also: if you want to support the local economy, choose this Morrocan-owned hotel instead of one of the anonymous international chains in the Palmeraie area, completely cordonned off from local culture.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liesbeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#142 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#130 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#400 of 496 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#116 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#184 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#193 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Property: Diwane Hotel
Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#106 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#182 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing