We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, friendly staff, bit rough around the edges” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
Ranked #164 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good location, friendly staff, bit rough around the edges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during our three day trip to Marrakech in January 2014. The hotel definitely doesn't look like the photos on the website and the rooms were a bit rough around the edges, but overall I can't complain. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the location is good - 30 minute walk into the medina and nice to escape the craziness at the end of the day, good range of food available for breakfast and lovely outdoor area to soak up some sun and relax by the pool. We made use of the hotel spa and had a traditional hamman which is worth doing at the end of a day in the souks and reasonably priced at 195 MAD. We did find that our pillow cases were damp when we first arrived in our room but this was quickly sorted by housekeeping. Our room was a little noisy on the first night, there must have been some loud people in the reception area as it echoed up and we could hear them, but our second night was much quieter and we slept well.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HJT20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    452
    173
    51
    35
See reviews for
190
376
75
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were at Diwane in mid november 2013. Beautiful hotel, the mosaic flooring and morcoccan design were ideal and felt wrapped up in the culture.

The breakfast was good, i love odd foreign foods when i travel and this was certainly provided. There was mounds on offer and felt totally acceptable to go back for seconds and thirds!

Very helpful and friendly reception staff, i got the feeling they like to practice their english with their guests and could chat into the night!

HOWEVER, every night at 3am there was, what sounded like, a extremely angery aggressive man shouting at the top of his lungs in German (i think). This went on, intermittently until about 5am. Thinking this was a drunk guest, my boyfriend decided to confront this strange man or staff/ security to rid this horrible noise of distrupting our slumber. The volume of this man was as if he was stood directly outside our door. Due to those beautifull mosaic tiles, noise echos throughout the building like an amplified concert. My boyfriend emerged from our room to hunt down this individual, freightened for my life and his i stood waiting in my pajamas in the door way like a trembling mouse. He returned with no news and we flopped back into bed.
A few minutes later, the drunk man was back again, yelling and bellowing louder than ever. My boyfriend quickly sprung out of bed and fled down the hall ways and into the lobby to find this German. Again he returned unsucessful. This attemp was repeated a good few times each night.

Totally confused and bewildered we asked reception if any of the other guests had complained of this or if staff/ night security had also heard him. Nothing had been reported and no one had heard a thing. We went about our last day as usual and once we left the hotel we asked again, they said one couple had come forward and also mentioned this angry german man whom they couldnt find either.

To this day, we are utterly confused by this experience. Did it happen? Was it a ghost? Was it someone sleep shouting/ walking? If any one who was staying there during this time knows anything about this, please put us out of our misery and let us know we're not loosing it.

Very bizarre, but memorable experience at Diwane.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, UK
Level Contributor
283 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

As we were sold it and as displayed on its exterior wall. It may be by Moroccan standards but not British.
3 night stay.
The location is in the New City with building work all around it, although to be fair the noise from that was not a problem, its just a mess. OK so the hotel cant help development around it but what is disappointing is the accumulation of general rubbish that is in the derelict sites, not pleasant.
Worse is the noise from the traffic and the police blowing their whistles constantly until well into the late hours. Also from inconsiderate guests making far too much noise in the reception area. I am all for having a good time but their lack of thought for other guests was disappointing and moreover that a member of staff didn't feel it necessary to quiet them down, it was way past 2.30am on one night. We were on the 5th floor and not even directly over the area (reception has open atrium to upper floors)
The room is adequately equipped, clean and a good size. No coffee/tea facilities. Key for safe is rented 20Dh per day. Towels are small. Slow wifi in reception only.
Room and restaurant were cold, most people in sweaters or even coats, and we had to use air con to warm up our room.
Food was average to good and more varied than expected from other reviews. Not bad for veggies but not as good as I thought it may be for area. The service for lunch was ok. Dinner is buffet for food, waiter for drinks. The waiter service here was very good - a little tip goes a long way!
The best thing about the hotel was its location for the tourist bus ie almost outside. That said I would not recommend this service. See separate review. We got a taxi at one point from hotel to Bahia Palace (VG) costing 30Dh, it dropped us right outside the gate, much better value, and we could have got a lot of taxis for the cost of the bus.
All in all hotel was cheap but for a reason, if you are thinking of going to Marrakech I would suggest staying within Medina, where you will be able to walk to pretty much everything you want to see.
2 days plenty
Personally didn't enjoy trip and would not recommend or go again.
Beware 'helpful' locals offering directions - even if you don't ask. On two occasions were told our destination was closed and to go somewhere else. The first time we believed him - why shouldn't we, the next we ignored advise and found place open as advertised.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here in January 2014 for my 60th Birthday we looked at a lot of reviews before settling on this hotel well we chose well its in a central location the red tourist bus stops outside there are lots of cafes and restaurants to eat getting alcoholic drinks is a bit more difficult but the hotel does have that option the room was basic but spacious and very clean this was cleaned every day I can honestly say all the staff were very friendly and very helpful breakfast was very good with a good choice there is a nice pool with seats (its not heated) outside its chaos the driving is something else but when you get used to it cool the Medina is about an hours slow walk this is a must and a stop at one of the cafes overlooking is just great we walked to the Jardin Marjorelle which is about 30 minutes away this is a beautiful cool peaceful garden that we spent a good few hours looking around sitting listening to the birds I can recommend this there were so many places to visit and we found that the people were all friendly ( you have to take the ones trying to sell you stuff with a pinch of salt ) but say no with a smile and they leave you alone the visit and the hotel did exceed our expectations

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stoksies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Just returned from 5 day voucher deal. Hotel was very good in light of what we paid. Comfortable if basic room which was cleaned daily with towels and toiletries replaced as required. Shame only 2 x English speaking channels on tv, but then who goes away to sit in front of telly!
We found the food started to get a bit samey towards end of stay. However the the half board option we had taken was flexible as you could choose between a 3 course lunch or evening buffet which was nice.
There is still a large building being constructed next door, but noise wasn't excessive.
If you just want to lay in the sun and chill it does get crowded as there is not much space around the pool and the hotel and high walls do limit the hours of sunshine.
With regards to location the hotel is in what they call the new city, which is fairly cosmopolitan, with prices of most things as you would imagine similar to uk. If you enjoy a beer beware, about £3- to £4- for a small bottle of lager!!!
The main attraction, is the old city with its Medina and Souks. The main part of which, the square I found very disappointing, fairly new brick paving and the usual assortment of entertainers/fraudsters all trying to part you from your money. Especially didn't like the chained monkeys. If you don't like busy markets, don't go. You will be hassled and without a guide you will get lost.
In summary an ideal cheaper hotel for a short stay. You don't need longer than a few days to see all Marrakesh has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsalter90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Inexpensive hotel which delivers a lot of value for money. It is a little faded in places, but very clean. The location is a little way out of town, but the No. 1 bus is right outside the door, and very cheap. The room was of a good size, had aircon, tv and a fridge, and a powerful shower. The towels were a letdown, being small, thin and rough, and the pillows were way too hard for my taste, and made sleep difficult.

Breakfast was more than adequate, with a wide variety of options, although meat-eaters would be disappointed in that there was only one offering of a heavily processed sliced sausage. The freshly-cooked crepes were great. We also had five dinners and one lunch, and were more than satisfied - there was a great choice at the buffet each day, with a fish, chicken and beef course available.

The outside seating are was pleasant, but you couldn't just sit there - you had to buy a drink or food otherwise you got moved on.

The lounge was very comfortable, with free wi-fi which worked most of the time, but not all.

There is a man at the doorway who regularly searches bags as guests return, in case they bring food or drink back, as of course this will lessen the hotel profits. He tried to take a bottle of wine from me, but relented when I said it was a gift for my son back home. I hate this policy - it should be no business of the hotel what paying guests eat or drink in the privacy of their rooms. If you do take stuff in, don't use supermarket bags.

It was a very good five nights, and I would return there if I visit Marrakech again.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking pool seems best option here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mercuryhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is in a region where you can do without having to rent a car. Many places within walking distance and a taxi to the Medina will cost peanuts. The hotel has a nice typical look, bedrooms are ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vhferrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#153 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#120 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#379 of 508 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#92 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
3.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#173 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#121 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Property: Diwane Hotel
Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#93 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#110 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#183 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing