We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable 50th Birthday Weekend!!!”
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
Ranked #146 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 16 February 2014

14 Ladies arriving in Marrakesh!! I guess we should have rang ahead:) Awaiting our carriages at the airport, we were bundled into the local Mercedes taxis, 6 squashed into a standard saloon "get in your in Morroco now" had us howling with laughter! the traffic system is a fantabulous fairground of donkeys carts, carriages and zig zag traffic... traffic controller standing amidst the mayem, pointing/signalling millitary style.

On arriving at the Diwane, we were pleasantly surprised, having read some of the comments about the "water police and upleasant staff", we found them to be everything but!! Every need was attended to with such politeness and eagerness to please. The hotel oozed Morrocon style, oppulant chandeliers adorned the lobby, beautiful moziac tiles and ambience.

Our first evening we ate at the hotel, our waiter.... Fawlty Towers..... a hat for each occasion popped up everywhere.... we were immediately made so welcome!! Breakfast was first class, cereal, fruit, yogurts, a selection of breads, pastries, scrambled eggs..... our favourites pancakes/crepes.... the lady would make each morning, drizzled with honey and just beautiful with the Morrocan oranges; which I have yet to taste anything like!

Day two; a visit to the Souks, a word to the wise, be sure the taxi drops you off at the Medina, unlike us halfwits, ending up in the Kasbah.... rogues at every corner ready to steer us up every undesirable alley ..... to be told the Souks were closed and they would show us the best places to shop..... The London Housewives not to be outwitted!!!! Eventually finding our way to the Medina, sat overlooking the square on a terraced restaurant, soaking up the atmosphere, snake charming music, acrobats.... and so on with the bartering..... what a hoot..... so infectious, we bagged fantastic bargains and were buzzed by the whole experience!!!

That evening we dined at the Montecristo, were blown away by the sheer style and eloquance, food delicious, entertainment.... bellydancers amazing, later we were shown to the Senatra music lounge, a live band was playing.... a female artist giving Adelle and Alesha Keys a run for her money.... A fantastic night.

The following day the hotel arranged an excursion to Palmera..... such an experience, a minibus took us to Palmera where we were greeted by Victoria, Omar, Zsa Zsa, Chartlotte, Caroline and Lilata...... the Camels:) Trekking through the desert, passing a small village, little children waving from their homes, so heartwarming, very humbling. We were given refreshments half an hour into our trek at a lovely Morrocan home; mint tea, and appetisers.... jaunting along our experience was unforgettable, the camels such beautiful gentle animals and our tour guide couldn't do enough for us.

On returning to our hotel we enjoyed a very welcome full body massage in the beautifully equipped spa..... We couldn't have asked for more....

I would highly recommend the hotel and location....

Caroline

Room Tip: We had a balcony room, very comfortable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful, and the staff were so warm and friendly. I came for my five year old birthday and they treated her like a princess. The food at the restaurant was amazing 5* and such a great variety. The spa were very professional great service only downside was pool was too cold but I'll be back

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Mrsmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Nice hotel in great location not quite 4 star by UK standards more like 3 stars, but we found to be a great base for exploring the city would recommend. Had my birthday and they provided nice bowl of fruit and special touches to the room on the day that was nice surprise.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I just returned from Marrakech for a birthday break and stayed at the Diwane Hotel in room 408. It was part of a wowcher deal and I was extremely impressed. It looked gorgeous from the outside and the lobby, and the rooms were just as nice ,especially for the price paid.

The staff are extremely friendly especially Zoubida who is the check in girl (looks a bit like Kim Kardashian) was an absolute sweetheart. As it was my birthday I asked and got a room upgrade at no extra cost and even the maid put her creative juices to work to make our room and bathroom look extra lovely by scattering rose petals and towel swans which was nice to see my birthday being acknowledged. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The only downside I would say is there is no wifi in the room you need to go down to the hotel lobby to use it.

There was an excellent breakfast buffet of hot and cold food in the morning which had a very wide rage - complete with pancake chef!

The pool looked very clean, a bit smaller than it appears in the images but still a good size with nice surrounding areas.

The location is very good its in the newer part of Marrakech, only 20 min walk to the el Fna Sq and old town. Lots of shops and restaurants close by.

All in all I would stay here again no question!

Well done Diwane!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterjmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

First time to Marrakech and didn't know what to expect….. Lovely place, very pleasant, friendly hotel staff. The roads a laugh a minute with literally no lanes or rules it appears. The hotel was super. Clean, tidy, very spacious. The room again was spacious, over looking the pool and courtyard. The breakfasts were a buffet style with cereal, bread, cheeses, bit of cooked food and tea/coffee and juices. Lunch and dinner are also available everyday. There are snacks etc available all day.
Very centrally located as the red open top bus tours start/stop1 is right outside. Walking distance to pretty much everything though.
There is however a lot of construction going on all over the city. This wasn't too much of a burden but expect to be woken up at sun rise :-). Overall a clean, tidy and friendly hotel. Bon Appetite

Room Tip: A room over looking the pool as the sun will be on the room all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKiwi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed in 512 (top floor overlooking courtyard/pool/building site/Atlas mountains. 3/2/14 - 6/2/14.
Wife & I needed a quick cheap break to the sun. She researched it & booked it so if it wasn't good then I could blame her. Having read some of the reviews on here I was a tad nervous but as we were only there for 2 days 3 nights I thought it wouldn't matter if it was rubbish as we'd be home before we knew it.
This is what we found: staff friendly & helpful. The hotel itself was ultra clean and has that Moroccan feel to it. If you're expecting 5* then look elsewhere but if you want somewhere that's clean with friendly staff & plentiful food, located right next to the major bus routes then this one will do you just fine.
The food is traditional so there's no attempts at emulating English food (McDonald's & Pizza Hut not too far away if you can't do without) it's buffet style and a bit repetitive so if you are there for more than a few days then plan to eat out every now and than.
The room was large tiled and had an en-suite which included a bath/shower sink toilet & bidet. Large balcony with table & chairs overlooking pool area.
There is a flat screen plasma (2 English speaking channels - BBC News & Films on Channel 2)
There is a small fridge for keeping you bottle of water/booze in. If you want hot drinks in your room than bring a travel kettle & some tea/coffee as this is not provided.
If you are discreet then you won't have any problems bringing alcohol/drinks/snacks into the hotel - just don't sit in reception munching and drinking and expect to be ignored.
There's is a heat exchanging air conditioner which is simple to use - set the temp you want & voila that's the temp you get.
The room can suffer from road & local building noise but it's not a major problem if you do enough walking to tire you out!!!
The maids clean the room every day and change bed linen & towels too.
On the whole a nice clean hotel which is well located & is a 3* at a push but definitely not a five. Remember you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I went as a part of a groupon deal and the negative reviews surprised me and I wound up expecting the worst. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised and had a good stay. Yes, it is not quite 4 star and is more a 3.5 star but the at front desk and the door are helpful, the rooms are clean and there is a decent choice for breakfast. The decor is not as beautiful as some of the 5 star hotels in the area but it is value for money and the location is great as even though it is in Gulez, which is the posh part of the city, the old town and the souks are a mere twenty minute walk and the majorelle gardens are fifteen minutes away by foot. One thing though which Groupon does not specify - there is a tax of 33 dirhams to pay to the hotel for the stay but it is not much in pounds and was fine by us. There is a bit of noise with the footsteps on the floor but that is not the end of the world and I slept just fine.

Room Tip: choose a room by the pool facing the courtyard inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnureetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#129 of 501 in Marrakech
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#136 of 501 in Marrakech
531 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#383 of 501 in Marrakech
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#450 of 501 in Marrakech
703 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#211 of 501 in Marrakech
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#181 of 501 in Marrakech
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#180 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £32 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing