We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 fabulous days in Marrakech”
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
Ranked #150 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 fabulous days in Marrakech”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We relied a lot on the tripadvisor reviews - very helpful & true. A great stay: good location, clean & comfortable rooms, lovely pool (but too cold to swim!), al fresco lunch & breakfasts. We did not have dinner. Enjoy the Hammam so much we came back for more. Really pleasant staff and no complaints. Maybe it is a Marrakech thing but there were little birds flying around the (huge) lobby and restaurant. Overall good value and we would come back.

Room Tip: We had 2 good sized rooms overlooking the street but not noisy. Suspect those at the back had a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    468
    174
    53
    35
See reviews for
200
386
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have just spent a week in Diwane and had no complaints at all. The room was well appointed, spotlessly clean with a great balcony overlooking the pool. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food uninspiring, but as they have to please a wide audience, again, you cannot complain. We took advantage of the spa - with a hamam and massage - again, we were well looked after. If I were to return to Marrakech I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed fairly equal - the internet worked in ours and we were on the fifth floor -
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haelwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed at Diwana Hotel in Marrakech for a week and enjoyed the friendly staff, the quiet pool – although ii was rather cold in February – and the special Moroccan atmosphere. The rooms were nice and clean, but a little worn out, the breakfast buffet big and tasty. The standard was though all together a good 3 star hotel. Hotel Diwana is located in Gueliz which is in the modern and French part of the city and more than 3 kilometers from the Jemaa El Fna. We didn’t mind walking the distance but it would have been nice if the hotels own description had been more accurate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nis Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Internet only available in the lobby, with poor connection and speed. Not allowed to bring food or drinks into the lobby for some strange reason.

ATM in the lobby, the rooms are OK size and clean. The cleaning is impeccable. The breakfast is good, with fresh crepes, Moroccan mint tea as well as fresh orange juice, good choice of breads and french pastry.

The location is good, with cheap bus no. 1 and 16 to Jama el Fana' and bus no. 19 to and from the airport. The bus station to Essoira is also nearby. Both KFC and McDonalds are walking distance away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Amin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogø by Danmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Beautiful , clean , central situated hotel with super food and top service . A place were you really Can relax all your senses and if you like to , walk out into the street and feel the citylife of Marrakesh. In sunny days enjoy the garden and pool and if it rains sit in the beautiful foaje or in the restaurant and enjoy a good meal. Walking distance to everything .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewa63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Big rooms, a bit noisy but slept well every night. Location about 25 minute walk to the Medina but a pleasant walk with shops and restaurants on the way. Only criticism is the rooms can be quite dark, and the double bed was just two beds put together. Nice breakfast, the staff were always friendly and the maids turned down the rooms nicely (even making shapes with the towels!).

Well worth a visit to the spa. I had a Hammam and Massage with 20% off special. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zanrafel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

14 Ladies arriving in Marrakesh!! I guess we should have rang ahead:) Awaiting our carriages at the airport, we were bundled into the local Mercedes taxis, 6 squashed into a standard saloon "get in your in Morroco now" had us howling with laughter! the traffic system is a fantabulous fairground of donkeys carts, carriages and zig zag traffic... traffic controller standing amidst the mayem, pointing/signalling millitary style.

On arriving at the Diwane, we were pleasantly surprised, having read some of the comments about the "water police and upleasant staff", we found them to be everything but!! Every need was attended to with such politeness and eagerness to please. The hotel oozed Morrocon style, oppulant chandeliers adorned the lobby, beautiful moziac tiles and ambience.

Our first evening we ate at the hotel, our waiter.... Fawlty Towers..... a hat for each occasion popped up everywhere.... we were immediately made so welcome!! Breakfast was first class, cereal, fruit, yogurts, a selection of breads, pastries, scrambled eggs..... our favourites pancakes/crepes.... the lady would make each morning, drizzled with honey and just beautiful with the Morrocan oranges; which I have yet to taste anything like!

Day two; a visit to the Souks, a word to the wise, be sure the taxi drops you off at the Medina, unlike us halfwits, ending up in the Kasbah.... rogues at every corner ready to steer us up every undesirable alley ..... to be told the Souks were closed and they would show us the best places to shop..... The London Housewives not to be outwitted!!!! Eventually finding our way to the Medina, sat overlooking the square on a terraced restaurant, soaking up the atmosphere, snake charming music, acrobats.... and so on with the bartering..... what a hoot..... so infectious, we bagged fantastic bargains and were buzzed by the whole experience!!!

That evening we dined at the Montecristo, were blown away by the sheer style and eloquance, food delicious, entertainment.... bellydancers amazing, later we were shown to the Senatra music lounge, a live band was playing.... a female artist giving Adelle and Alesha Keys a run for her money.... A fantastic night.

The following day the hotel arranged an excursion to Palmera..... such an experience, a minibus took us to Palmera where we were greeted by Victoria, Omar, Zsa Zsa, Chartlotte, Caroline and Lilata...... the Camels:) Trekking through the desert, passing a small village, little children waving from their homes, so heartwarming, very humbling. We were given refreshments half an hour into our trek at a lovely Morrocan home; mint tea, and appetisers.... jaunting along our experience was unforgettable, the camels such beautiful gentle animals and our tour guide couldn't do enough for us.

On returning to our hotel we enjoyed a very welcome full body massage in the beautifully equipped spa..... We couldn't have asked for more....

I would highly recommend the hotel and location....

Caroline

Room Tip: We had a balcony room, very comfortable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#142 of 499 in Marrakech
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#147 of 499 in Marrakech
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#177 of 499 in Marrakech
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#417 of 499 in Marrakech
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#217 of 499 in Marrakech
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fashion
Hotel Fashion
#184 of 499 in Marrakech
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Property: Diwane Hotel
Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#106 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#181 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing