We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful setting in what was, for the most part, a beautiful, peaceful place.”
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zemora
Ranked #65 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Eastcourt
2 reviews
“A wonderful setting in what was, for the most part, a beautiful, peaceful place.”
Reviewed 4 May 2008

It's a wonderful setting in what, throughout the day, is a really peaceful place. But at night, with the windows open, barking dogs, and on one night non-stop music, kept us awake.

We were in the Perla suite with its own roof terrace. It was a good room but the furnishings and curtains were dated and the lighting - just appalling! It was impossible to read in the room at night and impossible for my wife to see in the bathroom mirror, again because of inadequate lighting.

We had the exclusive use of a very well equipped roof terrace with views over the grounds - but again, the owners had clearly not considered that guests might like to sit there after dark - but there were just two very ineffective wall lights. We had excellent lunches but like others we met,were very disappointed with the unimaginative offerings at night - so we ate elsewhere.

The staff were wonderful and could not do enough to help. But, for the money charged, the owners could - and should - do better.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
171
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

Dar Zemora

We have just returned from this house in the palmerie marrakech, It is a piece of heaven. We stayed in the Zahara suite and it was wonderful just the perfect location. The service is of the highest standard with no exeptions , the food wonderful this was our second visit, look forward to the next .

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UkSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

Wonderful, peaceful, immaculately decorated boutique hotel outside the city centre. We stayed in the pavilion, which was excellent value for money and extremely luxurious. After one small hitch with our airport pick-up everything else went really well with our stay and the staff were very gracious. Good food in an exquisite dining space. A great place to stay if you don't want to immerse yourself in the chaos of the medina, but still possible to 'commute' in by taxi when you want to.

  • Liked — decor and service
  • Disliked — location not great for medina
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pavaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

If you're looking for tranquility, sublime surroundings and staff which, by the time you leave you could almost count as your best friends - then spend a few nights at Dar Zamora.

I was incredibly fortunate to have the Dar Zamora to myself for 4 days - treated like an absolute princess I had the time of my life. I class one of my favourite hobbies as visiting boutique hotels around the world and Tatler and Conde Nast have it spot on - this place is simply devine - close enough to shop in the Medina and trendy Sidi Ghamm yet far enough to remove the stresses and strains of what may be on your shoulders when you arrive.

I can't wait to go back - hopefully the Hammam will be finished by then - and if it's anything like the rest of the house I'll be booking that rather than a room!!!!

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank .SOArewethereyet_?!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London W.8.
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2007

We've been back from Dar Zemora for 3 weeks and have been asked countless times how our Christmas in Marrakech went - it was the greatest fun and we had the happiest of times. A friend had recommended Dar Zemora in glowing terms but being a bit of a cynic I thought a quick check of the Tripadvisor site would be a wise move - some of the reports were less than brilliant but others were euphoric and I phoned Lindsay, the owner, for some reassurance that all would be well since we had decided to take the entire family for a week and would have the place to ourselves. I wanted it to be perfect.

For us, and it seems many of the previous guests, the most memorable part of our time staying there was the extraordinarily high quality of the service. From the wonderful young man who kept all the fires burning all the time, to the charming girls who kept the place gleaming and rose-filled, our delightful baby-sitter, Rachida, the chef (I'm salivating at the thought of her impeccable meals), to Jamal, Youssef and Marwan (sp?), to the discreet and efficient attentions of the Belgian manager, Valerie, they could not have been more attentive. I have to mention that during our stay we did experience a bit of a drama with the heating system which totally failed for a short time, but it was dealt with very elegantly. Having had the place to ourselves, I can say that the Perla suite is great - the terrace is enormous and very private. The other rooms are all lovely and the cottage, which we didn't use, looked extremely comfortable. I think that we all craved a little more light at night - it is very atmospheric and the candles are lit with great ceremony each evening but it would be quite nice to be able to read in more places - this is simply nit picking. We ate in alot and Rachida was magnificent - by far the best food that we had during our time in Marrakech - infinitely better than places like Le Tobsil, which was very disappointing. The meal on our first night was ordinary but I'm fairly sure that it was Rachida's night off.

Valerie organised some musicians and dancers for Christmas night who were very entertaining. Taxis to drive us wherever and whenever we wanted, turned up unfailingly within 20 minutes - nothing was too much bother. Rumour has it that Lindsay and her husband may be opening a similar place in Bali - we all look forward to having a family Christmas there at some point but will they ever be able to match the quality of the team at Dar Zemora?

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Shellfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

Leaving the maelstrom of the Medina behind and arriving at Dar Zemora's beautiful garden, full of birdsong, and being welcomed by Jamal was like entering a different world. The house has been exquisetly designed (just five guest rooms) and, having read previous Trip Advisor reviews, we were relieved to find La Perla suite perfect (curtains hanging just so, lovely silk cushions on the sofa, crisp cotton sheets on the bed, and a blind on the loo window, though as it was so very private we would happily have lived without this).
I had raised my concerns about Trip Advisor feed back with Dar Zemora's owner, Lindsay, before leaving and she had professionally addressed each one.
My husband and I have travelled extensively from Cape Town to Shanghai and know what we like and how we want to be served. I can honestly say that Dar Zemora is one of the loveliest places we have ever visited - and the service from Jamal, Youssef and their team is exceptional, we would go as far as to say we have never been so remarkably taken care of. The staff are charming, courteous and seem to read your mind so they know what you would like before you do.
We had total privacy on the massive balconly which goes with La Perla suite and enjoyed leisurely breakfasts together totally undistrubed apart from the birds. In fact, such was the peace and tranquility of Dar Zemora that we had little desire to leave it (though we did, to visit the Atlas mountains and the Majorella garden, which is a gem).
Yes, the dogs bark at night but remember you are in North Africa!
This was nothing compared to coming back to a roaring log fire in our room (as well as throughout the house) and petals strewn over the bed each night. There are helpful maps by the front door to show to lost taxi drivers, but we never needed one.
Highly recommended if you want peace and restoration for the soul. If you want the hustle and bustle of the Medina (a short 15 minutes drive away) stay in a Riad there (as we did) but it will be incomparable to Dar Zemora. Go and experience it for yourself, we can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — The peaceful atmosphere and beautiful decoration
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Travel with an open mind, look for out for the best in people and places, then be suprised!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HampshireTravelHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
942 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#75 of 499 in Marrakech
251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#49 of 499 in Marrakech
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
#189 of 499 in Marrakech
147 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#47 of 499 in Marrakech
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#290 of 499 in Marrakech
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Property: Dar Zemora
Address: Rue el Aandalib, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing