We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Zemora
Ranked #68 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another wonderful visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I love this small luxury hotel. I came with my daughter in May and decided that my husband had to experience Dar Zemora for himself and it did not disappoint! It is a wonderful place to chill and relax and nothing is too much bother for the staff. Everything is done with a smile and willingness to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The weather was gorgeous, food delicious and we can't thank everyone enough. We will be back next year.
Sally and Tim

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
165
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Difficult to find the words to describe just what a stunning place Dar Zemora really is, but here's some; beautiful, serene, magical, perfect to name but a few!
Myself and my partner stayed for 5 nights and I already want to return.
There are no faults to be found at Dar Zemora, it really is the most wonderful place I've ever had the pleasure to visit.
The staff are unrelentingly attentive and we were treated like a King and Queen!
The food is magnificent, every meal was fresh and utterly delicious.
The room was sublime, authentic and we were left wanting for nothing.
I could go on and on (as I already have to everyone that will listen) but I do not want to ruin the surprise, if you're here because you're considering booking a stay at Dar Zemora, then just do it, we did and it was the best choice we've ever made!
See you next year ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMichael1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

As a repeat visitor to Dar Zemora who has just returned from his latest visit, I read the preceding review with dismay. I am replying because I don't recognise the description and think it unfair.

We can at least agree that the hotel is beautiful. For my part, I have always thought that it would make an idyllic honeymoon destination and am sorry that it disappointed (other couples have seemed more than happy). I think that the pricing of its rooms is in line with other choices at this end of the market.

Whether to stay in a riad in the Medina or in the Palmeraie is a matter of choice. I have done both and much prefer the peace and tranquility of DZ with its easy access to the centre for sightseeing etc, to being in amongst the noise and bustle of the centre 24/7. Easy access involves an efficient (and reasonable) fixed price car service to take you in and collect again in response to a telephone call when you are ready.

Food is a matter of taste; I haven't seen any other guests queuing up to put their takeaways in the fridge! On the contrary, the tasting menu is highly recommended - try the quail with bechamel sauce. As to the hotel not commenting on the reviewer bringing in his own food, it may be that he misinterpreted the endless efforts of all the staff at DZ to meet the needs of the guests. My experience is that nothing is too much trouble.

The review is out of line with the overwhelming number of positive reviews of DZ and no-one should be influienced by it.

Room Tip: Perla Suite for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We seem to have become a bit addicted to the sanctuary that is Dar Zemora! I've never returned for a fifth visit to anywhere else. Writing this review on our leaving day, sitting in dappled shade on the terrace of the Zahara suite, where Amina has just brought wonderful coffee after another delicious breakfast. We met some people here we met before..I think this is their ninth visit! I have a confession to make, which is that we don't really come for the delights of Marrakech (many though they are), we come for the special atmosphere of Dar Zemora, and the sun, to rest and recharge. I gather from Youseff (and its plain to see in the guest book) that more and more guests are returnees. From what I can see, the age of couples ranges from early thirties to sixties. I brought my twenty six year old daughter earlier this year, and she loved it, still describing it as "the highlight" of her year. One of the relaxing things is that staff are discreet, and not always hopping about checking if you need anything. Sure, you may occasionally have to go and find someone if you want an extra mint tea...but it means you are left in peace to relax. The staff are all very good, and nothing too much trouble. The food, as always, delicious. We are both "foodies', so really appreciate Jamillas cooking. No doubt there will be a sixth visit....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oysterwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We came here on the final stop of our honeymoon in March 2013 and all I can say to others is: don't do it!
There is no question that hotel is not beautiful - but you'd expect nothing less for the price: £295 for a suite and £195 for a double. Remember: this is Morocco and sterling goes a long way!
Despite the claim on its website, the hotel is not "a short step away from...Marrakech’s Medina". On the contrary, the hotel is hidden deep in the Palmeraie and you need a not unsubstantial taxi ride to get both there and away.
While this could lend a wonderful air of privacy and exclusivity, the problem comes with the *appalling food* served here, starting at breakfast with the stale pasteries, the cheap, sugary yoghurts, the low-quality, cardboard breads. The fact that the food was so inedible made the measly portions a blessing.
We had a (very expensive) tasting menu dinner on our first night and honestly, I felt sick halfway through and couldn't finish it. There was - quite literally - nothing that wasn't beige, soggy and entirely bland. Not a vegetable to be seen. It was like student cooking at its very, very worse. I was still feeling icky the next day.
We were here for three or four days and ended up getting a taxi to take us to the nearest supermarket and stacking up on food for breakfast and dinners. We were so frustrated with the hotel that we were completely unembarrassed to ask them to keep our food in the fridge and asking them for it at every mealtime. The fact that they never commented this weird state of affairs suggested they were either used to people doing likewise - or didn't want to know that their chef was substandard. (Which explains how the chef gets away with being quite so appalling!)
It wouldn't have mattered so much had we not been paying a king's ransom for our stay - and if we'd been able escape to nearby restaurants As it was, however, the exclusive situation of the hotel left us feeling trapped.
Please don't make the same mistake as we did and stay here. Morocco is overflowing with wonderful hotels that don't rip you off when it comes to the all-important details ....like food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidnightMoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay K, Owner at Dar Zemora, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
The Palmeraie is a location of choice for visitors to Marrakech. Dar Zemora is one of the closest and more easily accessible hotels to the Medina of those located within the Palmeraie.
Our food is highly commended as can be seen by other reviews as to quality and cost both before and subsequent to this reviewers 2 night stay, 6 months ago.
The hotel has no recollection of any request being made to store food in the hotel's fridges, let alone serving it to a staying guest, which would not have been done without detailed discussion between the Management and the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was our second stay at DZ and it was good as the first. DZ really has a charm about it, especially if you want peace, tranquillity and put a premium on not feeling like you are in a hotel but a house / villa that happens to have guests. Having previously stayed in the Zahara Suite we tried the Pavilion Suite, which has its own pool and 2 bedrooms, of which we only used one. We are glad we made the switch - the hotel was virtually empty ( totally other than us for 2 days and then just 2 other couples) but the privacy in the Pavilion is excellent. The bedroom was good, with a v good bed & the sitting room v good as well, not that we used it that much. Staff v good and helpful. Their food was as good at the restaurants we tried and we have been to Marrakesh 6 times before. We wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedmeisterGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My wife and I chose Dar Zemora to stay for a short break in Marrakech after extensive research on Trip Advisor. We were looking for a lovely, charming boutique hotel where we would be made to feel valued. We didn’t want to stay in the Medina as we felt that after a day’s sightseeing, it would be nice to relax and unwind a short journey from the hubbub and bustle. As it turned out, we loved the sights, sounds and smells of the main square and the souks, adored visiting the Palace and other sights recommended by the wonderful manager, Youssef, but as we expected, were glad to get back to the peace and tranquility of the hotel for the evenings.

We enjoyed the dinners very much – the mix of International cuisine on two nights a week and Moroccan tajines served on five nights meant we could really enjoy high quality food, whether it was a reminder of home, or a sampling of what the locals eat. We particularly enjoyed the Moroccan evenings, and must throw in a special word for the chef, who not only cooks beautiful Moroccan cuisine, but makes a crème brulee style dessert to die for. The chef also accommodated my wife’s rather picky eating habits and omitted foods she does not eat. We did eat out a couple of nights, but found that the food served at Dar Zemora to be outstanding in comparison.

Our research told us that the staff would be attentive and caring, and agree they were both. No request was too much trouble – Youssef even went out on our behalf to buy a particular type of cooking oil that my wife wanted to try at home but was unable to find in the souks (more likely, did not know how to ask for it). Although there was a large family party staying in 3 rooms whilst we were there, we did not feel that we were neglected at any stage. The staff were warm, friendly and welcoming – but not intrusive. Our room (we stayed in the Perla suite) is absolutely lovely with a charming indoor lounge and a large outdoor lounge terrace where we ate our breakfasts.

It was a very enjoyable stay, and I would not hesitate to recommend it to others who would like to experience the joys of Marrakech, with a little luxury thrown in.

Room Tip: We chose one of the two suites, but from what we could see, all the rooms look lovely and are beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#49 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#89 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#14 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#77 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#47 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#278 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Property: Dar Zemora
Address: Rue el Aandalib, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing