We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing party at Dar Zemora in July 2011”
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Zemora
Ranked #76 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed as a group of 18 and took over the hotel exclusively.

Lindsay and her local team helped plan dinners, drinks etc in advance of our arrival. We had a particularly complicated arrival schedule as people were flying in and out from different countries and on different flights - the staff at Dar Zemora handled everything immaculately.

The service was of a high standard and being such a small hotel the service is personal.

All the rooms are charming and I especially enjoyed staying in the ground floor suite which had its own outside terrace overlooking the (lush) gardens.

Afternoon tea and the delicious light lunches were very enjoyable.

Thank you for a special stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ngak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

This was our second trip to Dar Zemora in 2013.
We loved it.The ervice is always delightful. The chef and her team are wonderful and the food is always wonderful.
It a beautiful setting, tranquil and very relaxing.
Hotel manager Youseff and his staff are very kind and attentive at all times. The layout of the gardens is superb.
It feels like home.Very special people in a very special place.
We already booked our 2014 stays.
Thanks Dar Zemora , for making a vacation in Marrakech a very happy thought.

Room Tip: all rooms are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank britta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

On our fourth trip this year to Dar Zemora we are treated like family members by Youseff and his wonderful staff. Nothing is too much and the service is spectacular. We eat in each day this time and the food was to its usual high standard, with great choice of breads to accompany breakfast. Lunch is two lovely courses and coffee. Dinner varied between 3 & 4 courses and not having a menu is excellent as the only thing left to decide on is the wine to accompany the meal. The open fired provide a lovely warmth, topped off with a steaming hot shower or bath. We will be back next year.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank family-and-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Dar Zemora is a lovingly and sensitively converted private villa, set in a quiet exclusive residential area a short taxi ride from Marrakech. Every angle a magazine photo shoot, it is quite beautiful and with just enough of a touch to keep things looking great but not too stylised. Beautiful gardens. We took the Perla suite which has a vast private terrace. We visited in November with a steady mid to high 70 degree temperature,no need to leave the suite for the pool, (slightly too cool, but would have been nice to swim for exercise) as there was a gentle breeze and not a cloud in the sky.

There are just a few rooms and suites, so you quickly become familiar with the people who look after you, and who want only to please, and each and every one delightful. The quality of the room was excellent, well appointed, beautiful linens, and with an earthy, homely feel. A log fire (thanks Youssef) and candles (upon request) were lovely.

In all the hotel is a great retreat, meticulously run, and with a very personal touch.

The city is fine, but for eating research is needed, Mai Thai, (quiet but good,) Bo & Zin (very cool, fab music, great for a long night out, and dressing up) are great, and for best informal Italian go to Casanova. The latter by far the least expensive but probably the most enjoyable meal we had.The Sky Bar above the Renaissance Hotel is great, open air seven floors up, great start to an evening and fabulous canapé. The traditional restaurants we found did not give what we had hoped, maybe in the wrong places. I hoped for more Arabesque, alas. Sure someone will help me here!

We spent a day with a Berber guide, in and around the Atlas mountains, a short drive takes you to another place altogether. For us it was important to do this.

In all, a good trip, Dar Zemora is well placed to stay out of the bustle of the city and relax, while being within easy reach by taxi of other things.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessa672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I have lost count as to how many times my husband and I have stayed at Dar Zemora! It keeps drawing us back there time and time again! The last visit was in October where we celebrated my mother's 70th and we couldn't have wished for a more special place to stay.

Dar Zemora is set in three acres of beautiful gardens filled with citrus trees, palms and bougainvillea. The staff are very warm and professional leaving you to enjoy the surroundings but always close by to assist if need be.

We have been fortunate enough to have stayed in all the rooms and my favourite is the Zahara suite with a private garden but even the standard rooms are still very beautifully designed with high ceilings, exotic rugs and stone fireplaces which are lit for you during their winter months.

As many reviewers have said, it takes you a while to summon up the energy to leave Dar Zemora to visit the souks etc, by which time you find yourself cancelling your taxi, staying for the wonderful lunches, chilling by their tranquil pool and waiting for the next phase...afternoon tea with freshly baked cakes!

We have also booked for xmas overlapping with my brother in law and his wife. You could say we really LOVE the place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Repton46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have stayed at Dar Zemora many times. My favourite times are when the winds blow cold in Northern Europe but the sun still shines warm in North Africa.
What pleases is the reliability of the whole experience. Leave the shivers of the UK and the stresses and strains of business - take the plane and you just know that the taxi man will be there to take you to the beautiful haven that is Dar Zemora.
Now even the music that suffuses the hotel is in keeping with the lush location. It's real Morocco but with no worries at all. Sensual and wonderful.

Room Tip: The Perla suite is the one to go for - but I'm probably already there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay K, Owner at Dar Zemora, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much appreciate it. The Management and Staff are delighted that you find Dar Zemora reliable and "consistently wonderful" We are also pleased that you enjoy the more traditional Moroccan music. Now the chill is in the air we look forward to your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have been fortunate to stay at Dar Zemora many times, and frankly would never stay anywhere else in Marrakech. Everything about it is lovely. The rooms, the ambience, the staff, the food is especially good. So many special and thoughtful details like pashminas on the chairs at breakfast and dinner, to help with the morning and evening chill at this time of year; sun hats on every lounger by the pool. Such lovely personal gestures. It really is a perfect place to de stress and relax. Well done to everyone who is part of Dar Zemora.

Room Tip: Obviously the suites are very special and the very private Pavillion even more so. But even the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay K, Owner at Dar Zemora, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. It is very much appreciated. The Management and Staff are delighted that you would not consider staying anywhere else in Marrakech and look forward to future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala
Villa Al Assala
#1 of 1 in Palmeraie
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#106 of 500 in Marrakech
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#80 of 500 in Marrakech
418 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#66 of 500 in Marrakech
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Address: Rue el Aandalib, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £168 - £628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing