We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel in peaceful surroundings”
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zemora
Ranked #74 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Dar Zemora has the feeling of a private residence that has been turned into a small, intimate hotel. It doesn't have the unneccesary - a gym, business centre (although it does have internet access), TVs in the rooms etc. Rather it has 6 rooms and plush gardens & can provide lunch & dinner if you want it and request it on the day, which we often did. We were one of only 3 couples there and felt we had the place to ourselves (which, during the day, we did). We stayed in one of the suites, which was large, comfortable and well furnished. Lighting is v subdued, which is atmospheric but it would have been good to have the option of making the room brighter. The terrace was excellent - sunny in the morning and shaded from lunchtime onwards. Sometimes service was a little slow & it was difficult to find someone, depending who was on duty, but it was ramadan & one should make allowance for this. The pool is large and refreshing, the gardens well tended, so it is easy to while away the entire day there. The staff were helpful booking restaurants & cars to take & collect you - it all worked well. Having stayed in the medina on a few occasions & in the Palmerie, where Dar Zemora is, we prefer this option - being 15 minutes from the bustle, visiting when you want, but being in the calm oasis of DZ for the bulk of the time. Food was pretty good - lunch better than dinner, which was a little dull. So, if you want peaceful and intimate, stay here. We would definitely return, especially as they were unusually accomodating when our travel plans changed at short notice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedmeisterGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
171
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Dar Zemora was our first stop on our honeymoon - beyond the sort of experience we would normally go for on a holiday but for obvious reasons entirely appropriate this time round. We had settled on it as it looked to offer everything we needed - essentially pure R&R, comfort and a heavenly start to our married life - and we were beyond satisfied. Arriving late in the evening and being ushered into this little haven of tranquility we just felt all of the hard work and stresses of the previous weeks melt away.

We were fortunate enough to spend a couple of days in the pavillion pool suite and simply had the time of our lives - absolutely wonderful. The whole place is simply beatiful, bursting with flowers and an army of little birds flying around to keep you entertained. Staff were fantastic - occasionally a little tricky to track down if you want a drink but we soon found that this was more of a Moroccan hospitality thing than a Dar Zemora thing, and anyway all you have to do is dial through and everything is taken care of. Food was very good, and dining on the terrace in the evenings was a delight.

The whole place just feels like quality. With so few rooms you really feel like you are having a very exclusive experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano_Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

This was our first trip to Marrakech - we stayed for three nights in the Medina then four nights in Dar Zemora. The hotel was beautiful, with well kept gardens and a decent sized pool (although a little cold in May!). Attentive staff were friendly and welcoming and two of the three meals we had there could not be faulted (the third was really disappointing though - perhaps worth reminding the staff about vegetarian requirements in advance? Although most of the time there was no problem...). We stayed in a standard room although we were lucky enough to see both the honeymoon suite on the roof (huge and wonderful private terrace!) and the two bedroomed lodge in the garden which was sumptuous and would recommend it if two couples were travelling together. We will definitely go back to Marrakech and going back to Dar Zamora is a definite possibility. Staying out in the Palmeraie is not a problem - the hotel can book a return petit taxi and the cost (around Dh200) is reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill_Dundee_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Having been to Marrakech twice before we wanted to experience staying in the Palmerie away from the hustle and bustel of the Median and chose Dar Zemora - it couldn't have been more perfect. We stayed for 6 nights during the Easter holidays and had a wonderfully relaxing holiday and were beautifully looked after by the charming and helpful staff.

We booked at the last minute and so stayed in three different rooms (the staff moved everything for us so it was very easy). The suite on the top floor is fabulous - the patio is huge - large enough to have a drinks party for at least 50 people - and beautifully appointed. Breakfast on the private patio is a real treat and not to be missed. We also stayed in a small double room - quite perfect and then the pool suite - fabulous!

The food is delicious and beautifully served buy Yousef and all the team - nothing is to much trouble - and they are all so anxious to ensure that your stay is as perfect as can be.

The common areas, pool area and gardens are absolutely beautiful - this is a very special place to stay. We plan to return

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We have stayed in some fabulous hotels but none have succeeded in besting the time from stress to relaxation in quite such a dramatic way - minutes rather than days! More country guest house retreat than hotel - there are no plaques to indicate reception nor numbers on doors and certainly nothing so vulgar as a minibar - undoubtedly a deliberate and welcome statement by it's English owners for whom much love and attention has been showered on this Morrocan idyll.

Although there are suites of considerable style, we did not feel that our double room was in any sense a compromise given the intimacy without crowding and excellent public spaces not to mention gorgeous gardens (or should that be grounds?).

This is a perfect location for those seeking to unwind. Situated in the Palmeraie, it is close to many outstanding restaurants and within a 200 dirham taxi ride of the Medina for those who want a little more excitement.

Service is exceptional and unobstrusive - a truly remarkable accomplishment. Valerie and staff transform this paradise by their obviously generous and natural warmth.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2009

What a heavenly place! Dar Zemora really is something very special and unique. From the gardens which were filled with lemon trees, the smell of orange blossom and birdsong, to the glittering pool with its super comfy sun beds with straw hats laid on each one and the endless complimentary bottled water, every little detail in this intimate hotel has been perfectly thought through. Our suite (Palm) was huge and beautifully designed, with a large living room and bedroom with French doors that opened on to our own perfectly heated pool. Beyond having so many details that make the place feel extremely luxurious, it also manages to feel informal and relaxed with such friendly and helpful staff that it felt like you were staying with (very deluxe!) friends. Every member of staff seemed to take real pride and pleasure in making sure we had a good time and we couldn't have felt better looked after (the two managers were also full of great tips from restaurants to shopping and sight seeing). The food was fantastic – fresh, varied; good value and with every element home cooked from the pancakes and jam at breakfast to the yummy afternoon mint tea and warm cake served every day at 4pm. In the evening we ate from both the Moroccan and French menus, which are served on alternate nights and by two different and equally accomplished chefs. Each meal was surprising, full of fresh flavour and delicious without being too heavy. I am 5 months pregnant and all I wished was that we had booked to stay longer than our sunny, relaxing and magical 4 night stay at Dar Zemora. I think it would be tough to find someone who didn’t come away from this hotel totally enchanted. All the delights of Marrakech are just a 10 minute taxi ride away although we ended up (like many other guests) having such a blissful time at Dar Zemora that we only did a few trips out!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

Simply amazing!

Fabulous pool great for relaxing in.

Well designed and decorated throughout.

Food was delicious, well prepared and good quality. We ate breakfast lunch and dinner at Dar Zemora over 4 days and were never bored with the variety on offer which covered Morrocan/fusion and western styles.

Perfect place to spend my 30th! We stayed in a lovely riad (Le Clos des Arts) in the medina for a few days before coming to relax in La Palmerie - great contrast, sheer bliss.

The staff were absolutely fantastic.

I really want to return but sooo many places to visit in the world and not enough time!

Stay here if you ever visit Marrakech, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazzles78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 500 in Marrakech
942 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#76 of 500 in Marrakech
255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
#174 of 500 in Marrakech
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#48 of 500 in Marrakech
739 reviews
3.3 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#32 of 500 in Marrakech
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#85 of 500 in Marrakech
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Property: Dar Zemora
Address: Rue el Aandalib, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Agoda so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing