We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid, beautiful, fantastic, quiet, private.”
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zemora
Ranked #81 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Top End Hotel with only 10 rooms and a beautiful interior design mix of Moroccan and western design. Spacious rooms and lofty areas to share with the few other guests. Mostly couples. Wonderful food. Fantastic service.
It feels like some friends place who is not there but his employees do everything to make you feel at home. Great pool and beautiful gardens.
Love it and can't wait to come back. Thanks to Jawad, Chafik, Rajid and all the other fantastic personnel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petunia03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

What a fabulous place to stay. Great rooms, great pool, food was amazing especially the lunch. The owners were there when we stayed and were incredibly helpful.
This is definately a place worth going back to. Cant be faulted on anything.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonRor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

A wonderful place to be stranded!
We had our second stay at this wonderful place in April, booking four blissful nights in the Perla Suite, which was gorgeous, to celebrate a special anniversary. The suite provides excellent accommodation and its roof terrace really is vast, offering several lovely places to read, snooze or catch the sun. We loved watching the sun go down up there, drink in hand. Everything about Dar Zemora is perfect, as long as you like quiet and tasteful rather than big and brash. `The food is good (make sure you eat in on at least some of the nights you stay there), but it is the service that really makes this place stand out, and we should know because we really tested it when our four night sojourn turned into nine because of the ash cloud crisis!
Lindsay, the owner was great and helped to make our extra nights affordable, which was much appreciated, and the staff were amazing throughout our stay (both the planned and the unplanned) . Jawad, the manager, spent hours with us trying everything to find us a way home (even on his day off) and Yousef, a fantastic and long-serving member of staff, looked after us like we were his own family – nothing was too much trouble for them, and we so much appreciated it when we were worried about what was going to happen. They did anything they could to make us and other stranded souls as comfortable as possible - including cooking meals off-menu for a family we got to know quite well!
I cannot praise this wonderful place too highly. I wondered whether the stress of being stuck there might put us off going back, but, some weeks later now I know that it hasn’t at all – we love it even more now, and will most certainly return. We also got to know Marrakech better, too, eating at different places (we loved: La Tanjia even though it’s aimed at tourists; Kosybar, great to sit in the rooftop bar before you eat; and Trattoria Gian Carlo – but would avoid L’Abyssin, as I was really unwell after eating there and it was the worst but most expensive meal we had there) and exploring different areas.
A big thank you to all at Dar Zemora – our visit was one to remember for all the right reasons – it was a wonderful place to be stranded!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueMason27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a long weekend. It is a beautiful haven from which to explore the busy city and Medina, all of which was ten minutes away by taxi. The hotel's local staff were all very friendly and attentive.
We particularly enjoyed our couple of evening meals on the terrace with great food and the unexpected accompaniment of the hotel's Frog chorus!
The accommadation we were in, the Pavillion suite, was beautiful, tranquil and luxurious.
If you are looking for rest and relaxation away from the hustle and bustle of the city, this was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogwalkerTooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Dar Zemora was the starting point for what should have been a 2 centre holiday, we were going on to Essaouira. Sadly I was taken rather ill with bronchitis within hours of arriving and could not travel onwards. The management and staff could not have been more kind, caring and helpful to my husband and I. I could not have been cared for better and it was arranged that we just stay on at Dar Zemora rather than attempt a long journey. Nothing was too much trouble; including getting an English speaking doctor and my prescription. In the meantime my husband enjoyed the delicious food, the exquisite surroundings and read rather a lot of books. We shall return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We stayed one night as a treat at the end of a great holiday. Unfortunately it was spoilt by the fact our electricity was off and had to stumble in the dark to find someone. We eventually found someone who offered no apologies but said they will fix it. After four interruptions to our room we eventually had light!!!. A long bath sounded a good idea, the water was tepid to pu,t it mildly, again no explanationor apologies.. We were the only ones staying that night . We asked for breakfast on the patio which they advertised. Rain had covered the seat cushions so we couldn't sit there without getting our pillows.
No one seemed interested in our problems and to add injury to insult before we had finished our breakfast they then decided to to clean our private patio around us. Several times I asked them to come back when we had either finished or booked out but to no avail. It spoilt what could have been an enjoyable stay. No interest at all when booking out.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mosieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Yes I know its a cliche but I just adored this place so much that 5 stars doesnt express how wonderful it is to stay here. It is absolutely stunningly beautiful. The rooms are thoughtfully furnished with real character and there are 3 gorgeous sitting rooms which create a real homely feel, plus a library with lots of guide books and novels, and a free internet PC so you can stay in touch with the world if not having TV is an issue ( i didnt like the prospect of no TV but actually I'm now glad it didnt have them, as it may have spoiled the total relaxation vibe). There is an IPod dock with speaker in every room and the lounge so you can have a choice of relaxing music, and they lend you an Ipod if you dont have your own. We had one of the smaller rooms which was perfectly lovely, but also had a look in a vacant bigger room and had a look at the spacious rooftop suite with its own roof terrace ( maybe next time!)

As it has only 7 rooms I expected the gardens to be small but it all feels remarkably spacious and very well kept and planned. I'm sure its even more stunning when the roses come into bloom.The pool is large, heated and well situated in the garden. There is a hammam/spa set in the vegetable garden! Afternoon tea and cake is brought to you wherever you happen to be. Breakfast and lunch are served by a lovely lily pond full of noisy frogs. The food is as beautiful as the surroundings and of a very high standard throughout , and at a better price than more central hotels and restaurants.

The charming owner Lindsey was there during our stay and we greatly enjoyed her company at dinner and talking about the development and vibe of the hotel with her. Any tiny comments we made about how to make things even better were acted on by her immediately. We commented that a bird was banging on the window early in the morning and she immediately arranged for someone to put a net over the portion of window to stop it!

The huge sunken marble bathroom was divine!
There is a lovely mix of Moroccan and some Asian influences in the decor, feeling both classic and modern simultaneously.
It feels more like staying in a friendly relaxing house than a hotel, and can be booked as a whole for a larger group.

The only possible drawback for some may be the distance from central Marrakech.It didnt seem like an area with any potential to walk anywhere easily. Its a 20-30 min cab ride to the centre. I'd recommend staying in a centrally located Riad for a couple of nights so you can experience the lively city, then move here and you wont want to leave!

Never have I wanted to take so many photos of a hotel just to remember how lovely it was. Its surely only the small size thats keeping it from being at the top of the rankings here. I just left and I'm yearning to go back already. Truly outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank roy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.5 mi away
Villa Al Assala
Villa Al Assala
#1 of 1 in Palmeraie
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#12 of 501 in Marrakech
965 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 501 in Marrakech
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
Lodge K Hotel & Spa
#153 of 501 in Marrakech
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#45 of 501 in Marrakech
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#101 of 501 in Marrakech
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Address: Rue el Aandalib, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £166 - £621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Agoda so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing