We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Very Cheap!”
Review of Meriem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meriem Hotel
Ranked #334 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Me and my family visited Morocco during the month of February. The hotel is perfect for families and definitely worth the money as it is fairly cheap. The staff were very friendly except on the first day during breakfast one of the men who seemed like a manager was quite rude. However overall the staff that were present at breakfast were very nice especially one of the waiters who was exceptionally nice. Unfortunately I didn't get his name but he was tall.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, just a 2 minute walk from the train station and a 20 minute walk from jema el fna. There are also really good restaurants and cafes near the hotel. McDonals and KFC were near the train station. The hotel arranged our excursions, this was very easy and also safe. The only thing you should look out for are taxis as they charge more so ask for them to put the meter on. Overall it was a very enjoyable holiday! Definitely would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a fairly cheap enjoyable holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a poolside view. Much more pleasant than staring into someone's house :)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie_256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Meriem Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel was a jumping off point for us so had no problem that it's on the outskirts of the city. There are some nice restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel and the souks are about a half an hour walk away. The hotel itself has a lovely reception area but the rooms are a little tired. Apart from that the hotel has a good pool and breakfast buffet. There are also tortoises in the gardens!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony room, if you don't you're looking straight into peoples homes.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan_Daho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I went with so much hope but was left disappointed. Firstly if you have kids then do not take them here. The owner constantly complained about the kids running and making noise. Secondly half of the staff were quite rude to be honest but the manager Hasna was real nice and was probably the only English speaking member of staff in the whole hotel and there were about 50 members of staff. And finally the most disappointing for me and the kids was the fact we could not use the swimming pool. It was jus too cold. Even though it was outside the problem was in the whole day the sun only shined on the pool about 2 hours so was too cold to swim in. Loved the experience but will definitely go to another hotel next time.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Prince S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassna K, Responsable relations publiques at Meriem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

thank you very much for choising our hotel MERIEM for your stay in our sunny city Marrakech ,I m sorry to inform you that your children were briullant according to claim other guest in the same stay off you
I think you were well taken incharge by the hotel management and all the staff was available for you
sunny regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Good location in the new town, close to the train station, easy to reach by feet main attractions of Marrakech, only 20-30 min walk to get to Jamal Fina square. Wonderful large entrance hall, nice place to relax with a cup of mint tea.They got 2 small outdoor pools with a fully furnished terrace nestling between old and new building of the hotel. In the new part our room was very comfortable and spacious with a tiny balcony just to take a look in an open air from the last floor over the red city – great!. Spacious and clean bathroom with hot water and bath tube, the toilet is separate, but the decision about the bidet is very strange – put it in the bathroom?!?! Free Wi-Fi with good connection but don’t forget to ask about password.
Tasty breakfast with plenty of choice and the dinner is also was good and good flavored, but all drinks including water cost extra.
Really friendly, very helpful, kind and funny staff – thanks all to you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monicfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassna K, Responsable relations publiques at Meriem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir choisi notre hôtel MERIEM pour la deuxième fois , je suis heureuse de lire qu vous avez apprécié votre séjours et contente de vos jugements de confiance envers nos employés.
Cher hôte nous serions toujours prêt à vous accueillir avec grand plaisir
Nos salutations les plus ensoleillées de la ville rouge Marrakech

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The location is good - 10 mins taxi from the airport and a short bus ride into the centre (No 1 is the best). There are good local restaurants/cafes so it is in a good location. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, the central lobby has free wifi (and I believe you can get it in the rooms), and the price is good value (we had to stay a few extra nights and the staff were excellent in arranging this) - speak a bit of French, say hello and thank you in Arabic - it makes a big difference.
The rooms are ok (the hot water was difficult to control but we have been in similar hotels in Morocco without any hot water!) and were always clean. Breakfast was plentiful.
It is a good budget hotel, used by tours, and though you may find better, for a family it was absolutely fine. The swimming pools are excellent and the 4 tortoises are an added distraction.
It is not a Premier Inn but a Moroccan 4* hotel.

Room Tip: There are family rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassna K, Responsable relations publiques at Meriem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the HOTEL MERIEM and Thank you for your positive review about our Resort on Tripadvisor!

I am very pleased to read that we could live up to your expectations with , our service . We are looking very much forward to see and welcome you again on our hotel and hope you will then have a bit more time to relax in our red city MARRAKECH

I remain with sunny regards from HOTEL MERIEM MARRAKECH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently with a tour group. I don't like bad reviews but will be honest with my findings.
The lobby was very nice and presentable, a small reception, with the most unfriendliest receptionist I have come across in a long time, it was like we were very unwelcome.
The pool was clean, but the public areas were lifeless.
The room was nice, clean and comfortable - ideal for my needs. The bed was very comfy and I slept very well.
My air con did not work on arrival, a technician came and fixed this no problem. I called at reception for the safe key, and was told I had to pay 20 MAD pd for this, this I find a total rip off, do not mind paying a deposit but an actual fee I find a cheek.
There is a mini fridge in the room and TV with BBC World news for those who like to keep in touch with what is going on in the world. The wifi worked well too - and is free.
My shower would suddenly go very cold then scolding hot, but you strangely got used to it.
The food left a lot to be desired, the breakfast was continental, so you could make do there, but the evening meal, I am sorry to say really let them down, we had better meals in hotels across Morocco. The manager of the restaurant was also atrocious, but the waiting staff were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel though has a good location, not far from the station, and easy to get into the town.
I am therefore in 50/50 if I would recommend this hotel, rooms are ok, location is good, it was just the front of house management and the food that lets it down, so take the B&B option if you can and that takes issue out of the scenario.

Room Tip: ask for a room on floor 4 or 5 overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letskeepexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Great location, great room!
Breakfast was plenty good enough (cereal, scrambled eggs, croissants). Dinner was always a bit bland and no rice / Cous Cous to bulk out the curries they served.
The "gym" is very basic and totally not worth the 100dh they asked for but some lovely parks to run around.
The location is 30dh (10minute) taxi drive away from the old town and a 5/10 minute walk to the pretty new square with more modern shops/cafés.
Alcohol is available in some places nearby but be prepared to pay!
All in all, I got exactly what I expected (and paid for!) here. Staff aren't overly welcoming but weren't unwelcoming but for the five day bargain trip we had it's well worth it!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hobbs240207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Andalous
Hotel El Andalous
#393 of 502 in Marrakech
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#135 of 502 in Marrakech
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#182 of 502 in Marrakech
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#147 of 502 in Marrakech
1,029 reviews
1.0 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#473 of 502 in Marrakech
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#218 of 502 in Marrakech
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriem Hotel

Address: 154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#168 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#190 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £32 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meriem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meriem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryem Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing