We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but adequate for our needs. You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien
Ranked #420 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“No frills, but adequate for our needs. You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We were satisfied with this hotel, as considering the low price we paid, were not expecting it to be like The Ritz. Checking in was a bit time consuming, but that was because lots of people arrived at once. Some people have said that the reception staff are rude. I would disagree with this. If you make the effort to speak even a few words of French, the staff really appreciate it.

The rooms are in need of a makeover, but we only used ours for sleeping, as the rest of the time we were out exploring, enjoying the sun, or eating out. We had a problem with our shower but this was fixed by the time we had returned to our room later that day.

The pool is on the lively side, which is fine if you are in that kind of mood. There is a friendly guy called Omar who tries to get people involved in all kinds of activities. Aqua aerobics was fun. For some reason, in the afternoon the volume of the music gets pumped up. If you fancy a quiet pool retreat I recommend taking a day trip out to Beldi Country club (a 70dh taxi ride). For about £30 you get a three course lunch and use of a pool in beautiful surroundings.

Breakfast is nothing special and is served in an uninspiring room that could do with a good clean. They have a large selection of pastries and a small bit of fresh fruit. On the first day I queued for ages to get a freshly cooked pancake. It was bland and very oily. Considering the abundance of fresh orange juice in the main square, I was disappointed with the orange squash served at breakfast.

The hotel is in an area where there are a few other hotels and not much else. A taxi to the main square should cost 20dh in the day and 40 dh at night, but the drivers will try to charge more, knowing that you are an unsuspecting tourist. If they refuse to back down, walk to the main road and flag one down. Alternatively, you can catch the bus, which costs just 3.50dh per person (about 30p). You need to walk out to the main road, cross over and wait opposite the Shell garage near a bench. There are no actual bus stops, but you will see locals gathering where the bus stops.

Make sure you look at Trip Advisor for suggestions of restaurants. Many of the best ones are hidden away in secret courtyards, so you won't find them by strolling around. La Trattoria was our favourite.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one that does not overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    61
    43
    14
    13
See reviews for
37
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

just got back from our holiday in marrakesh, and we had one bad experience and that was i booked this hotel. it is not a 4star more like 2 plus, staff were rude, no eye contact, organised, not helpful, not even a smile. i spoke to other guests at the hotel and they agreed with me about poor customer services. buying any food or drink at the hotel was very expensive 3 times as much more than buying water from the local shop, but food or drink from outside is not allowed in the hotel very annoying. i booked half board and dinner started at 8.00 which i thought was a bit late especially if you have children with you, and by 9.00 the food used to run out so not much variety left. in the reviews it states the hotel is 15 minute walk to the square, but actually it is an hour and half walk to the square.i hated coming back to the hotel in the evening and i would not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nahaydh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Lake District, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here as a group of 18 in May 2011 for my 30th. We had booked through a package tour operator (including trips, meals out etc) so I dont know how much we paid for the rooms but I imagine not too pricey.

One note about Marrakech airport - it took us over 2 hours to get through immigration (just to show the passports) - it was a free-for-all, fights and rows breaking out randomly, mainly through frustration as people tried to push into queues of people that had been waiting ages already. I would say dont prebook anything for your first night if you land late afternoon as we did - we landed at 5:30pm and didnt make it to the hotel until 9pm - and the airport is only 20 minutes drive away.

The Hotel Itself
Check in was quite a lengthy process but there was a large group of us to be fair. Reception staff could have been politer at times - one of them was the grumpiest man I have ever met and on the day we were leaving he refused to pass on the message left for us re. our bus pick-up time for the airport. The rooms were fine, nice balconies, clean bathrooms, maids were lovely and friendly and thw service was good (although they didnt think anything of walking into the room and cleaning round you - regardless of your state of undress).

The hotel rooms are set around an outdoor courtyard filled with bushes and trees which is lovely.

On our first night we ventured across the road to a hotel that had a small pizzeria restaurant attached, food was very cheap (less than £3 for a whole pizza) but not overly nice. Pizzas were ok, some of the group had pasta which I think was questionable. Have your wits about you when changing money - I dont think it was intentional in all fairness I think she didnt really know what she was doing - but 2 of the group nearly got short-changed by the lady on the exchange at this hotel (hotel next door - no problems with Tropicana exchange except they refused to do it on the first night when we arrived).

Hotel Bar - pricey-ish, over £1 for a can of diet coke, like most hotel bars. Range of drinks is ok - dont bother with the cocktails, they appear alcohol-less and taste rather strange; 3 of us ordered the same cocktail at the same time and all 3 were different. Bar Staff were helpful, we had bought some duty free on the airport, on the last night we were sat around the pool until 2 in the morning polishing this off and the werent in the least bit bothered. They also willingly opened a bottle of red wine (purchased outside the hotel) for some of our party for the room.

Pool - Pool is small with limited beds but very nice and clean. Some daytime activities byt the entertainment staff who were lovely and friendly.

Food - breakfast was surprisingly ok (but I am not a big breakfast eater), rolls, bread, criossants and pastries, cereals etc. OK to fill up on before heading out for the day. Cafe bar by the pool was alright - reasonably priced food, only ate here once when we got back from an exhausting morning of bartarring in the souks - it served a purpose but venture out if you can.

The hotel is quite far out from the main area (Djeem Elfna Square) so you need a taxi in the heat. Dont pay over the odds, haggle them down and take your reps advice on how much you should expect to pay. Make sure you venture to the souks, square, Jardin Majorelle and try the open top bus tour.

Overall I dont think the hotel is set up for large groups, which is not their fault, we maybe shouldnt have been placed there, but it was a decent base from which to explore the wonderful city of Marrakech and I would stay there again if I go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chutneypickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We arrived at the hotel on a thursday night, with complementary transfers arranged by the travel agent, and were greeted by a very pleasant bellboy/man who escorted our bags to our rooms. Fortunately, I spoke French, otherwise communication with some of the staff may have been difficult, but needless to say, when we complained that the A/C wasn't functioning in our initial room, we were promptly moved. The rooms are clean and maintained well with clean towels and regular linen changes. The double bed however was two singles pushed together, so a tad uncomfortable in the crevace. More akin to a 2+/3 star rather than a 4 star as rated by the agent, but it is just for sleeping!

We stayed on a B&B basis, with breakfast providing a wide array of breads (very sweet, but very fresh), fruit, cereal, tea, coffee, fresh omelettes, and traditional pancakes. This was of good quality, but would have been topped by a good fry-up! Dinner was served on a buffet basis, and seemed relatively steep, but was avoided as we were eating out most nights. If worst comes to worst, there is a shawarma (kebab) place round the corner, and a few well priced local restaurants within 10mins walk. There is also a small shop en route which serves cheap alcohol, crisps, and various other grocery and everyday items for next to nothing.

The bar staff and pool attendants are all very friendly, and whilst only a handful speak English, we weren't made to feel uncomfortable at all. Hotel entertainment is patchy, with a small selection of french and moroccan channels on the TVs. The in-house entertainment throughout the day is of variable quality and mainly taken to by the French guests (who are here in abundance it would appear), but passes the time.

All in all, this hotel is only 20mins walk from the new town, so getting away is easy. The medina is an equivalent taxi ride away and there are plenty of punters on patrol nearby. Haggling is a must. This is a good base away from the chaos of the city, but learn some French if you want to make life easier.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pank85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Just returned from 8 day stay at this hotel. Would agree with other comments that the rooms need updating but they were clean and served their purpose. The food was plentiful with a wide selection, the pool area was great and entertained the children whilst we stayed in the shade. I too had to rely on school day French but it helped no end as it was either that or Arabic. All in all, a good holiday was had by us all and we are talking of returning..

Room Tip: We changed rooms just by asking as we were not satisfied with the first room.No problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have just returned from Marrakech after spending a horrible one night at the hotel. The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. 12 of us as gone and booked 4 triple rooms however upon arrival we were told that the triple rooms 'were not for us' so we have double rooms instead. After requesting the see the triple rooms so we could make an informed decision they told us that they in fact had not triple rooms available. So, we had to stay in double rooms. The rooms were small, dark and smelt of stale smoke. The air con did not work and our bathroom was not even cleaned upon arrival. Also, the toilet flush rarely worked. The bar again was dark and smelt of stale smoke. The breakfast was okay. After waking up to a flooded toilet we complained to our holiday company we booked with and they moved us to the opposite hotel, Imperial something. This one was definitely a 4* and would recommend you to stay there. Had lovely rooms, pleasant staff and a lovely quiet pool area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MP6London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2011, the hotel is a good base. Please note that the main square is not in walking distance and does require a bus it taxi both of which are cheap. We stayed b&b . Breakfast was okay, nothing special. Also there isn't much to do around the hotel and it is mainly some at older people. The pool is excellent however and well maintained and never too crowded! The receptionists service varies, some are very nice while others are ignorant! The air con in the rooms is fine as is the cleaning and towels ate changed daily!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hrashid10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#423 of 500 in Marrakech
690 reviews
4.9 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#119 of 500 in Marrakech
1,247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#237 of 500 in Marrakech
186 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#77 of 1,153 in Marrakech
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien

Property: Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien
Address: Route de Casa | Lotissment Semlalia, Marrakech 40080, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropicana is a four stars Hotel located in the heart a magnificent garden. The hotel is 5 minutes from the hand attraction of Marrakech.- 144 spacious rooms with bathtub and balcony- swimming-pool, mini-club- restaurant, piano-bar, snack bar- Spa with traditional hammam- TV, phon, WI FI, air conditioned, safety box- ShopsThe Tropicana has place where each will find his own relieving environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Marrakech
Tropicana Hotel Paladien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing