We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long ago and faraway”
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
Ranked #87 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This review is long overdue as I was a guest at the riad Dec.09-Jan 10, but I will be returning to Marrakech in a few weeks and my lovely memories of an unforgettable property prompted this quick note.

I love the contrast between the dusty, hectic, unattractive street and the cool, calm luxury within...what a sensation each time you arrive. Everyone was nice and helpful. The food was lovely. The rooms, romantic. The bath, divine. We had a hamman twice, because once was certainly not enough. In short, this glorious riad is a big part of why I love Marrakech and cannot wait to return !!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a bathtub...they are marvelous !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaPadrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

Outstanding service has become such a rarity nowadays...so it is such a pleasure when you are treated to true service by individuals that "believe and approach it as an art versus a job". My most sincere thanks to Pierre and his wonderful team for creating an amazing home, away from home. Their warm ability to make you feel as if every touch, word and action was personalized especially for you...is a beautiful talent that I treasured. Morocco was my 43rd country visit and I can't imagine a riad experience in Marrakech that could possibly be more magical than...Dar Les Cigognes! Everything that others wrote about the rooftop terrace, the unbelievable cooking class, the remarkable staff...is all true. Your expectations will be exceeded...stay there and see for yourself. My last 3 days and nights in Morocco were the most special of all because of Dar Les Cigognes!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

As soon as you arrive you know you're in for a treat. From the dirty crowded street you're ushered inside to a cool courtyard with rose petal filled fountain and fresh mint tea. Rooms are beautifully designed and spotlessly clean. Terrace beautiful during the day and magical at night. Cookery course was one of the highlights of our holiday. The only disadvantage was that no where else on our trip came close to meeting far les cigognes. If you're staying in more than one city as we did visit here last and enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephieH83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I've spent one fantastic week at Dar les Cigognes
The hotel, the service, the team, everything is just breathtaking
The location is just perfect to visit the old city
The rooftop terrace is great to have your breakfast or a drink with a wonderful view
We took a cooking class, it's a unique experience : the market tour, Fatna the Chef, it was incredible
It's a must !

Room Tip: For a vry quiet room the second part of the riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mehdi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I have to thank the city authorities for closing down the Riad we had originally booked because of maintenance work on their power supply …. and this being the reason why we were moved into Dar les Cigognes.

The Riad is located in Jewish district of Marrakech right next to the Royal Palace with its innumerable stork nests. From the outside, it’s just a building with dusty pink walls, but the very moment you enter this Riad - the world stops turning.

We walked in and were greeted by the General Manager Pierre Herve. After being seated on the sofa area in the beautiful courtyard, we were treated to a sweet mint tea and were given a verbal tour of the city and a lot of personal recommendations – where to find the latest fashion, the best museums and gardens, along with the best restaurants.

After a tour of the Riad we were accompanied to our room named “Silver” and wow! what an awesome place. The beautifully carved ceiling, the vast wardrobe, an extremely large and shiny concrete bath and all the pretty Moroccan metal bottles with shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and soap - it didn’t take us long to realize that what makes Dar les Cigognes so special is their attention to detail.

The one thing that topped our beautiful and spacious room was the rooftop terrace. We did not want to leave this garden of beauty, tranquility and coziness - ever! The terrace is full with spectacular flowers that sit in rows upon rows of terracotta pots and set us off wanting to take them home with us!

Also, every breakfast up on the terrace was a real treat, not only for the atmosphere, but for the very delicious food that was served. The same can be said for dinner; an exquisite and mouthwatering affair.

The staff was always very attentive, quick and friendly. They all spoke and understood English very well and you could tell that they were all well trained.

WiFi is available on the ground floor and on the terrace. Sometimes we got a weak signal in our room on the 1st floor, but that was rather the exception.

Should we ever go back to Marrakech this Riad is our absolute favorite and first choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missliberty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel in March 2012. The rooms are average and can be a bit basic. Access is difficult as there are many narrow stairways and no lift. In an emergency it would be difficult to get out. I did the "cookery course" which was very disappointing. The kitchen is badly equipped and not very hygenic. We were escorted by the manager to the souk to buy the produce prior to the cooking. We were led to a spice seller who talked us into buying several small amounts of different spices, he told us how to distinguish real saffron from imitation saffron. We bought a quantity of the "Real Saffron" On returning to the UK and trying to cook with it it turns out it was the imitation saffron. The bill for these spices was 1000 Rials. Buyer Beware. It has left a very bad taste in my mouth. I informed the manager and he said he would talk to the seller but nothing has come of this

Room Tip: Beware of the stairs and book your own taxis. The hotel taxis were exhorbitant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jjukes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_234, Manager at Dar Les Cigognes, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts about your stay. We are certainly saddened by your review. We have written to you for further clarification and to apologize but have not had any response.

Regarding the spices there may have been a breakdown in communication between this guest and the shopkeeper. The saffron varieties that were shown to him were Moroccan (the best) and Spanish (less good and less expensive). It is possible that the shopkeeper understood that he wanted Spanish saffron as this is often what people do buy. At 25 dirhams a gram (about 2 euros), however, the price for saffron in the spice souk next to the hotel is a very good price. Unfortunately an experience with a spice merchant has coloured an entire stay.

For the comment about basic equipment being used in the cooking class. This is true. Moroccan cooking requires very little fancy equipment, much is cooked directly on the flames, or in the tajine. We teach traditional Moroccan cooking.

This guest recommends not using our car service. It is true, it is substantially more expensive to have a private car than to use a taxi from the street. Please note, however, that this is not us, but an outside car service. It is expensive compared to the alternatives. It is also licensed and insured. A great many riads and hotels either use their own cars to drive clients or "car services" that are not licensed or insured. In Morocco, many people (including taxi drivers) also drive without drivers licenses, and at the very least, anyone who has driven here understands how dangerous the roads are. Fatal accident rates in Morocco are 6th highest in the world, highest of all Middle Eastern and North African countries, and 29 times higher than those in the UK relative to the number of cars on the road. Should a guest be involved in a serious accident in an unlicensed vehicle or with an unlicensed driver, they risk having their insurance claim invalidated. For these reasons, we have chosen to work with a car company that we know has licensed and trained drivers, who have full insurance, are authorised to carry tourists and have the permits to do so--and for this reason, their prices are closer to what you would pay to take a taxi in Europe. For us, the safety and security of our guests always comes first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This small boutique hotel was recommended to us by good friends who raved about it. We were amazed! Behind the massive stone walls and door opening on the busy street, we found this oasis with a peaceful courtyard and impeccable service. Rooms all unique and the rooftop terrace is a great place to have breakfast or a glass of wine later...Pierre and staff are most accommodating and can't do enough to insure your stay in Marrakech is fabulous. Hotel restaurant was excellent too.

Room Tip: proximity to Medinah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_234, General Manager at Dar Les Cigognes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with potential future visitors to Dar Les Cigognes. We hope that they will be inspired to enjoy dinner with us as you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#85 of 500 in Marrakech
452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#157 of 500 in Marrakech
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#33 of 500 in Marrakech
711 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 Rue De Berima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £80 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing