We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but...”
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
Ranked #88 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful but...”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great food, great service, and fantastic recommendations for places to go in Morocco.

The main complaint is that the rooms look into fairly small courtyards that don't let in much natural light. And the rooms have no outside windows. So if you want privacy and quiet (which is any time you're in your room) you need to close the doors and turn on the AC. As a result, it felt claustrophobic -- even though the rooms are pretty big.

A easy entry to Marrakech, but next time I'd stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    60
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
232
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The staff are amazing. So helpful. The manager Pierre makes a point of meeting all the guests and produced a pack of the city of where to go and eat. Such a personal touch. The riad is gorgeous and the roof terrace is wonderfully. We saw the sister hotel riad Kaiss and the staff there were just as lovely. Recommend the riad.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajaa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a long weekend in Marrakech, and we could easily go back tomorrow.

The city is bonkers, in a brilliant way: a battering ram to the senses, noisy & vibrant, fragrant (mostly good, sometimes not so), hot, colourful and culturally rich.

After a long day's bartering for goods in the souks (mostly badly made toot to be honest, but some great bargains to be had), what's needed is a haven of calm and tranquility to regain your energy before venturing back out into the glorious mayhem. Riadh Dar Les Cigognes provides everything you need and more. Only a 10-15 minute stroll from the main square and souks, it is very well located, and overlooks the walls of the abandoned city palace, with its numerous nesting storks.

A beautiful riadh, immaculately clean, serene and intimate (only 11 rooms), the staff are extremely attentive and polite, and the atmosphere Heavenly. The GM Pierre is very friendly and knowledgeable, and provided some good recommendations of visits / places to eat (we highly recommend La Grande Cafe de la Poste).

Our room was a little small (we booked through Travel Republic and didn't seem to get a choice of room), but actually this was fine, it was all we needed. The bath was fab! There were larger rooms if this is what you want.

We didn't rate the food too highly either, but then this was probably more down to our tastes rather than the cooking, which was of undoubted quality (Pierre runs a cookery course, which although we did not partake apparently is well renowned and is worth it if you have the time). We chose to eat out instead, and despite all the well documented risks of doing so in Marrakech we had no issues. Just choose your establishments wisely and you'll be fine.

In short, we cannot recommend Dar les Cigognes highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Dar les Cigognes. It is a lovely quiet Riad in a very good location in the old town, within easy walking distance of the big square and other attractions in the Medina. We had a standard room which was fairly small but very comfortable and great shower pressure in the lovely bathroom with really good shampoo etc. Nice touches like fruit bowl on arrival, large bottle of water each day, tea in afternoons, beds turned down in the evening and a little box of biscuits on departure. Superb staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. They let us use another room on our departure day as our flight was not until 5:00 pm. Breakfasts on the roof garden, watching the storks build their nest opposite, were wonderful and a filling start to the day. We ate our first evening meal in the riad - it was OK but quite expensive and there are many more interesting restaurants to discover. I thought the hotel airport taxi was over priced at €25 each way. (An ordinary taxi would cost about €10 max.) However if you don't know where to go it may be a good idea to pay the extra.

Room Tip: The only difference between the superior and the deluxe rooms seemed to be that the latter were slig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonB-Ely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

So if you want an authentic Moroccan experience in all its glory ....a wonderful Riadh that has incredible carved ceilings , courtyards of tranquillity with trees and rosepetals , staff who want SO much that you feel at home , a charming roof terrace and rooms that are like miniature Aladdins caves .... Sure , there is no tv , the water temperatures can vary , breakfast service is a little wobbly when too many people turn up at the same time , but that is part of the Moroccan experience . If you take a suite they will light a fire for you ( very romantic ) they were happy to provide ice and glasses for our Duty Free , they changed the dinner menu just for us and all their recommendations were accurate and helpful . A great situation in the old town , surrounded by nesting storks and palaces , this is not to be missed ..we did not try their Hammam , but we wished we had !! Fantastic local shampoos and creams

Room Tip: The suites are wonderful ... very large baths if limited hanging space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here with my wife in Feb 2014, Dar les cigognes is a wonderful place , the staff are just great , we didnt have any complaints at all, I would recommend a suite its just a wonderful place to relax after a day in Marrakech , which is needed.

We didnt do any tours or anything like that just found our own way around which is often the best way , you can never get lost just keep going and you will find your way back to jemaa el fna .

Try eating at the small cafes used by the locals , it might look rough but its all safe, I never got any food poisoning, only this is true Marrakech.

The wait at the airport for passport control is so boring , it took us over 1 hour to get our passports stamped .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jono3987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

So I've just got back from five days in stunning Marrakech. The place was wonderful, the people friendly and the sun fantastic. But you know what? The thing that made the holiday for me was the Dar les Cigognes and in particular it's brilliant staff.

Quite simply, they cannot do enough for you - nothing is too much for them - and the result is that the riad becomes a haven in the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

True, the building is beautiful and is really well looked after, the location is great (close to museums, souks and Jemaa el Fna) and the roof terrace is lovely. But if you go for only one reason, go to be pampered by one of the best groups of staff you will find anywhere.

I'm going back for sure! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#157 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#40 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#233 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#26 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Property: Dar Les Cigognes
Address: 108 Rue DE Berima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing