We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect road of elegance, beauty comfort and service.”
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
Ranked #100 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect road of elegance, beauty comfort and service.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at Dar Les Cigognes for two nights in early August and really wished we could have stayed more. On our arrival at the stunningly beautiful riad, we were greeted by Pierre and his lovely staff who couldn't have been friendlier or more enthusiastic. Our early flight had got us to the hotel at breakfast-time but our room was ready for us which was wonderful and meant we could get on with our day.

Before showing us to our room though, Pierre took the time over tea and homemade sweet treats (delicious) to tell us all about the riad and the services it offered (the Hammam is amazing and well priced for a bit of luxury) as well as Marrakech itself. He helped us design the perfect plan for a couple of days in the city based around what we wanted to do and what he knew would work best - so incredibly helpful and helped us make the most of the time we had. He's also just such a fun character to chat to!

The riad and the rooms themselves are beautiful, filled with nice touches such as beautifully presented hommade potions and lotions in the bathroom and fresh fruit to snack on. Breakfast was delicious - go hungry as it's a feast that will last you the day - and served on the flowery and peaceful roof terrace.

Can't recommend it enough and will be back no doubt! Thank you all at Dar Les Cigognes!

Hywel and Lani.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmtr1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    60
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
232
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed in Dar Les Cigognes for 4 days in December 2013, and I couldn't have been more happier with my choice. Beautiful, authentic and quiet riad just 5 minutes away from all the hustle and bustle of the old city. The old city wall if just a minute away...
All employees were friendly, smiling and willing to help. Breakfast (if only somewhat costly compared to other hotels in Marrakech and even other countries) on the roof provided the loveliest view.
The owner was there every day and he made sure to chat with me to confirm that I was happy with my stay. I've also got nice recommendations about places to visit and places to eat at (btw, very nice places are just 2 minutes walk on the square, food, drinks and even some light clubbing)
If I ever return to Marrakech I will definitely stay again in Dar Les Cigognes

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlenKa1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

As with so many riads in the Medina, there is nothing from the road outside to hint at the oasis of calm that lies behind the front door of this classy and relaxed small boutique hotel.
The manager Pierre takes time to explain anything and everything you need to make your stay in Marrakech as you wish it to be. If you have never been to this mad but enchanting city before, it is a place that can assault your senses but Pierre will ensure that you find the best of anything that you want to include in your stay in Marrakech.
We took their half day cooking course, including a visit to the markets which I would recommend as the guided tour meant we got to see and learn far more about the history and culture of the city in a short space of time than you would from any guide book.
As for the rooms, they are understated and stylish, peaceful and calm, a bathroom with a cavernous bath in ours. We had a standard (superior) room, which was of average size for a hotel room and perfectly adequate.
Nice rooftop area for drinks, dining, sun-bathing (not something we attempted in the 42 degree heat we experienced in June) and highly efficient, attentive but unobtrusive staff.
A nice bonus is that this Riad is only a two minute walk from the only nice bar we found within the Medina (Kosybar), which has also recently opened a fantastic Hammam/Spa within the same building that also comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

To preface my review, I have been to 52 countries and had just come from the Burj al Arab in Dubai, a hotel that bills itself as the world's most luxurious. Yet, the service at Dar Les Cigognes was the best I have ever experienced. The staff could not be more helpful. And the best part is that their desire to help comes across as truly genuine. From typed up personal "favorites"/recommendations at check in from the manager, to a private dinner in the courtyard, to the maid that waits to go home just because you chose to sleep in, each staff exceeded my expectations time and time again. The hotel does all of this while charging very reasonable room and food rates. I would love to return, and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for traditional Moroccan hospitality and personalized service. It goes down as one of my favorite hotels in the world, which also include The Breakers Palm Beach and The Peninsula Los Angeles.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cybernag97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Traditional Riad with good rooftop garden area. Location ten minutes walk from the main souk which is a bonus as 1) it was quieter and 2) a taxi can take you to the door.
Greetings and checking in were friendly and traditional. Room was clean with the biggest baths you could ever need unless you were keeping dolphins.
Pierre and team looked after us very well with good reaervations off site. Make sure you do the cookery class. The local shops were well hidden and pierre appeared to lnow everyone in town. As to Fulya the chef. Great fun. Just go easy on the wine. Pierre is french.

Helpful?
Thank HolmesAndyG
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three days at the beginning of March. When we were looking online and planning our trip, all of the hundreds of options for riads and hotels started looking the same and we had the hardest time finally making a decision. We are so happy that we decided to stay here. The hotel is beautiful and clean and elegantly authentic. The food we had at the restaurant was the best food we had in all of Morocco on our week long trip. My wife and I would suggest to anyone going to Morocco that they stay at this hotel for at least two nights and take advantage of the GM Pierre's vast knowledge and love of Marrakech and Morocco. In hindsight I wish I had contacted Pierre at the hotel before our trip and gotten ideas on how best to plan the rest of our trip (doing that beforehand is the best advice I could give to anyone going). If you do decide to stay here make sure that you spend the extra bit of money to take advantage of the hammam and the cooking class with the market tour. Overall staying here was a great experience and our favorite part of our trip to Morocco.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days in April to celebrate his 40th birthday. This is a beautiful riad and the decor is cosy and welcoming. It's very relaxing and a perfect haven. As someone has already said, Pierres recommendations are excellent and should be noted. I only wish I could speak french as it would have made everything a lot easier both in and around the riad.

Room Tip: We stayed in Safia which was spacious and had no issues with noise from other floors which some peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flocktons4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#37 of 499 in Marrakech
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#241 of 499 in Marrakech
527 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#63 of 499 in Marrakech
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#144 of 499 in Marrakech
406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#30 of 499 in Marrakech
623 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#99 of 499 in Marrakech
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Property: Dar Les Cigognes
Address: 108 Rue DE Berima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#124 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing