We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect haven in the middle of the Medina”
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Les Cigognes
Ranked #83 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Dar Les Cigognes is a perfect haven in the middle of the bustle, sights and smells of the Medina. Hidden away, but right slap bang in the middle of the old town, we found it perfect for exploring Marrakech and seeing everything it has to offer while still having a calm, stunning place to retreat to.
We stayed for four nights and would love to return in the future. Highlights are the lovely staff, who will do anything to help and give you advice on seeing Marrakech, the beautiful breakfasts on the roof terrace being spied on by the storks on the neighbouring old palace walls, a guided tour with Moustapha, a local legend who the riad can contact and arrange to show you around, the huge traditional tadelakt baths, wonderful hammam and excursions with the riad's own driver - we spent one of our days in the Atlas mountains hiking up a series of 7 waterfalls and would highly recommend it as a break from the city.
If you're going to Marrakech we would 100% recommend it to anyone, there aren't many places in the world this special.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Girlfridaylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2009

We absolutely loved this haven of tranquillity amid the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The rooms were beautiful with a plethora of thoughtful details, the staff totally committed to making our stay memorable, the food superb especially the cookery lesson in the little kitchen, the hammam and massage suite so relaxing and all the little nooks and crannies where one could sit and just be delightful. Can't wait to go back! The roof terrace breakfast with the storks nesting on the Palace roof opposite is somewhere I'll never forget! The owners were charming and helped us out with sightseeing and shopping ideas. A++++

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

This incredibly stylish & luxurious Dar or Riad inside the walls of the frenetic medina is perhaps our favourite small guest house in the world. We prefer smaller authentic accommodation as opposed to big internationalised hotels. They go to great lengths to add little touches that are very romantic & they provide in -house a glorious hammam where you shed a kilo of your old skin. We dined in our very own dining room with tasteful Moroccan & African decor. The roof terrace with views of the Royal Palace & the striking Koutoubia mosque complete with nesting storks is a tranquil haven for breakfast or a gin & tonic.
After a 14 day trek over the Atlas this was pure joy.
David & Jane
Australia

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussies16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Amazing - from the moment we were picked up from the airport our week-end was perfect. Mint tea on arrival, warm towels, nothing was too much trouble and they really have thought of everything. We stayed in the orientalist suite, hot water bottles, turn down service, milk and cookies at bedtime. Breakfast on the terrace, beautiful jams and freshly squeezed orange juice.
Marrakech is an amazing place, really is a diferent world and we had a fabulous romantic honeymoon. Thanks Dar Les Cigognes! (P.S Kozybar recomended fo a long lazy lunch on the terrace). Try Le Comptoir for a real "belly dancing evening" and Le Tobsil for tremendous authentic Morrocan food

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkandCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We spend the first two nights of our honeymoon in this lovely riad! We stayed in the romantic suite Harem ( a red room with fireplace) and enjoyed a very nice hamman.

When stepping out of the gates leaving your peacefull room you are just round the corner of the souks. Could not be better. 2 great reastaurants nearby as well!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marijke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

A little treasure of a place. Only 11 rooms hidden away in the old city. Very peaceful hotel with attentive staff. Great location by the old palace. In hotel hamman bath & massage a must. No tv's but has wifi and quiet bedrooms. Good toof terrace. A quiet haven after a frenetic walking tout through the old city. Food ok but would look to eat out most times. Will leave rested but with many fine memories of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Stacey_Barton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

My wife and I traveled to Marrakech for the first time last month, and stayed at this first class and charming riad, upon the recommendation of many friends. We can not say enough about the quality of the accommodations, the professionalism and helpfulness of the staff, the excellent location and the innumerable "extras" one would not expect in an intimate (ten rooms) private hotel.

Marrakech is a fascinating but hectic and noisy city. To be able to return after a long day, in its heart, to the oasis of Dar Les Cigognes, have a drink or dinner on the beautiful roof-top terrace, a massage in striking spa room -- to name just a few possibilities -- made for a wonderful balance to our visit.

You won't find TV's or Internet connections in the rooms, and (in my opinion) you are the better off for it, since there is so much else to do.

Especially for first time visitors, who have only a few days in Marrakech, there is a bewildering number of options as to how to spend your time -- including day trips outside of the city. I recommend consulting closely with the staff to make sure your time is as profitably spent as possible. They are knowledgeable, and eager to be of assistance, and it helped us quite a bit in getting the most out of our short time there. We greatly look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micheail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#78 of 500 in Marrakech
452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#158 of 500 in Marrakech
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#32 of 500 in Marrakech
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#33 of 500 in Marrakech
711 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 Rue De Berima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#74 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £80 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing