We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value”
Review of Hotel Atlas Asni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Atlas Asni
Ranked #293 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 1 July 2012

After reading some of the reviews I was a little skeptical about this hotel. However, how pleasantly surprised I was. From when we checked in the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel was spotless inside and out. We had the breakfast option in our room tariff which was good, every morning a variety of hot and cold food was available, there were plenty of clean tables to sit at. The pool area was of a high standard plenty of sun beds and towels to use. We ate at the bar/restaurant at lunch time on several occasions,they serve salads,sandwiches,paninis,pasta etc all of which again very nice and ood value. The bedrooms were clean and tidy with hairdryer,toliets,fridge,tv we didn't experience any noise from other guests at all, the only slight issue we had was the air conditioning wasn't brilliant, we changed rooms after the 1st night and the next room was better which was a relief as it was 45-47 degrees. We got taxis to the old part of the city which were plentyful outside the hotel, they cost roughly £5 each way. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and when we return to Marrakech will use this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank JulieR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were travelling as a party of 15 when we had our flight home cancelled. BA arranged for us to be transported to this hotel and stay the night before re-arranging our flight home. It is about 10 mins on a bus from the airport. The reception lobby looks lovely - that's where it ends. We were checked in quite efficiently considering it was 180 people on the flight. The rooms are reasonably clean, the phone didnt work nor did the safe. There were twin beds with a TV which didnt work. The bathroom is functional not particularly well maintained. The restaurant had reserved seating for our flight, we checking in by 8.30pm and the restaurant closed at 9.30pm. It was a buffet style, there was hardly any food left when we got there. It was chicken and some pasta and a bit of salad. We were allowed 1 bottle of water free per table. All drinks had to be paid for in cash or card when ordered. They even offered to escort you to get the cash!! The major problem here is the staff. They are blatantly rude and unhelpful. I asked for a bottle of water to take to my room and was told "you give me cash". English is not spoken very well and considering the size of this hotel I was surprised at this. 2 of our party had their passports stolen. Their bag was on the back of their chair in the restaurant. The hotel refused to call a taxi so they could go to the police station, they were told to go into the street. We had to check out at 5.45am - the hotel did not inform everyone of this, they were supposed to alarm call everyone - some people only woke up when they heard people in the corridors with their luggage.

Im only glad I did not pay for this experience.

Just for the record the airport staff told us this was a 5* hotel !! Absolutely not.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2aspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed two nights at the Atlas Asni as part of an escorted tour through Morocco. The lobby looks good and that is the best part of the hotel. The room was clean, but a little spartan. The bed was average, with only two pillows and one big snake like body pillow. Our phone did not work. The included breakfast buffet was awful and poorly laid out. The breakfast room almost looked unattended and tables went uncleared and dirty. Our room itself was cleaned well. There is a pool that looked nice, but we didn't go in. There is a bar that is extremely smoky, but drinks could be carried out. The hotel is located in an area that is a strip of hotels. You can walk to the Medina (Old City) but it would be a LONG walk, a cab ride would be better. Average place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wordman113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I were not best pleased with this hotel- and a lot of it was down to the food and service.

We booked a little last minute as our original holiday was cancelled and I read some of these reviews hoping that reviewers were being overly critical and fussy but unfortunately a lot of the things noted in reviews below were true for us also.

The hotel cannot be faulted for its cleanliness and it has the 'look' of a 4* hotel - a beautiful lobby and pool certainly but it falls short in most other aspects.

I think we were most disappointed with the food and the general service. We didn't bother waking up for breakfast after a couple of days because it just wasn't worth it. There are guests constantly milling around the buffet because everyone is looking for cups, cutlery or plates- the hotel staff witness this but do not approach anyone and ask what they need. When we do ask for something, it takes an age to receive it. Like some other reviewers have noted- if you come down at nine, there is hardly anything left- repleninshing did not seem to be on their radar. And the food was simply not good.

We tried the pool bar/restaurant food two or three times and that was ok, however one lunchtime we waited for over half an hour for an omelette, chicken sandwich and a couple of Cokes by which point we gave up, cancelled the order and walked across the road for a meal. There seemed to be one waiter serving outdoor guests and he was hardly present- disappearing indoors most of the time.

If you don't mind walking, the hotel is a 30min walk to the medina or 30min in the direction of new town so you can walk to both locations and taxi fares were reasonable and most drivers willing to come down on price. This is one of the positives.

There is a lovely restaurant if you cross the road and walk right (towards the medina) called Al Dar - we went there a couple of times for dinner and enjoyed traditional Moroccan cuisine- staff were very friendly and helpful and they have a couple of entertaining belly dancers. Another good restaurant recommendation is Comptoir (best to get a reservation) if you want a little more fine dining- food was excellent and atmosphere lively. There is also a lovely cafe near the train station that does some lovely sorbets and ice cream flavours.

Another absolutely ridicilous thing was that the hotel did not have enough beach towels for the number of sun loungers- there were about 50+ sun loungers and only about 20 towels so we alongside other guests had to go up to our rooms and use our room towels- this was a first for us!! It is such a shame when the hotel has such a beautiful pool.

Language is somewhat problematic as very few people we encountered spoke English and most that did spoke very little. Menus in most cafes/restaurants were in French.

Wi-fi worked on and off throughout the day so if you need access to internet, be aware of that.
On a couple of occasions, we had room service just walk into our room without knocking which was unsettling to saw the least- after which we persisted in keeping the 'Do not disturb' sign on the door until we vacated the room.

The Jazz bar in the hotel is quite nice for a drink or two (and they usually have international football matches on), so we had a couple of drinks in there a couple of nights.

All in all however, I would not recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindaaa101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Lovely hotel but not 4*.Close to the airport, 30 mins walk to the main square.Breakfast was the worst we've ever encountered-very little choice,food was cold EVERY morning even on the morning we were leaving and were there when it was put out,often there were no cups/glasses,coffee was weak and not hot,service in the dining room, pool area and bar was non existent and most staff were unfriendly.
On arrival,the toilet in our room had not been cleaned. We immediately notified reception and 1and 1/2 hours later, when it still had not been cleaned and we complained again, we were upgraded to a huge suite, which was very clean and comfortable.However,despite several enquiries, my husband's sweater which had been left in the first room, was never recovered!
On checking out we had to pay a local tax of 33 dirims each per night.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool area are quieter at night. Our suite,on the 4th floor overlooked the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patriciaa142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Me and my wife went in march the the hotel is brilliant. The rooms are really clean and so are the bathrooms. There are numerous lounge areas which was one of my faveeourite things are u can sit in many different places. The provided live music and is also an outdoor bar. Breakfast is 6-10 but if u go downstairs at 9, theres nothing left and language was a slight problem as they mainly speak French/Arabic. But highly recommended hotel. It is about a ten min walk to the train/bus station to get to the souk and the bus takes about 5/10 mins which ain't so bad. Buses are also frequent. Be aware though when u check out, you have to pay extra hotel 'taxes' about 35 dh per night.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Jewel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel was a disappointment.

The breakdown:
Positive:
- great location along the main strip in Marrakech
- the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner was quite good

Not so positive:
- the hotel room was very old and very worn out
- the bathroom needed repairs and major upgrades
- we had to pay to use the safety deposit box
- the bathroom fixtures, tub/sink were all chipped
- the temperature dial was broken
- the mini-bar cupboard door was broken
- the Wi-fi was only in the lobby; lobby is filled with cigarette smoke

Really Bad:
- the bedside rug was sticky and had a dirty film on it
- I'm pretty sure the floors were not swept or mopped
- the blankets were not the cleanest; I'm hoping that it was just old and worn - but washed, but there's no guarantee

Each night we were woken up by people yelling and screaming outside of the hotel in the front entrance. It was so loud it seemed like they were in the hallway.

Room Tip: Only book suites that face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mewall21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlas Medina & Spa
Atlas Medina & Spa
#192 of 501 in Marrakech
995 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Hotel Farah Marrakech
#410 of 501 in Marrakech
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menara
Ryad Mogador Menara
#287 of 501 in Marrakech
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#245 of 501 in Marrakech
2,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Andalous
Hotel El Andalous
#394 of 501 in Marrakech
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlas Asni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas Asni

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI | Street Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#177 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £38 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlas Asni 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a garden lined with palm trees, this hotel is 3 km from Jamaâ El Fna Square. It offers an outdoor pool, a fitness centre and a spa.The air-conditioned guest rooms are equipped with a TV and have views of the garden or the swimming pool. Each spacious room features Moroccan decorations. All rooms have a marble bathroom.A buffet breakfast is served every morning at Atlas Asni. Guests can enjoy a drink in the hotel bar or use the free Wi-Fi access in the lounge.The spa at the 4-star hotel Atlas Asni includes a sauna and hammam. Massages are available upon request.With free public parking nearby, Marrakech International Airport is only 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Atlas Asni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Marrakech
Atlas Asni Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing