We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

From the pick up at the airport to the wonderful welcome at the villa, the level of service from Stephane and all the staff at Dar Ayniwen was amazing . A special mention should go to Aziz, for all his help and recommendations of places to visit. The villa and its gardens are beautiful, a welcome retreat from the bustling madness of Marrakech. With drivers happy to drop and collect you as required it is a perfect haven for a city break. Our suite was lovely, the food wonderful (eating in the nomadic tent in the garden complete with roaring fire and one night in the luxury of the main villa) and the hamman really enjoyable. Would recommend Dar Ayniwen to all for a visit, next time we might even take our children along too !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beautiful, stunning hotel, probably the best i've ever stayed in during my world-wide travels. It's impossible to describe how beautiful it is - pictures do not do the place justice. We were lucky enough to be upgraded twice, so got to enjoy several of the suites and all of them were better than first-class. The service is also outstanding - it makes the trip, in fact. Incredibly attentive, excellent attention to detail, nothing is too much trouble. Little things, like a free chauffer service into the main square at Marrakech, and a free library of awesome DVDs (excellent for when the nights are cold!) to enjoy on the massive LCD tv's (with surround sound) make the trip.
No complaints whatsoever, only pleasantly surprised. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. A must-go.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optimus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

When I read all the previous reviews of this place I was amazed that a hotel could be so good and so well received. Having just returned from a one week stay I can confirm that this truly is a fantastic place. The owner, Stephane, is both charming and affable. He has a lovely happy team of staff working for him who are all thoroughly professional and discreet. They are attentive to the quests every needs, yet manage to do this without hovering.
There are only 8 suites in this Riad, yet the place is so big that it is possible to go a whole day without seeing another guest. The décor is truly fabulous, filled with quirky collections and magical antiques. The beds are deliciously large and sumptuous, the bathrooms are gloriously ancient, with huge baths that comfortably fit two people without having feet in your face. Bathrobes and slippers are provided, but not bar soap or shampoo so remember to bring your own.

Other reviews have mentioned the food being “pricey”. For example a 3 course dinner for two is 900 dirhams. When we stayed from 9th to 16th Feb 2012 there were 13 dirhams to the pound so that makes dinner just shy of £70 and then add £16-20 for a bottle of Moroccan wine. These prices are slightly more expensive than some of the popular restaurants in town. The menu is limited to traditional Moroccan food. I would have liked more European style salads to choose from and to have seen some affordable sparkly white wine or champagne on the drinks menu.
Breakfast is included and can be eaten inside ones suite at no extra cost or outside. There is no time limit on when it is served which is perfect.
Dar Ayniwen provides a free taxi service into town and to any of the many highly recommended restaurants, or indeed anywhere one cares to visit. This is a brilliant service. You just have to call the hotel and they come and collect you. It saves having to negotiate with Moroccan taxi drivers and saves an awful lot of money.
The Souks are a nightmare and I’m told more so at this time of year because there are less tourists. They think nothing of throwing a monkey on your head, which is great if you like monkeys. The traders can be very aggressive and unpleasant which is such a shame because it puts people off and ultimately affects their economy. I usually love markets and have negotiated in Thailand and India and Africa, but found the Moroccan experience a bit too in your face.

Other visitors have spoken of the relief at getting back to Dar Ayniwen after visiting the Souks. I couldn’t agree more. The place provides a wonderful oasis of calm and relaxation. There is the most magical aviary in the grounds filled with exotic birds. During the day the only sound is birdsong. It is absolutely glorious. The outside pool was too cold to swim in when we visited, but the outside Jacuzzi in our suite was amazing. There is a spa in the grounds with its own steam Sauna. This is worth a visit because you can go with a partner and have a wonderful massage and just chill out.
I would thoroughly recommend this place and cannot wait to return. It is the perfect setting and size to take a group of friends and book the whole Riad. I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Little to add, but we confirm all the highly positive reviews: excellent, attentive service, superb team managed by Aziz. The accommodations are (mainly) in a charming private villa, with completely independent suites, limited in number, but lovely and decorated with taste. The property is stunningly beautiful, a haven of quiet serenity, after the bustle of the city. Do not be surprised: the villa is some 20 min from the medina, in the Palmeraie, but the shuttle service is on call morning, noon, and night, and the drivers (Hassane and Dia) are wonderful, pointing out things as they drive you to your destination. The in-house staff are also very attentive to guests' needs, and truly happy to serve. The stay at Dar Ayniwen is not inexpensive, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: We found the Tiwaline suite more intimate than the larger Colonnade, having stayed in both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowdoin6165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent a wonderful 5 days with Stephane and his memorably wonderful staff at this beautiful former family home. Everything was perfect; the pick up from the airport by the wonderful hotel drivers, who are at your disposal throughout your stay; the personal welcome at the hotel and dinner waiting for us in the tented restaurant; very large and comfortable rooms, we were in the Galaxie (highly recommended) with the children on beds in the lounge area; amazing breakfast beautifully served around the pool by yet more of the great team; the beautiful and well cared for gardens; "nothing too much trouble" help from Aziz on the front desk; delightful Valentines day (and birthday!) treats; the wonderfully attentive service in the Hammam; huge bath, piping hot water; DVD collection, and wifi (no charge, of course)...OK so it is 15 minutes drive out of the City, but the drivers and the care and attention from the staff make that a positive, a way to retreat from the bustle of the City. We could say their only fault is not blowing the trumpet of their chef. He cooks at least as well as many of the Moroccan restaurants they helpfully recommend for you to go. Sums them up really. It is all about you the guest...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivinthekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We selected the Dar Ayniwen for our short break to Marrakech because of the excellent reviews it received and the fact that they could accommodate a family of five in one suite. From the moment we were met at the airport, the service we received was exemplary. Although the Villa is located a short drive out of town, they provided a free shuttle service which ferried us where and when we liked. In fact we enjoyed getting away from the hustle and bustle, back to the tranquil gardens. The children were a little disappointed that the swimming pool was not warm enough to swim in, however our suite came with a hot tub which they enjoyed using instead. Throughout our stay the staff were incredibly helpful and a minor incident we had was compensated for by offering excellent complimentary spa treatments, a real treat and much appreciated. Breakfast was delicious as were the other meals we ate there. We had an evening departure and although other guests were booked into our room, we were given the use of another room for the day. I would not hesitate in recommending the Dar Ayniwen.

Room Tip: All looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here from 2 February for 5 nights to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We stayed in the Rotunda Pavillion which was fantastic. It is set at the end of the grounds, a small private villa with a lovely round bed and bedroom, a stunning lounge and bathroom, and best of all a private hot tub.

The staff were all extremely friendly and went out of their way to help whenever they could, without being overbearing.

We would definitely recommend a visit here for a romantic getaway, set in beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,266 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
173 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#25 of 501 in Marrakech
1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#77 of 501 in Marrakech
379 reviews
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £156 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 36 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains with his heated pool. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites & rooms guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing