We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, peaceful haven with exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

A fantastic place to stay and as you're welcomed in to this special place, you immediately relax and appreciate this oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of Marrakech. Great food, exceptional service and very private. We will return to Marrakech just to stay here again. Highly recommended and our thanks to Stephane and Aziz for making our stay so special and memorable.

Room Tip: All rooms individual and have their own charm. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

We booked this place due to the fantastic reviews and even then it exceed our high expectations. Fantastic gardens, personal service and essentially a free taxi made it one of the most enjoyable holidays I have ever been on. The guesthouse/boutique hotel is furnished beautifully - we made full use of the grounds, spa and dinner. The owner Stephan and manager Aziz take great pleasure in offering you an experience unique to you. Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Srije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I have just returned from this most wonderful Villa. Having travelled the world extensively and having the pleasure of staying in mostly 5 Star and 5 Star De Luxe Hotels this is one that as got to be at the top of the list. From the minute you arrive it is like arriving in paradise , a spiritual retreat that is good for the soul. The main Villa is very beautiful, the grounds outstanding, birds, bird song, fish, tortoises, palm trees await you each day. Total relaxation, peace and calm. The pool is wonderful, staff caring and every need catered too. They are very attentive to any allergies or special meal requests you may have. My hammam and massage in spa was excellent. Only 10 minute drive to Medina so just outside main fray of Marrakech. We will return as we fell in love with this place and I could not recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Each villa is beautifully, individually presented some are in main Villa and other Villas are set in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SANTACLAUS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Positives:
1. Car shuttle service available at all times.
2. Polite and helpful staff.
3. Vast open spaces and peaceful gardens.

Negatives:
1. Limited flexibility in food menu and staff made several errors in our orders, e.g., added shrimps to our fish tagine despite confirming multiple times that there were no shell fish - my wife is allergic. She ate a bite before realising there were shrimps in the tagine and got swelling in her throat.
2. Pool heating does not work and can probably be used only in summer months.
3. Room needs some refurbishment. In our suite, bath tub tiles were held up with tape and fell off during our stay as well. It would not be a problem if we were staying in a motel as opposed to paying almost USD 300 per night.

Overall verdict: good not great and for that price one could certainly do much better.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vik12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2012

Dear VIK12345

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry that we do not have succeeded to offer you a 100% satisfaction over your stay in Dar Ayniwen.

I understand that the mistake of my staff over the ingredients of the fish tadgine is not acceptable and could have been a big problem. However, being in business for eleven years now, we have been welcoming guests with a lot of allergies, from gluten to feathers and fish allergie etc... without any problems. I say that for future guests, please if you do have allergies of any kind let AZIZ or MYSELF know and we will make a note of it to our chef, for this kind of mistake not to happen. My staff do understand english and really try to progress (as they follow classes), but honestly they are not fluent and misunderstanding can happen sometimes in direct interaction. Which is what happen in this case I think.

Dar Ayniwen cuisine: As it is written on the first page of our food, and on the sheets in your suite, our menu is to give you suggestions, but our chef is good enough to prepare almost anything for you in the classical family cuisine. So please if our menu does not speak to you, let us know and we will suggest more. We do have had a lot of vegetarian, vegan, as well as just non meat eaters like you and they were very happy with our suggestions.


Regarding the pool, it is indeed heated. However, when night temperature goes below five degrees, ( which was unfortunately the case during your stay, february is often the coldest month of the year.) as we do have solar and gas heating twin system, reaching 24° during the day is a hard task. When a softer weather will be back( 15° degree minimum at night time), the pool will be back to normal and we will have a pool temperature that reach 24°-26° daytime during these days. However, guests do swim for the last three days, the pool is close to 23°.
My staff do have offer you the use of a hot tub free of charge, but you did not gave suite, so we thought you were not interested.

Regarding the suite( Colonnade suite in the pictures ), the problems that you have photographed are in the process of being solved. The marble plate will soon receive its casts. It was programmed but was not done before your arrival, I agree.
The sink is a 1930 original and parts do not come easy but I will focus on this problem and should solve this very quickly.

Once again, I am sorry that your overall experience was not as pleasant as it should have been. Be sure that we will not miss your concerns and will try endlessly to solve problems and will stay unrest until we reach excellence in service.

Kind regards

Stephane A
Managing owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

From the pick up at the airport to the wonderful welcome at the villa, the level of service from Stephane and all the staff at Dar Ayniwen was amazing . A special mention should go to Aziz, for all his help and recommendations of places to visit. The villa and its gardens are beautiful, a welcome retreat from the bustling madness of Marrakech. With drivers happy to drop and collect you as required it is a perfect haven for a city break. Our suite was lovely, the food wonderful (eating in the nomadic tent in the garden complete with roaring fire and one night in the luxury of the main villa) and the hamman really enjoyable. Would recommend Dar Ayniwen to all for a visit, next time we might even take our children along too !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beautiful, stunning hotel, probably the best i've ever stayed in during my world-wide travels. It's impossible to describe how beautiful it is - pictures do not do the place justice. We were lucky enough to be upgraded twice, so got to enjoy several of the suites and all of them were better than first-class. The service is also outstanding - it makes the trip, in fact. Incredibly attentive, excellent attention to detail, nothing is too much trouble. Little things, like a free chauffer service into the main square at Marrakech, and a free library of awesome DVDs (excellent for when the nights are cold!) to enjoy on the massive LCD tv's (with surround sound) make the trip.
No complaints whatsoever, only pleasantly surprised. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. A must-go.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Optimus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

When I read all the previous reviews of this place I was amazed that a hotel could be so good and so well received. Having just returned from a one week stay I can confirm that this truly is a fantastic place. The owner, Stephane, is both charming and affable. He has a lovely happy team of staff working for him who are all thoroughly professional and discreet. They are attentive to the quests every needs, yet manage to do this without hovering.
There are only 8 suites in this Riad, yet the place is so big that it is possible to go a whole day without seeing another guest. The décor is truly fabulous, filled with quirky collections and magical antiques. The beds are deliciously large and sumptuous, the bathrooms are gloriously ancient, with huge baths that comfortably fit two people without having feet in your face. Bathrobes and slippers are provided, but not bar soap or shampoo so remember to bring your own.

Other reviews have mentioned the food being “pricey”. For example a 3 course dinner for two is 900 dirhams. When we stayed from 9th to 16th Feb 2012 there were 13 dirhams to the pound so that makes dinner just shy of £70 and then add £16-20 for a bottle of Moroccan wine. These prices are slightly more expensive than some of the popular restaurants in town. The menu is limited to traditional Moroccan food. I would have liked more European style salads to choose from and to have seen some affordable sparkly white wine or champagne on the drinks menu.
Breakfast is included and can be eaten inside ones suite at no extra cost or outside. There is no time limit on when it is served which is perfect.
Dar Ayniwen provides a free taxi service into town and to any of the many highly recommended restaurants, or indeed anywhere one cares to visit. This is a brilliant service. You just have to call the hotel and they come and collect you. It saves having to negotiate with Moroccan taxi drivers and saves an awful lot of money.
The Souks are a nightmare and I’m told more so at this time of year because there are less tourists. They think nothing of throwing a monkey on your head, which is great if you like monkeys. The traders can be very aggressive and unpleasant which is such a shame because it puts people off and ultimately affects their economy. I usually love markets and have negotiated in Thailand and India and Africa, but found the Moroccan experience a bit too in your face.

Other visitors have spoken of the relief at getting back to Dar Ayniwen after visiting the Souks. I couldn’t agree more. The place provides a wonderful oasis of calm and relaxation. There is the most magical aviary in the grounds filled with exotic birds. During the day the only sound is birdsong. It is absolutely glorious. The outside pool was too cold to swim in when we visited, but the outside Jacuzzi in our suite was amazing. There is a spa in the grounds with its own steam Sauna. This is worth a visit because you can go with a partner and have a wonderful massage and just chill out.
I would thoroughly recommend this place and cannot wait to return. It is the perfect setting and size to take a group of friends and book the whole Riad. I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
173 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#25 of 501 in Marrakech
1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#78 of 501 in Marrakech
379 reviews
4.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £155 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 36 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains with his heated pool. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites & rooms guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing