We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We booked based on the trip advisor comments. We stayed here for 3 nights on a short break to Marrakech. The airport transfer got our trip off to a welcomed and comfortable start. We stayed in a Pavillion which was beautiful and private with easy, quick access to the main gardens, pool and house. The house itself was fabulous. I loved looking at everything and getting lost in the beautiful gardens. Stephane, Aziz and the team were really welcoming and the service was discrete, professional and excellent. Nothing is too much trouble. We used the Hammam and had an amazing massage. The masuse was lovely. The free shuttles in and out of the city were great and really flexible to suit us. over all, we thoroughly enjoyed our break and came back relaxed and recharged, thanks Dar Anywen.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Toff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
There are newer reviews for Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

My usually accurate sixth sense in choosing hotels failed me with this one.
The hotel is too far away – 20 minutes – from the city center, so really not well located if you’re going to Marrakech for the first time. It’s a hotel that is better suited for people who have already seen and done everything in Marrakech and are just looking for a place to relax. The hotel is unfortunately and inaccurately presenting itself as a 5 star property, which is far from what it really is. Our room was shabby, with outdated flea market furniture, musty closets, an uncomfortable mattress and stained bedspread. During our stay there was a sewage odor in the bathroom that never went away. One morning the hot water took forever to arrive. There was a cockroach (the big variety) one evening when returning to our room. All this would be “acceptable” (it is Africa after all) but NOT at the prices that Dar Ayniwan is charging. With dinner (not exceptional), you are easily reaching 600 - 650 euros per night. There must be other hotels in Marrakech in this price range that are offering a real 5 star experience. What Dar Ayniwan calls a “spa” is so small it cannot be used by several people at the same time. Worst of all for me was being devoured by mosquitoes, it was just terrible, so if you do come here bring a good spray with you. The hotel really should try and address this problem; perhaps it’s not so bad during the winter months.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darayniwen, Propriétaire at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Mr Dom L,

Thank you for posting this comment a second time, as it was removed by Tripadvisor moderator once before.
I will not answer your comment as you have just copied ( is this legal? ) a comment that was written in 2006 titled "georgous settings, tired rooms, mosquitoes about"
For info, plumbing was redone in Dar Ayniwen two years ago, we have strong treatment for insects. Ous furniture are antiques...Matresses are new Etc...things I can prove.
Not a mosquito around this year because of the drought.
SO as it is not true feedback there is no point.
For your information, I do live on the property, so if you had all the problems you have mentionned I would have known, but so far we have happy guests, Thank God.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at Dar Ayniwen for 3 nights as part of a 7 night break to Morocco (see separate review on Domaine Malika).

The house and gardens are simply beautiful, and the pool is a delightful break from the heat of the day. Service is first class, and quietly done - if you want a drink from your sun lounger simply raise a little white post (found next to each longer) and a waiter will arrive forthwith.

We stayed in the Tiwaline 1 suite. This was very tastefully decorated with period Moroccan furniture and the bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning was a delight at bed time. The room also had a minibar.

We tried the Hamman one day which was fabulous.

After only 3 days we were a bit sad to leave, and would definitely come again - indeed we met 2 families whilst we were there that had done exactly that many times before.

A must visit if going to Marrakech.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor after reading what felt like a million other reviews for places all around Marrakech. The positive reviews for Dar Ayniwen really are a testament to how lovely it is- Stephane and Aziz and the team simply cannot do enough for you, the hotel is beautiful, and the location has the perfect balance between being convenient for the city yet still being an oasis of calm.

We stayed in the Tiwaline 1 suite which far surpassed my expectations, and ate at the hotel four times during our 6 night stay- each time was lovely!

During our stay I visited the spa and had a hammam and massage with the on site beautician which was to be recommended.

I would not hesitate to reccomend Dar Ayniwan and look forward to returning there in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuirkyKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I was worried that the reviews of Dar Ayniwen were too good to be true but it lived up to expectations. We stayed recently for a week which gave us time to see everything in Marrakech and time to enjoy the beautiful villa, gardens and pool. Marrakech is very chaotic so it was bliss to be able to come home and relax in beautiful surroundings. From the moment we arrived it felt like a really special place. The service is excellent and all the staff are friendly and helpful. Aziz, the manager, is always happy to give advice on restaurants and sight-seeing. We had dinner at the hotel on three occasions. The food was really good and the atmosphere with the pool lit up was amazing.

I've never wriiten a review on Tripadvisor before but I enjoyed my stay here so much that I just had to share it. I pretty much planned the date of my trip around the availability of the hotel and I'm so glad I did. Dar Ayniwen is a reason to go to Marrakech.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Having booked this hotel around 9 months ago for our honeymoon and as a complete suprise for my wife all I can say is that we were overjoyed by the quaint guest house.
The hotel boasts such character and charm with perfection oozing in every corner.
We stayed in one of the private villas with a hot tub and it was so traditional in style, Perfectly clean and comfortable. We could not have asked for anymore on our 7 night stay here.
We ate at the hotel most lunch times and about 3 evenings all of which were not disappointing. The food served here beat what we experienced in all of the recommended restaurants we found on trip advisor.
The manager aziz was very helpful and arranged our every need to perfection. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and the waiters were extremely attentive.
Most of all we would like to thank the owner of the house, Stephan. You have done a grand job to make this such an exemplary five star hotel with a guest house personal touch. We enjoyed every moment of our honeymoon and we thank you for that.
Luke and Sophia

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucascoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I have travelled extensively and stayed at a number of 4 and 5 stars hotel, however, Dar Ayniwen is one of the best properties we have experienced to date. It is situated in the Palmerai area of Marrakech just outside the city, which is a pleasant change from the hectic atmosphere of the medina. It is easy to get the best of both worlds as the hotel provides a free shuttle service.

What makes Dar Ayniwen special is the 'country house' atmosphere of the main building due to the fact this was and remains a family home, coupled with the extensive and well maintained grounds, as well as the secluded independent suites set around the garden.

The service provided by Aziz, the manager, and his team exceeds expectation as they are all very helpful, well informed but not at all pushy. Additionally, we ate twice during our stay there and found the food to be authentic and excellent, accompanied by a well priced wine list.

All in all, Stephane has achieved the highest standards in terms of the property, the grounds that it is set in, the food and the service, as well as being a gracious host himself. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchowdhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darayniwen, Owner at Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear JChowdhry,

We were all very thrilled by your compliments. It is a great feeling for us to know that we have succeeded in offering a good vacation and a relaxing stay. As I have many time promised I will always look to improve service and comfort for our guests at Dar Ayniwen and look after its garden.
We are also very thankful for your comment and hope that we will have the opportunity to meet again.
Kind regards
S.A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,248 reviews
3.3 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
157 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#20 of 502 in Marrakech
2,033 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#26 of 502 in Marrakech
1,160 reviews
2.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 502 in Marrakech
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel

Address: Tafrata - Palmeraie de Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £147 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. Built as the owner's family home, in the Oriental-Andalusian style in a 5 acres park, 36 years ago, this majestic old residence with its charming and peaceful garden stands in front of the Atlas Mountains with his heated pool. This Villa-riad was turn into a luxury eight en-suites & rooms guesthouse in 2000, all of the very highest quality, is now run by the owner children, Anne & Stephane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Ayniwen Marrakech
Dar Ayniwen Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing