We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“riad marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Doukkala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Doukkala
Ranked #521 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“riad marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

wonderful haven in the middle of city. the service was excellent and the food exquisite. The staff were very helpful and accomodating. the decor is stunning with 3 roof top terraces and many beautiful designs to look at everywhere. one of the highlights is the riads hammam
.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellecheesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Riad Dar Doukkala is a haven in the middle of the chaotic city that is Marrakech. From the moment we were greeted at the door on arrival by the owner, Philippe, we were made to feel totally at home. The Riad is decorated in a tasteful style combining local style and touches of the owners native french style. Each bedroom is different and ours (number 5) was perfect for two female friends traveling together. Opening onto the central courtyard, it had a wonderful bathroom and a separate sitting area. The atmosphere in one of total calm, in contrast with the atmosphere on the streets of Marrakech, just outside your front door. The location is perfect, a five minute walk to the Souks or the Square and despite warnings from everyone, we didn't get lost once. We dined in the Riad on two of our 3 nights and the food was delicious and served in the tranquil surroundings of the courtyard. The breakfast was also delicious and served where ever you wished to have it. In your bedroom, in the courtyard or on the roof top terrace where the views over the city are spectacular.
I could not find a single fault with Riad Dar Doukkala and would recommend it for anyone travelling to Marrakech who likes an oasis of calm to escape to.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmccDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

As has been said, from the moment you walk through the door, you are transported to a heavenly place. The rooms are spacious, beautiful and well appointed. You feel as if you are in a fairyland. The personnel is attentive to your every need while totally unobstrusive. And the food is "a party for the palate" - If you go, be sure to eat in at least once! While the breakfast is pretty much the same every day, we found ourselves looking forward to it as it is quite good. As for location, after experiencing the madness that is Marrakech, we realized that the location is outstanding for visiting anywhere in the Medina while also allowing taxis to drop you off within feet of the door.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Besttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

If you want to experience a true Riad atmosphere and indulge yourself like a Pascha, this is the place to be in Marrakech. It was my second time there and can't wait to go back !!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESCARZAGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

This riyad made our stay in marrakech.. it truely is the most magnificent place, you step through the door from the busy street into a haven of tranquility. We felt like being taken back in time to the 1920's.. the decor is beautiful and breathtaking - the main salon is a feast for the eyes with period pieces and tiles- and carefully restored. We stayed in room 4 - that fronts on to the court yard - and in our opnion having seen some of the others this is the best room - value for money, peace and quiet and the sunlight hitting the stain glass panels in the morning is beautiful, The pluge pool is refreshing (bearing in mind we went in november)!.. and you can make your way up to one of the tallest roof tops in marrakech to sun bathe in peace after a crazy morning at the souks or watch the sun go down.

The breakfast was gorgeous and filling, and we ate dinner by the fireplace in the lounge on the last night.. a real treat.

Whilst I speak French, (which is quite helpful) the staff all speak English and were very attentive and helpful.. especially when we had to get up at 5:30am to get our flight.. ouch! They also didn't push any guides or trips or anything on us - left us in peace to ask for as little or as much as we needed.

I always read these reviews and never write one but I want to say that this place was amazing.. quite honestly made our holiday and I truely believe you don't need to look anywhere else- I'd like to keep it a secret so they don't cotton on and put up their prices to match some of the probably less beautiful and unauthentic 'boutique' riyad's...

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TessC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2009

Just returned from Dar Doukkala and hardly have the words to decribe how wonderful it was. Philippe, the charming and courteous owner, has renovated this beautiful old house with style. Every room is individual (we managed to peek into most of them) and has character and quirky but luxurious touches. The staff were absolutely delightful. It is on an interesting street with local life/shops to explore but still only 5 mins from the souks. There is also a hammam so we could go together as a family. On the last night (on our return to Marrakech afer a few nights in Essaouira) we were upgraded to the suite at the top of the hotel with two private terraces and the largest bed I have ever seen. It is the individualty in design and the 'boutique' size that makes Dar Doukkala. There are more expensive, luxury, standard riads but I would go back here like a shot. This riad absolutely made our holiday.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2008

We loved the style of the riad, a complete contrast to the wonderful Dar Hanane. Unfortunately we experienced a service bypass. On arrival we were told to wait in the hall, then shown our room & given our room key. No tour of the riad, no tea, no information, nothing.

We were then asked several times when we wanted breakfast, a response of "when we get up" was greeted with frowns and sighs. This attitude continued, we always seemed to be disturbing someone - the staff eating, the porter sleeping, everything was too much trouble, even paying the bill. During our few days we were comforted that it wasn't personal, we witnessed an argument with customers checking out & a very abrupt tone to residents who were trying to decide whether to stay for a few more days - they went elsewhere.

The riad and it's furnishings are really great, comfortable and kitsch, not for you if you want an ethnic look. The pool was a good size for a riad with lovely terraces, the courtyard cool and tree filled. When we found the dining room it was gorgeous, resembling a very opulent Club Bar with a fireplace at either end providing a truely memorable breakfast setting.

We didn't eat at the riad as we found breakfast a little lacking with minimal fruit & no savoury items. Dinner was expensive (50% more than our previous riad) as was the wine and
drinks and no one would provide any insight into the menu.

The location was very easy to find and a great base. If you know Marrakech & love deco then you can enjoy the beautiful Dar Doukkala but service is not guaranteed.

  • Liked — The deco & 60/70s furnishings
  • Disliked — Service, especially the sighs & shrugs
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crudots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#32 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#36 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#81 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#44 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Doukkala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Doukkala

Property: Dar Doukkala
Address: 83 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #521 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Doukkala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dar Doukkala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing