We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people make the place special.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Soukaina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Soukaina
Ranked #189 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The people make the place special.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Dar Soukaina was distinguishable from the other riads we stayed in by its atmosphere of peace and warmth, attributable to the gentle and genuine natures of the staff, who went above and beyond duty in accommodating every wish and generously sharing their time, thoughts and conversation with us. From them we got a sense of the goodness of the people of Morroco. We stayed in fancier riads in other cities but none touched us as did Dar Soukaina. Aside from the people, the food (dinners) were exquisite, the service impeccable, the rooms spotless and tasteful, great bathroom. I see no need to try any other riad in Marrakesh and look forward to future stays at Dar Soukaina.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QamarCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    43
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
85
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

For the 3th time in 4 years we stayed at Dar Soukaina . We always like to end our trip through Morocco in this peacefull and tranquil little gem. Spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, great breakfast and above all a discreet, friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wimAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

Our family of 4 adults stayed for 4 nights in the 2nd week of March using 2 rooms overlooking the courtyard. This Riad is in the northern part of the Medina. It was quiet, clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts (included in the tariff) were a delight. Staff were very friendly and helpful for our stay and in booking our stay. Highly recommended for location, service and value for price. Well done!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billytea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

Dar Soukaina is wonderful. My husband and I stayed there on February 12 & 13 and it was the best place we stayed during our nine day trip, from the quality of the accommodations, the service, the location, and the food. It is only a 10 minute walk to the heart of the Medina, yet you are in a side street and hear only the sound of birds at night. The service was great; the caretakers were very friendly and service-oriented. We stayed in a room on the first floor, and it was romantic and spotlessly clean. The price was reasonable, compared to other riads. I would recommend this riad and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Dar Soukaina is a lovely little Riad, far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the souks and Djamaa El Fna but close enough to never feel out of the action. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but it is the staff that really make the place. It was so nice to come back after a day's haggling and sit down to some mint tea or fresh orange juice. Breakfast was nice and we also had dinner there, which was great as well. We had to leave early for a tour, before breakfast is usually served and they were very accomodation, offering to make us breakfast at 7.00 instead of 8.00. I can't fault this place. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenza2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OXON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2008

We are a familly, and we already stayed at Dar Soukaina last year, and because we enjoyed our stay, we realy love to return back this year.
We appreciate the high level of their service, the staff provide the most amasing and friendly service, we can access to internet which I use now to do this, the property is also wonderful, its location is excellant in the midle of the Médina at some few minutes to the main square. It is a oasis of tranquility,
small and simple and very clain.
I highly recommand it, we will certaily stay at dar Soukaina next year.

  • Liked — Breakfast, service
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Coolmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

Just a quick note to say what a great place to stay. Very pretty small rooms and really helpful staff. Based in the North of the Souks its in a perfect place away from the mayhem!

One tip we would give is to get yourselves a guide for the day, we have the contact details of one who was brilliant if anyone is interested.

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — no toilet door!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bentegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#110 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#298 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#202 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#109 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Ifoulki
Riad Ifoulki
#237 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#232 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Soukaina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Soukaina

Property: Dar Soukaina
Address: No19 & No24, Derb El Farrane, Quartier Riad Laarouss | Marrakech Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Soukaina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merely 10 minutes by foot from the famous Jemâa El Fna square, 3 minutes from the souks, in the heart of the prestigious Dar Bacha district and near a parking guarded day and night, Dar Soukaina invites the traveler in search of tranquility and of authenticity to savour the peace and refinement of a elegant old traditional ryad, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. The discreet but thoughtful service of Omar and his team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Soukaina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Soukaina Marrakech
Dar Soukaina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing