We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY PLACE”
Review of Jnane Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jnane Mogador
Ranked #167 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Everything good and nice
Room quite little but nice Moroccan style, Quite noise but its great to hear the jmaaelfna noises, very happy with the stay, the restaurant is good, the staff is friendly and helpful,i spent 3 beautiful nights there, please be aware to pay cash even if u paid credit card for the deposit, better if bring euros to pay

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyNegrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Jnane Mogador
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed 3 nights. Nice riad with own hamam. The rooms are cosy and typically styled for a riad. The roof terrace is amazing view. Service is ok as food also. They are just very picky about paying in advance or paying immediate after a service (they called after a massage, when nobody was at the reception for immediate payment.)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crebernik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

arranged for a airport transfer and although our plane was 2 hours late picked up and whisked straight to the riad no problems. Mohammed and his team were so friendly and helpful clean , tidy , friendly good food on the rooftop . All in all definitely recommend great value. Thank you for looking after us....... will try the spa next time!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian71Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

This Riad couldn't be better located in the Medina, right in the heart of the action, yet very easy to find. It's a recent redevelopment of an old building, so it's still fresh and well looked after, and kept spotlessly clean. Given all this it's great value for money.

The downsides (and to be fair these are quite minor) are that the rooms are fairly noisy- they have traditional Moroccan doors that look great, but let quite a lot of noise from the courtyard in. Also the rooms are rather small, but still fine if all you plan to do is sleep there Most disappointing is that the reception staff are ok, but rather cheerless which is a shame- you don't get as warm a welcome you normally associate with this part of the world. Having said that if you eat upstairs the waiters there couldn't be more friendly.

So all in all a great value option, we'll be going back, but there are small downsides

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffieldShuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Beautifully decorated traditional Moroccan style riad literally 1 minute away from Jemaa El Fna. Possibly one of the best locations available in the Medina, really easy to find when you are just arrived in town. Other riads were literally impossible to find unless with the help of a local. Rooms were small with limited storage space, although for a few days trip should be enough. Toilets were tiny but clean and with hot water. Our room faced the patio, which sometimes was quite noisy, especially before 10 pm due to restaurant guests and not great insulation. Staff were friendly enough. Restaurant staff were very friendly and breakfast there was a highlight of the trip for 40 DHS including tea/coffe, moroccan pancakes, croissant, eggs, home made yogurts and freshly squeezed orange juice. We did not lunch or dinne though. As for the heat/cold in the rooms, ours was absolutely perfect as it was warmish at night (outside temperature 8-10 degrees) and cool during the day when it was hot outside. Terrace was fantastic, although chilly at this time of the year out of sun hours.
Although the booking system might seem a bit suspicius sometimes (they asked for my card numbers or a western union transfer to secure the room by paying one night), we did not have any problems and got all the receipts. However, they did only accept cash to pay the rest of the days, so bear that in mind.
Totally recommended if on a budget and looking for something different to traditional hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albertouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The Jnane Mogador is a pretty riad about a minutes walk from the Medina's central square, Jemaa el Fna. As you walk through the door, first impressions are good. The reception staff had received our e-mail reservation and we were quickly shown to our room. Some might describe the staff as not being overly friendly, but we found them pleasant and helpful when asked anything.

We stayed at the hotel twice during the same trip, so were able to compare two of the double rooms: The rooms are decorated nicely in traditional Moroccan style and felt really authentic. They're not huge; but ours were perfectly adequate for two of us. They're cleaned daily and the linen smelt clean. The first room had a window onto an alley, which meant we had the benefit of fresh air, but could hear people talking as they walked past, which was sometimes early. This certainly didn't bother us though and even added to the experience. The second room was of similar size, but had a window facing into the riad. This room was a bit warmer and you could hear other guests opening and closing their doors, but again, this did not interrupt our sleep, we shut the window and plugged in the fan provided.

There is a restaurant in the hotel which is very pretty but we we didn't eat there as we wanted to explore a bit further afield. There is also a small hammam downstairs where they do massage, but unfortunately we didn't have time to check this out.

So what was not so good? - Nothing really. The decor is a litte tired which is probably why the price is reasonable, not enough to put you off, but just small things like the sinks are loose at the wall and so at an angle; the soap keeps sliding off - but that is about it. There's nothing that's going to spoil your trip unless you're expecting 5 star facilities at 3 star prices.

Do beware of the beds; they're extremely comfortable but have cast iron bed frames which apparently hurt your shins if you accidently catch the corner of them (this does provide some amusement for the person you're travelling with though!)

For those who are trying to keep the romance alive - the bathroom doors have latticed wood at the top - you can't see in unless you try hard, but you can hear each other on the loo! I'm a prude about that sort of thing and didn't find it too bad, but it might put you off if it's the first romantic break away.

In summary, if you're the sort of person who wants somewhere nice and clean to stay while soaking up the local culture then you can't go far wrong. If you want mod cons like english tv, room service and wifi then you're probably looking at the wrong hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I emailed Jnane Mogador asking about availability of a room for 2 people on a certain date. Here is, verbatim, what they wrote back to me:

"Hello,
We wait for another confirmations. Because we have lot of options of booking.
If you are still interested, contact us again ( just by e-mail) after 4 or 5 days, we will give you final answer. (if it's possible or not).
And remember us that you have been already sent ( e-mail ).
Regards. Mrs I."

Got that? What do you think the message is here--yes? no? maybe? try harder if you want a room here? I guess they aren't eager for our business, so we are going elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#131 of 502 in Marrakech
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#207 of 502 in Marrakech
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Riad Hotel Essaouira
#193 of 502 in Marrakech
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#342 of 502 in Marrakech
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sherazade
Hotel Sherazade
#275 of 502 in Marrakech
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#65 of 502 in Marrakech
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Mogador

Address: 116 Riad Zitoune Kedim | Derb Sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £33 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old imperial city, 70 metres from Djemaa El Fna Square, Riad Jnane Mogador offers a Moroccan restaurant, a spa and wellness centre. It also has a furnished terrace with views of the Medina and Atlas Mountains. All of the rooms at Riad Jnane Mogador are decorated in a Moroccan style. They all include a satellite TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries. A Moroccan breakfast is available every morning. Dishes such as Couscous or Pastille de Poulet can be sampled in the restaurant on site. After lunch, you can use free Wi-Fi access. It is 300 metres from Musee Marrakech and 1.7 km from the train station. The airport is 4 km away from the riad. There is a public car park at a location nearby, available at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jnane Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Mogador Marrakech
Jnane Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing