We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Explore Marrakech From!”
Review of Jnane Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jnane Mogador
Ranked #155 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2011

My family, including our five-year-old boy, spent four nights here in January, and it was great. It was easy to find when we arrived, because it is so close to Plaza Jemaa El Fna. The staff was friendly and welcoming, making us feel at home immediately. The building itself it very handsome and well-maintained. Everything is very, very clean. There is a pleasant little restaurant on top, which is definitely worth a visit.

The rooms were very reasonably priced, and the beds were comfortable. The rooms were not large, but our room was large enough for the three of us. We were able to receive wifi in our room, which was very convenient.

Next time I return to Marrakech (and I will) I shall stay here again.

www.riderbymyside.com

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riderbymyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2011

Stayed at Jnane Mogador recently for 5 days. Overall, given the excessive prices that are charged in Marrakech this place is excellent value for money, €29 per night for a single room ensuite with free wifi included. The location of this hotel is excellent, less than 100 metres from the main square Djemaa el Fna. The hotel is three story with a courtyard restaurant and lounge area offering excellent views of the Marrakech Medina. Reasonably priced breakfast is available for €4 and meals (tagines and couscous dishes) for €6-€8. However, the menu is the same every day. As with most of the medina area of Marrakech, alcohol is not served in this property.
There are some aspects of this property which may be off putting to some people:

1. The booking procedure is a joke and there is no secure online facility to do this. Instead they charge one night's stay as a deposit when you book a room and they request that you either email them your credit card number (very risky) or send the money by Western Union. This is what I did and it worked out ok.
2. One of the staff at reception was rather rude in that he demanded payment for the remainder of my stay on morning the second day. I was told when checking in that I could pay when their credit card machine was working. Previous reviews on this site of this hotel from a few months back have mentioned the "broken card machine", so this is still a problem here. In the end I gave him euro cash for the stay, which of course he made a profit of €10 on with his exchange rate.
3. Double bed in the room was made for a very small person. The room was also very small and not really big enough for a double bed anyway.
4. Room has traditional style wooden doors that open out into a courtyard, not very well soundproofed so you could hear the outside noise. Fortunately, the reception was staffed until late at night so noise from guests was not tolerated.
5. Ground floor rooms had bright decor and paintings on the walls but no natural light, the only window in the room was a stained frosted glass one that faced into the courtyard area.
6. Shower and taps need replacement washers, continuously dripping. No excuse for this as it is easy to fix.
7. No hot water early in morning. Had to leave at 7.00 for an escorted tour but not hot water available for a shower.
8. Frequent smell of a sewer in the bathroom. This is probably not the hotel's fault as it can be quite a common problem in Marrakech.
9. One day I saw a rat running across the floor of the rooftop restaurant. Again a common sight in Marrakech. Fortunately there are plenty of feral cats around to take care of pests.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, really on the price and its excellent location. Just expect to pay cash for your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Pro:

1) Unique location: very close to Medina and Djema el Fna square
2) Absolutelly cheap for what you get
3) Located in a traditional and very romantic ryad, simple but traditionally refined.
4) Wonderful terrace for breakfast and lunch.
5) As soon as you get out of the hotel you find what you are really expecting from Marraquesch: smells, colours, exoticism

Cons:

1) Most of the rooms are very little and inadequate for 2 people
2) Beds are not confortable and a little short.
2) Bathroom is really minimal, no places to put things on, little shower with a curtain ...
3) Hot water is available only in certain hours
4) Be ready to cohabitate with (hopefully) your hair in the room for the entire stay.
5) Table clothes are sometimes dirty
6) Can be noisy due to the other guests in the courtyard where all the rooms are located (but this is tipical of a ryad)
7) Located in a very narrow overcrowded street, sometimes bad smelling and not safe due to the continuous crossing of motorbikes that are litterally threatening lifes of tourists. This is an extremelly seruious problem of the entire center of Marraquesch: motorbikes are running like fools on the crowded streets of the city center and they don't care of pedestrians. You will meet the same problems in crossing big avanues due to the lack of rules on the streets. Traffic lights are rare and pedestrian crossings are rare and unrespected.BE REALLY CAUTIOUS!

Reccomendations:

1) I absolutelly reccommend this hotel it if you are a very easygoing person. This is Morocco, if you are searching for luxury, confort and vey high hygiene standards this ryad is not for you.

2) Ask for the bigger rooms (one is on the groudfloor and 2 are on the first floor)

3) If you need a driver call Larbi: +212 (0) 662269513. He is a punctual and responsible person. The fares we agreed for 4 people in a reserved 6 seats car were:

1) 500 dirhams, all day long availability
2) 200 dirhams for taking us to the restaurants and bringing us back to the hotel.
3) 150 dirhams to the airport.
4) 600 dirhams to bring us to Essaouira and way back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaneArgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Everything is located nearby within walking distance. The rooms were a little small, but always clean. The staff are all plesant, and greeted you with a smile every time they saw you. Tucked away from all of the hustle and bustle of the Medina. During the day, you can actually catch the bus from the Airport, and walk there through the Medina.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Room was clean but cramped (three beds in family room). Really hot as no air con so think carefully if you are booking in the height of summer. Staff were friendly and the meal we ate in the roof top restaurant was pleasant and the alcohol free beer tasted like nectar! Proximity is brilliant for the Grand Place - literally about 50 metres. However when we closed the door at night it was really quiet and made a restful change from the madness of Marrakech.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shefftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Stayed 3 nights in March. Felt like the genuine Marrakech experience. Traditionally styled, cosy rooms. The roof terrace is great for a quiet breakfast, and has the most amazing view at sunset out over Marrakech. It's the perfect spot to sit, read a book, enjoy some olives, and listen to the sounds of the surrounding mosques and Medina. Service and food were both good. We dined in the restaurant for dinner once. It was nice, but there is better (and worse) in the Medina and Souks. For a convenient, quaint, authentic place to stay, Jnane Mogador was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cottonsockz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Stayed for 4 nights at Jnane Mogador. Staff couldn't be more helpful or friendlier. The location is practically right on the main square where much of the action is. Very easy to find and right in the thick of things en route to one of the many souk areas. Once inside it is an oasis of calm, the rooms are very comfortable and clean and so dark that you might want to set your alarm for breakfast up on the terrace. Food is great. We were going to try another place to eat for the last night, but for quality, price, service and setting it would have been daft to go anywhere else. Very family friendly. You must try the hammam - brilliant! Wish we had paid a bit more and had the massage as well. We use a lot of budget hotels and we couldn't fault this place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TashanKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#206 of 502 in Marrakech
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#125 of 502 in Marrakech
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad 11 Zitoune
Riad 11 Zitoune
#462 of 502 in Marrakech
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Le Gallia
Le Gallia
#311 of 502 in Marrakech
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#169 of 502 in Marrakech
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#72 of 502 in Marrakech
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jnane Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Mogador

Address: 116 Riad Zitoune Kedim | Derb Sidi Bouloukat, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £33 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old imperial city, 70 metres from Djemaa El Fna Square, Riad Jnane Mogador offers a Moroccan restaurant, a spa and wellness centre. It also has a furnished terrace with views of the Medina and Atlas Mountains. All of the rooms at Riad Jnane Mogador are decorated in a Moroccan style. They all include a satellite TV and a private bathroom with free toiletries. A Moroccan breakfast is available every morning. Dishes such as Couscous or Pastille de Poulet can be sampled in the restaurant on site. After lunch, you can use free Wi-Fi access. It is 300 metres from Musee Marrakech and 1.7 km from the train station. The airport is 4 km away from the riad. There is a public car park at a location nearby, available at a surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jnane Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Mogador Marrakech
Jnane Mogador Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing