We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Riad El Arsat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad El Arsat
Ranked #405 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Like everyone else who has reviewed El Arsat, we too loved it. So what to say that has'nt already been said? Charles and Agnes and their staff are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. They have a lovely small Hammam and a hot tub on the upper terrace and you can have an excellent massage if you book in advance. We loved everything about this place, the garden, the atmosphere, the decor and the feeling that you were staying in a private house. When we arrived late and frazzled with 2 hungry teenagers, Agnes somehow managed to magic up an omelette and a glass of wine although it was long after her chef had gone home. One of the exceptional things about El Arsat is the large garden and the lack of noise, it is easy to forget you are in the heart of the city. I can't think of anywhere I would rather stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is one of the few Riads with a good sized garden and pool in the Medina. A 10 minute walk from the main square and other places of interest. The local staff is friendly though a little shy. Exception is Slimmen, who speaks good english and is very willing to help out.

The owner appeared to show less true hospitality. On our last day we were assured we could have our room until 5pm, when we would depart for home. At 1300 we were suddenly asked to settle our bill. 5 minutes after settling the owner asked us to leave the room at 15:00 because all over sudden new guests were going to arrive. Off course we did understand that. A pity though they couldn't offer us a place to have a shower at 5 pm.
Later we found the specific room was still bookable, as were 4 other rooms. It gave us a less nice feeling about the owner and her hospitality. Had we known before we couldn't keep the room longer, we would have made different plans. I now also felt bad about the high charge for the airport taxi they arranged (€ 25,-, where other Riads nearby charge € 15,-).

Room Tip: The room at the pool is very nice but can have less privacy when there are (manu) other guests aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Entering this garden of eden for the first time is difficult to describe. Respectful and fortunate are the two first words comming into my mind, and everyday when we returned from the roaring Berber Souk we enjoyed the accommodation and tranquility to the full.
Charles and the staff made this trip unforgettable, and they were helpful in any way needed.

Peter and Trine

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJM196604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you want tranquility right next door to the hustle and bustle of the Berber souk, the largest traditional market in Morocco, and what visitor to Marrakech doesn’t? - then Raid El Arsat, a lovingly restored and delightfully hosted old merchant's property, is the place for you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Two couples stayed here for one night - the next day we were flying home. We would have been very happy to spend more days here. It has an uninviting entrance at the end of a dusty narrow passage - and then you are ushered in to a wonderful open space with garden pond, pool etc. One of the largest spaces in a riad in Marrakech. We had a pool room (next to the pool) and the blue room - upstairs overlooking the garden and pool. The latter was an upgrade. The owner - Charles - speaks good English and is very welcoming. We had complimentary tea and home made biscuits on arrival. There are no keys to the rooms as it is very safe inside. The outside walls of terraces etc are lovely colours and in good repair. There is a great view over the rooftops from the top terrace.The rooms are well appointed. The water pressure in the pool room was poor and the water flow stopped - but Charles soon had it fixed for us.
It was our last night in Morocco so we decided to eat in the Riad - Wine £26 a bottle and meal for 4 was £170.Perhaps pricey but it was wonderful. We ate next to the pool and had wonderful starters of Moroccan salad - some hot and some cold eg aubergine and tomato, A number of these on dishes - bit like a tapas.
There is free Wi-Fi. Plenty of seating areas on all floors and lovely cool lounge to sit in whilst temperatures climbed to 40. Breakfast is typical - pancakes, yoghurt, orange juice, bread and jam.
We didn't have to leave our rooms until 2.00pm on our departure day and then we could sit in the lounge until taxi came. Charles and the staff were all very attentive. I highly recommend Riad el Arsat.

Room Tip: Upgrade to eg the blue room for bigger room, large en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Riadh El Arsat is one of the most beautiful and seculded joys I have encountered in a very long time - the last Garden of Eden if you will. Charles (the proprieter) was every helpful and wonderfully accomodating to our every need: organizing taxis, drinks, and meals for us. We had a room by the pool which was an absolute delight to wake up to each morning. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Raid El Arsat is a beautiful Marrakech experience that I challenge you not to love! By rights, it should have a much higher Tripadvisor ranking.

From the moment you enter the gates, it feels like you are in your own private palace. The delightful hosts have created something stunning from a very old merchant's property - it is lovingly restored, with great attention to detail. The central garden and swimming pool make you quickly forget the hustle and bustle outside, giving you the chance to breathe. We had a large room opening out onto a terrace with a view onto the gardens - sublime.

I looked long and hard for this type of property and was so happy I chose this one. I guarantee that you will have a truly wonderful time!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beautiful_life23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#50 of 500 in Marrakech
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#63 of 500 in Marrakech
1,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,250 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Arsat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Arsat

Property: Riad El Arsat
Address: 10 Derb Chemaa, Arset Loughzail | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Arsat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Riad El Arsat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing