We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Berber Magic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red House
Ranked #49 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Berber Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife organised a surprise family trip for my birthday. The combination of Marrakech and the Red House was simply magical. We had the Imperial suite but by no means at an imperial price. The suite is beautifully furnished and huge both inside and out with an expansive terrace overlooking the pool and the walls of the Medina. The hotel is about a ten to fifteen minute walk away from the main square where the acrobats, snake charmers, food stalls and the souks are to be found. The terraces overlooking the square are a great place for lunch and a drink though drinks are usually non-alcoholic.

Abdel and the team are all friendly, helpful and charming. Abdel runs the hotel - major hotel chains take note - with effortless skill and organisation. We worked out that he speaks seven languages including Berber (evidently one of the oldest language groups known predating Egyptian). The hotel organised restaurants, camel trips, taxis and entertainment and even gave us the use of the hotel car when it wasn't being used elsewhere.

The Red House itself is an excellent restaurant with a resident musician who plays an instrument much like a lute but which has name I can neither spell or pronounce. If you are a musician there is also an upright piano (no. 20 in Morocco) and an old Epiphone guitar which is badly in need of tuning. I tried but sadly and to my deep embarrassment I broke a string so you'll need to pack a spare G string when you go.

The hotel picks you up and drops you back at the airport and they don't chase you out of the room. In Abdel's words, "Keep the room when you want, make it nice to the end." He did and we are very grateful for a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: The imperial suite has two bathrooms, two bedrooms and a lounge. In fact, it is larger than most Lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    52
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
61
219
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Its hard to put into words but this hotel and its staff are second to none! The fantastic service given by Abdel and his staff left us wishing we had booked a longer trip. The Red House itself is a splendid example of Moroccan opulence but it is well used and very comfortable. My travel companion and myself were given 'The Blue Room', which overlooked the beautiful garden and had a four poster bed and double balcony. There were even two showers, which meant we could both get ready at the same time without wasting time waiting for the other to vacate the facilities! The hotel has an award winning restaurant that is open to the general public as well as guests and people come by recommendation to sample the food. The breakfasts, lunches and Dinners are excellent and plentiful and the Chef is proud of his kitchen and staff. His enthusiasm for his work shines and this is reflected in the quality of the food offered. It is also nice to have the option of having your breakfast tray delivered at a time of your choosing (between 5am and noon!), to either your room, the poolside or the restaurant. We enjoyed breakfast on the balcony in our PJ's most mornings.

I am a keen Geocacher and mentioned to Abdel, when we arrived, that I would like to locate the 4 existing caches in Marrakech. He was thrilled by the idea of helping me and took myself and my friend in his own car to the locations we needed, in order for us to find them. He also allowed the placing of a cache in the grounds of the hotel. All of this was done in his own time and with great enthusiasm. Thank you Abdel :)

To rate this hotel is not difficult, as it gets full marks on all counts. The rooms are comfortable, well air conditioned, very clean and rather lavish. The food is excellent, plentiful and of superb quality for the region. The Hotel itself is splendid, with a wonderful clean pool but most of all the Staff are absolutely worth their weight in Gold. Very many thanks again to Abdel, Steve, Morgan Freeman and Barak (you all know who you are), for a wonderful holiday in your beautiful city. We will be sure to visit again and again!!! Also, thank you so very much for making my Birthday so special! :)

Another tip, book your trips from the hotel, they are far cheaper and give a more personal service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurgessArbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The Red House is perfection! From the moment we were met at the airport to the time of our departure we enjoyed wonderful customer service. The highly-trained staff took care of our every wish - we were treated with respect and good humour. The building is beautiful, rooms large and comfortable. The quality and presentation of food is excellent and how lovely to be served breakfast by the pool! The Red House is in a terrific location, being just a short walk to the medina. Exceptional!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

There are two types of hotel I enjoy: big, luxurious, anonymous ones when I'm on business and small personal ones when I'm on holiday, with excellent customer service where you learn the name of the staff looking after you by the second day. The Red House is amongst the best of the latter variety.
First, we were met at the airport by the complementary car service (the driver had lots of personality); then we arrived at this old Marrakech palace and felt as if we'd been transported to another world. It's more like being invited to a large private house in many ways, being spacious and with a kind of slightly faded glory which suits the atmosphere of the hotel perfectly. Everything is impeccably clean with wonderful modern touches like big screen TV's and personal Nespresso machines in the room. The meals were also among the best we had.
What really separates this old palace from many of the Riads is the opportunity to relax in the afternoon at the swimming pool. It's never crowded - there being only 8 rooms - and although there's a bit of traffic noise, the atmosphere is sublime. We breakfasted each morning and dined one evening under the pergola in the garden and still have wonderful memories of the Red House and its impeccable service.

Room Tip: The suite with a separate TV room and 2 bathrooms is exceptional value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ModularMagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steinwenden, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

What is unique about this hotel is the value for money combined with superb service. We recently stayed in one of the Royal Suites -- which for the price was outstanding; with a large room, two bathrooms and a separate sitting room with another tv and comfortable seating--perfect for relaxing when my wife wanted to stay up and work on her laptop after I went to sleep. The staff were extremely attentive to every detail -- the room was immaculate in cleanliness; and we had assistance with reservations, drivers, restaurants, excursions, walking tours, hammams, shopping, even directions to the local Carrefore market to buy our own wine (at a fraction of the restaurant prices), water & Coke zero (200 meters away),
The key distinction between this hotel and those Riads in the walled Medina is the outdoor space. While many riads have a roof deck, and some have a small pool inside the Riad, you can actually lay out by the pool at the Red House, surrounded by beautiful, private gardens. This can be a nice way to end an afternoon of gritty, dusty site seeing in the Medina.
Also, walking around the immediate neighborhood to fine dining, bars and nightclubs, is very convenient for the traveler who had a big day out.
The hotel is small (less than 10 rooms), and therefore quiet, it is not for people who prefer large impersonal / anonymous hotels with legions of staff. It is beautiful, charming and romantic.
We will return...

Room Tip: Suites are worth every penny....tons of space to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nordstrand, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This hotel is located very near the medina, apx 5 min walk away, and only about 7-8 minutes close to the "new town". The staff at this hotel is amazing....I had never experienced that kind of service any other place. Specially Abdel, the concierge, is so determined to his work and delivers way beyond what you will expect from a consierge. So is the driver, the restaurant staff, -and also the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tone V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Small 5 Star Hotel with great service. Professional Receptionist. Clean and large suits like european standart. Perfect food quality. I really enjoy my time and i will come back for sure.
Don t need a huge Hotel with hundred of rooms. It is an oasic in the jungle!!

Room Tip: 203 ( large Suit with 2 TV and and and )
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siebenmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#117 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.2 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
0.2 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#177 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#19 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House

Property: The Red House
Address: Avenue El Yarmouk | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Red House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing