We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“traditional and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red House
Ranked #45 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moretonhampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“traditional and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Beautiful hotel quite near the centre of Marrakesh but away from the noise and souks.Hotel clean and quite spectacular interior very typical of Morroco.Close to the super market and restuarants.Staff very friendly and helpful, we had an upgrade to our room,free airport transfers and a complimenatry drink to end our stay.Hotel staff organised guides for us to see the Atlas mountains and Essuaoria.Also goos eating out recommendations.Abdul is very knowledgable and speaks good English.

Room Tip: The King suite has two bathrooms and good wifi/internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susi351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    52
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
61
219
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SuttonSon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We visited Marrakesh in Jan 2014 as a 25th wedding anniversary trip & to take in the Marrakesh marathon.

I chose the hotel primairly based on its proximity to the race start / price & the feedback from this website.

The currency of Morocco is the Dirham and whereas our currency symbol is GBP the dirham is MAD - to anyone who has not visited this sums up Marrakesh completely . The main tourist districts are the French quarter - Hivernage & the old medina where the souks are - This is a mad mad place & the you have to visit it to believe it. Every road crossing is a mini adventure & with the sights & sounds & smells you expect Indiana Jones to come hurtling towards you around a corner at any moment.

Then there is the Red House. It is perfectly located to to explore Hivernage & lies literally across the road from the Medina walls which shields the hubub within. Most importantly as other reviews hint it is a lovely calm oasis which offers a perfect respite from the hubub of the centre. The pool is heated & prestine & the gardens well maintained. Because it is on a main road there is still some traffic noise but even so a great escape.

The rooms are large & well decorated , possibly slightly tired but nothing that will detract from your stay. They room feels more like a little apartment because they are on split levels with the toilet & bathroom & shower areas up some stairs. All rooms are spacious with massive beds - even the basic "princely" suites. The resteraunt is excellent (see seperate reviews) but a little pricey so you wouldnt eat there every night.

Breakfast was large & set you up perfectly for the day. Thew staff are excellent & although Abdel the front desk manager has the best English (ask him about his trip to Ireland) the other guys are just as willing to help & they can all speak some English- some better than others.

Given the number of good reviews on tripadvisor I was a little apprehensive that maybe it was all made up & the place was a dud. I was pleasantly reassured that this is not the case. However like another reviewer I can understand why people might expect more from this hotel than it delivers. Certainly it is not cheap. If you are on a budget there are cheaper alternatives inside the old city with charm & good service. But I think the key to the Red House is the lack of negative reviews because for most customers there is little to get too upset about - especially when you put the hotel into context of where it is & what surrounds it(obviously there will always be the exception to this rule - but thats life).

If Im being ultra picky - compared to other hotels in area a bit pricey, shower not great (but maybe water pressure in the middle of a desert is a factor !) the coffee making facilities in the room are NOT complimentary so take care - £2.50 a shot. Mini bar well stocked but pricey (go out of resteraunt door turn left & supermarket is 400 yards down the road on right hand side).

However these are mini moans & all I can think of. Overall the place is worth it for the staff alone they were great.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good & perfectly adequate for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuttonSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elviria, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We spent 5 days at the Red House and would like to spend another. Abdel and whole staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The situation of the hotel just outside the Medina was perfect for us, we could walk everywhere, in fact we never used a taxi. There were restaurants and Spa's just round the corner, with plenty of night life to be had, or not as you prefer.
There is no Spa or Fitness Centre in the hotel, but there are many facilities nearby.
Shopping in the new Town is 15 mins walk away or about the same to the Medina.
There is a Supermarket 10 mins walk, where you can buy wines, spirits and beers, and anything else you might need, plus there is a Pharmacy on the way

Room Tip: Road side rooms have more winter sun, but there is more traffic noise, but we didn't find this a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The hotel made life so simple, picking us up from the airport and arranging our transport for days out. On arrival at the hotel, we were sat down and offered mint tea, whilst our bags were carried to our room. Breakfast was a real highlight - delivered on huge brass plates with fresh orange juice each day.
It was a perfect location was walking around the souks, but also seeing the modern parts of the city and being able to sleep without the call to prayer waking you up at 5am was worth the money alone!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McDencho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I must say, when we booked The Red house we might have had a little too high expectations, because of the other reviews here on Tripadvisor.

When a hotel has a 4.5 in avarage i expect to be blown away! - but we where not.

Not to say that it was a bad hotel, not at all! it just wasnt perfect.

The staff was very friendly and helpfull! - but only one person spoke english. We managed and it didnt bother us, but it could be a little confusing.

The room was beautiful, but there was no pressure in the showers, and our bed was VERY squeky.

The pool and garden area was beautiful!

The room service was avarage (at best)

We enjoyed our stay, but left a bit underwhelmed - mostly because of our high expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooperpotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My daughter and I went to the Red House as recommended by our stay at the Rui tikida palameriae we went on the Thurs which was excellent and went back again on Saturday which was again v good my daughter has a resturant in Robin Hoods Bay and was talking to the manager about food . May I say which was amazing so happy with our meal and attentive staff thank you for all you did for us to make it very special Denise and Hayley

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barsopen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The location of the Red House is ideal, a quiet residential area just outside the Medina but within sight of the Medina's wall. and close to the souk, which is a must for visitors. We were picked up at the airport ( and returned) by Abdul, the hotel's driver and were soon at the 'hotel'. It is much more than a hotel, the architecture is magnificent and the internal decoration is amazing especially in the restaurant where the symmetry is to be admired on the walls and ceilings, Our room was very spacious with two bathrooms and a separate lounge. It was maintained to a high level of cleanliness throughout our stay.One day after taking a shower I noticed that the bathroom floor was very wet and found that a seal on the shower door was broken, I reported it and it was repaired within the hour. This typified the commitment of the staff to providing an excellent service. Breakfast was a pleasant experience being taken in the garden on warm mornings, far different to the weather we had left behind in Wales. The pool was the ideal place to cool off as the temperatures in the afternoon was in the high twenties and the poolside refreshment service was also very good. As we both wanted to experience the delights of a hamman and not sure were to go we asked Abdel, the front office manager for his advice and he asked if he could book one for us, which we accepted. We could not have gone to a better place and we both had a wonderful experience, so much so that my wife had another hamman a few days later. I felt that the restaurant prices were on the high side and we tended to eat out in the evenings, although the restaurant should be experienced for at least one evening, the food is good and the belly dancer well worth watching. I have left the best to last, and that is the staff of the hotel, I have already mentioned Abdel, but all the staff are friendly and always prepared to go that extra step, with a smile, for the residents. I will not mention any names as I am sure that I will miss one out, but a very big thank you to you all for making our holiday truly amazing..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#118 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.2 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#30 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
0.2 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#179 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Viva
Riad Viva
#60 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House

Property: The Red House
Address: Avenue El Yarmouk | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Red House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing