We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are rude, awful breakfast, location okay.”
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Andalous
Ranked #403 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 26 September 2011

So we just got back from our stay in Marrakech. It was okay. When we first arrived we met the hotel staff - who never answered our calls or emails to pick us up from the airport.

On arrival at the hotel, we got charged our room price immediately (I have normally paid for it in the end). Also, the air conditioning did not work in the room. So we had to switch rooms.

Also, we found it difficult to get towels from the hotel staff. We took some extra ones from a member of staff and it turned into a huge argument.

The breakfast, was okay, ALOT of croissants!! No fruit and no cereal was there. So we had too much carbohydrates on our stay there. The pancake lady took a day off on the Thursday as that was the only thing we enjoyed eating.

We were also told it is a close walk to the square, it wasn't really, in the heat it seemed a lot longer.

Overall, I found it very hard to haggle for everything there. It seemed like a constant fight with people, but if you are prepared for it in the heat and everything then thats fine! After a while you somehow give up on haggling there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ninag516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in September, .The pool was lovely ,beds good but rooms a bit shabby ,poor room service,but clean. Food not good and reception staff off-hand, but all in all we enjoyed our stay but wouldn,t stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights using the B&B option as part of a package. Firstly I would like to say I found the staff to be pleasant enough. This was not down to tipping (as other reviewers have suggested) but simply speaking to them respectfully and having an understanding of the general culture of being laid back.

The breakfast was not spectacular, eggs rather greasy and not much choice. I found the freshly made morrocan pancakes made it more tasty and the pastries and boiled eggs made a perfectly filling breakfast.

The pool was a decent size and was clean with well positioned sunloungers.

There was also a late opening bar and club/restaurant on the premises. We only went once for a drink but it seemed a hit with local
/Morrocan people and had a nice ambience.

Locations is excellen for the square and uptown. Marrakesh touristique bus stops on the corner of the hotel which made it easy to see the attractions. Always taxis outside so easy to get around. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank djjojojuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel in may last year, although the reception area is quiet dark, check in was quick and efficient, rooms are spacious and have small balcony overlooking the pool.
Breakfast was ok, all you need really, a lady making moroccan pancakes and an omelette station.
Pool area is lovely, there is a Snack bar near by the pool where you can order drinks and light lunch ( sandwiches, paninis,...etc )

Overall, good value for the price we paid, I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank othmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Went to the Hotel Andalous for 4 nights with my sister and parents. The entrance to the hotel is lovely, however the rooms really let this hotel down. Beds and bathroom were clean however the carpets were filthy and needed replacing. The maid did her best and did hoover daily, but this didn't seem to actually make any difference. The air conditioning was great, however leaked badly in my parents room - water running down the wall. Showers were good, however ours wasn't attached to the wall so was a bit tricky to use without soaking the place. Balcony was quite small and to be honest the entire room could do with an upgrade. The breakfast was fine - typical continental, however no ham or cheese-offered these on the last day - appears that you have to pay an extra charge for these. Pancakes, porridge and boiled/scrambled eggs also available. The one good bit about the hotel was it's location - 15 min walk to both the Kotoubia Mosque/Jeema el fnaa square and Gueliz. Most of the staff were friendly (took a couple of days to warm to you), however the man at the reception was downright rude when there was a problem. We left the pool (which was great) at 4.45pm and returned to our room to get ready for the evening. However, we had no towels. Had to wait over an hour for towels which meant we missed our restaurant booking. Complained to the receptionist as we were hanging about soaking from the pool but he just shrugged his shoulders and said he didn't care. One other major issue we had were the incredibly obvious prostitutes in the hotel bar. Didn't offend us - however it did offend some residents. Nightclub/restaurant downstairs was the wierdest place - went in for a drink at 11pm , wouldn't let us sit at a table - only at the bar. People having dinner with banging music - so loud you could feel the music upstairs in the main bar. Would be a really good club but odd restaurant as you couldn't have a conversation. Overall we had a great time in Marrakech, and the hotel was a good budget base, however if I would look for a better hotel next time I visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alisonmac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The hotel was good value for money, but in no way a 4 star. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the air con worked. Also we had hot water 24/7. The swimming pool area was spacious and had plenty of sun loungers with a well staffed bar (although the staff didn't always treat your request with urgency and on one day they had run out of wine and beer!). The food was at best average, but there was a reasonable selection. We stayed for 4 nights on a bed and breakfast basis and made the mistake of having dinner at the hotel on the first night which was massively expensive for the standard of the food and the quality of the service. Staff at the hotel were on the whole friendly with reasonable English, but obviously as with any place we did encounter the odd staff member who didn't seem to love their job! We found the hotel to be in a great location as it is approx midway between the old town (Medina) and new town areas - that's if you don't mind a bit of a walk as it's about 15-20 mins to each. Once again, it's really not 4 star but on the money we paid we really can't complain. If we visited Marrakech again on such a tight budget we would consider staying there again but again only on a B&B basis.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hannah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I've just got back from a four day trip with my family and had slight reservations about this hotel having read some of the reviews on here. Actually this hotel was completely fine, clean rooms, friendly service, clean pool. All I'd say is double check your air con works when you arrive (ours was quite clunky and noisy so difficult to sleep with it on), guard your bathroom towels with your life, if you want to go for a shower around midday your old ones will have been taken and new ones won't arrive until early evening; and bag your sun beds early as when it's busy you can't always find one! The beers in the bar are cheaper than if you buy outside by the pool and there are local places for a very hearty breakfast for 30dh instead of the 200dh the hotel offers (!). If reception staff recommend you visit the 'fantasia' evening - I highly recommend you don't! It cost about £35 each but as soon as you get there, 'entertainers' are asking you for tip money, the food is awful, slow in coming and you have to pay extra for drinks. The show itself is confusing, poor quality and definitely not entertaining... The '15 minute drive' turned out to be half an hour so all in all we found it a huge waste of money and one of our evenings! This hotel is not a 4 star in the european terms but it's absolutely fine! My final tip is to only pay max 100dh for a taxi to/from the airport - it's very close by!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scullybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Ambassadeurs
Hotel Les Ambassadeurs
#326 of 500 in Marrakech
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#221 of 500 in Marrakech
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Hotel Farah Marrakech
#452 of 500 in Marrakech
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#190 of 500 in Marrakech
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#405 of 500 in Marrakech
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Opera Plaza Hotel
Opera Plaza Hotel
#124 of 500 in Marrakech
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £39 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing