We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel but customer service needs work!”
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Andalous
Ranked #343 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not a bad hotel but customer service needs work!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you're looking for a hotel in Marrakech that has a nice pool and a bar that serves alcohol, then I would recommend this place. The hotel is also in a good quiet location, not far from the centre.

Our room was a nice size with two comfortable double beds.Very clean as well. Efficient aircon and a small balcony. satellite TV though trying to find the channel I wanted was a mystery! The bathroom is also a nice size with a wide mirror and lots of space around the sink. Also hair dryer.The shower however was a faint trickle and trying to find the right temperature was difficult. Our shower head was also broken and kept breaking away from the the pipe.

There was free wifi in the hotel but this was very inconsistent and kept losing connection. Several times I heard people at the reception complaining about this.

Breakfast was buffet style and the choice wasn't bad. We only stayed B&B so can't comment on the rest of the food.

My main annoyance with this hotel was the lack of customer service from the majority of staff, particularly reception staff. This was obviously my first impression of the hotel. Upon arrival there was a woman at reception who ignored me until I explained that i wanted to check in. Then she just handed me some paperwork to fill in without even speaking! Then she started to do something else and I was suddenly dealing with her colleague.

However, the following day there was another woman at reception who couldn't have been different. She organises the excursions but was also helpful with other info re-the hotel. Very friendly lady and the fact she smiled a lot made us feel welcome.

The bar staff were rude and asking for a glass to have with a beer seemed like a chore. The ladies cleaning the rooms appeared to be some of the most friendly staff in the hotel and greeted us every time we saw them. maybe they should be working on reception!

Room Tip: Choose one with a view of the pool at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    279
    234
    106
    94
See reviews for
198
220
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just got back from this hotel..was all very nice except the reception staff are as helpful as a chocolate tea pot.the other staff are helpful though..room was fine hard mattress though.the pool was great nice and big with a bar area for beer and soft drinks..great location can walk to the main sq in about 15 mins..breakfast was so so ..I would recommend staying here..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cozmobozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Was concerned prior to arrival as there were so many bad reviews. However, our experience was good. The staff were helpful. The best bit about breakfast was the Meloui - Moroccan pancakes cooked fresh in the dining hall, although there were other things available. There was a good selection for the buffet dinner (which was inclusive in our deal) with salads, hot food mainly Moroccan with lots of vegetables, and deserts. Useful to have some French as some staff had limited English (not a bad thing). The location was good. It was a quiet area and even though we had a room at the front was not disturbed by traffic at night. It took us about 30 mins to walk to Jamma El Fna Square - too hot to walk fast, although taxis were available. Tip: take tissues as many toilets we went to in Marrakesh did not appear to have toilet paper. Pool area was adequate and refreshing after sightseeing in the morning. The hammam is also worth a go. Overall, good value for money and would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Well equipped, comfortable rooms with a lovely pool. Very grateful be situated away from all the hustle and bustle of the Medina but within walking distance from everything. This hotel offers an awful lot with great lively entertainment and bar/club downstairs should you choose. Round the clock room service in a grand well priced hotel. We bought our own alcohol, filled the fridge with soft drinks and enjoyed the relaxed escape from the busyness of the city when needed. I would suggest always getting food outside for quality and price. For drinks and everything else you need its right here. A 20 minute walk from the centre but also well situated for other restaurant, bars and clubs around the city.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daznsarahr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Essentially this hotel was exactly what was required. In a quiet district 15 minutes walk from either the Medina or the New town. Rooms were comfy with balcony, fridge and good shower. Pool is lovely with plenty of sun beds. Breakfast consists of cereal, pastries, breads or plenty of North African delicacies, If you want a fry up go to Benedorm! Staff very helpful.

Prices in the bar are as you would expect 35Dh for a beer, the same as most bars around in the new town. There is a local shop round the corner for crisps, water or a beer.
Good restaurant Le 6 or Carusos five minutes walk or plenty in the New town

Overall great stay and ignore the negative reviews, this is North Africa not the Costa Blanca!
Marrakech is fun, just absorb yourself in it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

:-( Most hotel staff are all good and helpful, except the rude woman at the reception.. Who was extremely rude and unhelpful.. Full of herself and very unwelcoming.. Felt like leaving the hotel even before checking in..!! However the other staff were ok..!! Most of the cleaners were happy and freindly apart from one which always had a face on and was misrable..!! Breakfast wasnt all that too.. Only drcent thing was the fresh "parathas" being made and tea and coffee was standard. Overall hygene was good around the hotel and in the diner..!! Would i visit this hotel again..?!! ...NO..!!

Helpful?
Thank B1GGIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
st albans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

we arrive at 1.00 pm for check in they say the hotel is full, waiting time is 4 hours

than the 1 floor of the hotel where we stay durring the nigth smell from the kitchen bins verry verry

bad, loccation very good

Room Tip: not for me sorry ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otmanabdaless1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#262 of 500 in Marrakech
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#255 of 500 in Marrakech
2,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#385 of 500 in Marrakech
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#397 of 500 in Marrakech
394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#315 of 500 in Marrakech
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Novotel Suites Marrakech
#208 of 500 in Marrakech
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Property: Hotel El Andalous
Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing