We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Andalous
Ranked #400 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 4 November 2013

After reading quite a few negative reviews we were a bit worried, but we were pleasantly surprised! Lovely environment, very friendly staff, fast service, couldn't fault their service in any way. Our 7day stay was very comfortable. Breakfast, dinner time were great, we were greeted by the very friendly staff, they served us attentively, food menu was full of variety, so much to choose from, our son is allergic to quite a lot of stuff, but great caution was taken, which made our stay much easier, we didn't have to worry too much. We really enjoyed our stay at el Andalous, would definitely recommend it to others :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abuwindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Andalous
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I, members of a 17-strong group of ramblers, stayed in this hotel half-board for 10 days in October. 15 out of 17 were ill at various stages during our stay, with symptoms including diarrhoea and vomiting. (I still have not fully recovered almost 2 weeks later!) Whether or not the hotel food/drink was at fault I do not know, but we saw enough during our stay in Marrakech and travels in the surrounding area to seriously question the level of hygiene generally.
The hotel itself is not 4 star, more accurately 3 star. The rooms are spacious and airy, but the standard of fixtures and fittings are "tired" to say the least, and there was little evidence of vacuuming of our floor. Room had a minute balcony (made even smaller by an air-con unit) with a table a 2 chairs (which would have been virtually impossible to squeeze into) and looked not to have been cleaned for several years! One of the 2 lifts seemed to be out of service more than it should.The pool area is quite impressive, while the interior bar is badly lit and uninviting. (Why do Moroccan establishments seem to delight in dimly-lit eating and drinking areas?) The breakfast and dinner offerings were average and uninspiring, but there was a good variety of dishes on offer on a buffet basis.
Staff at reception and in the dining room tended to be either friendly and helpful or unfriendly and unhelpful with "attitude". I have to say that it was generally the males who fell into the latter category. One male individual at reception always seemed to be either carrying on a permanent phone conversation or was deeply involved in some PC internet issue and reacted with undisguised irritation to any interruption of his activities by hotel guests seeking assistance!
The hotel is quite well located in relation to the Medina and markets and sited in one of the more salubrious areas of Marrakech, but guests coming into and out of the hotel had to run a gauntlet of disaffected former employees of the hotel, who had set up a pavement protest encampment beside the entrance. There was no physical harassment by these protesters, who seemed to have been there for a long period, but the stench of urine and litter of uneaten food etc on the pavement was extremely unpleasant necessitating a diversion out onto the road to avoid getting too close. Not a very edifying experience!
All-in-all we enjoyed Marrakech, which in parts is a very pleasant, spacious city full of interesting buildings, parks etc, and the walking in the nearby lower Atlas Mountains, with its many Berber Villages, was well worth-while.
To summarise; we enjoyed an interesting trip, but would we go back? - a definite "NO"!

Room Tip: Rooms on the interior side have a pleasant view over the pool area. Avoid the upper floors because o...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank den351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Despite its four stars, it has more aspects of a three stars. The room was very nice with a beautiful view on the swimming pool. The wi-fi, unfortunately is poor. It does work but after connection often the internet line seems too slow. The restaurant is reasonable, while breakfast could be improved very much. I found the Hotel clean, here and there showing signs of time. The staff is helpful and the swimming pool is very good. Nothing more refreshing that a swim after a long day visiting town. There is a bar, where live music goes on after 11 PM.

Room Tip: ask for a room exposed to west, so that you can enjoy a lot of sun
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfrompisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Arrived at reception at 22.00hrs on the 27/10/13
A female reception staff completely ignored us. I had to say to her that we have had a very long and tiring day and can we be attended too please. She gave us a form to fill out with absolutely no communication. Handed us the key, pointed to the elevator and told us to find our way with our luggage to the fifth floor. Very unhelpful receptionist with no customer consideration in mind. The room was presentable with two single beds. There were two chairs and a small table. A chair with broken legs. Could have been disastrous if we had sat on it. Oh well, very tired furnitures. The bathroom is also very tired. Twenty Five DH a day to use the locked safe in our room. Should we be charged for this security? Small balcony and walls was absolutely disgusting and dirty. Breakfast is what was expected so we part provided our own. Swimming pool was very pleasant. Surrounding areas was also clean and relaxing. And yes, whilst getting changed in our room for the pool a man put his key into our locked door and entered claiming it was his room. This sort of entry seems to be a problem as other customers experienced same.
This hotel is in need of desperate refurbishment.
Lifts not working at times.
Needs accommodating and understanding reception staff who understands that travellers are tired from their journeys and should be attended too on arrival. Not ignored.
Intermittent WiFi and very frustrating when connection is lost
A gentleman introduced himself as Hassan was absolutely superb when informed of our intruder and communicated with us on a daily basis. Staff we came in contact with in the restaurant were very nice and helpful.
For us it was walkable distance to most places eg the Spice Village, the Souks and Restaurants
And of course there is some kind of workers dispute/strike going on. These workers are camping/picketing outside the hotel. Have been there for some considerable length of time.
For me it is certainly not a four star hotel and it reflexs from entry to exit.

Room Tip: Do not know if there are quiet rooms as two sides of the hotel there are traffic noise, at the back...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gulsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

It was a relief to arrive at hotel El Andalous after several nights in less salubrious places. I have decided that you must be prepared to spend a bit more in Morocco for comfort and cleanliness at the expense of local colour. We spent three nights here. The hotel is not new but first impressions were favourable, with a large foyer, bars, restaurants and best of all, a really good swimming pool area. we wasted little time getting to the pool- watch out for the high prices for alcoholic drinks though. Our room was large, twin double beds comfortable, linen clean and white. The other furniture was a bit tired and four plastic coat hangers in the robe was poor. The bathroom was still quite fresh looking and everything worked well. The seat in the separate toilet refused to stand up by itself, don't you hate that, men? The lifts and corridors are in need of refurbishing. Breakfast was reasonable by Moroccan standards with more choices than we have had for a while. We had a good meal in the downstairs restaurant- we passed on the D200.00 buffet. On our return visit our room was not ready at three pm- not good enough. After protest we eventually obtained a room that was ready. The hotel is about 1 1/2 km from the main square, walkable, just.

Room Tip: Try to get one looking out over the pool. As always, make sure everything works in your room- here w...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the end of september...we did enjoy our stay at the hotel

On arrival the reception staff were not very helpful, the concierge however was extremely helpful
On being taken to our room, we found that the room was not made up and so had to be moved to another room... not too much of a problem - new room was clean and big. Although the double bed is not really big enough for two people.

Pool is really nice and was relaxing and quiet with bar area.
You could get towels by the pool 100DH deposit, which you got back when took the towel back at the end of the day

Breakfast was ok... Pancakes were amazing and made fresh for you.

There was only one issue we had along with some of the other guests... Maid coming to our room at a random time - early hours of the morning, when hearing our voice she left, also we had someone call our room early hours of the morning. On speaking with other guest they had the same issue/concern, maid going into rooms at odd times (early hours of the morning or after the rooms had been made up) we had our own suspicions as to why this was.

Location of the hotel was great, 15 minute walk to the Square and there no was shortage of taxis outside the hotel.

Would I stay at this hotel again ... Possibly, due the fact that is is good value for money and the location was great.

Room Tip: There is a club in the hotel....so would advise not to get a room above the club
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welsh_lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you're looking for a hotel in Marrakech that has a nice pool and a bar that serves alcohol, then I would recommend this place. The hotel is also in a good quiet location, not far from the centre.

Our room was a nice size with two comfortable double beds.Very clean as well. Efficient aircon and a small balcony. satellite TV though trying to find the channel I wanted was a mystery! The bathroom is also a nice size with a wide mirror and lots of space around the sink. Also hair dryer.The shower however was a faint trickle and trying to find the right temperature was difficult. Our shower head was also broken and kept breaking away from the the pipe.

There was free wifi in the hotel but this was very inconsistent and kept losing connection. Several times I heard people at the reception complaining about this.

Breakfast was buffet style and the choice wasn't bad. We only stayed B&B so can't comment on the rest of the food.

My main annoyance with this hotel was the lack of customer service from the majority of staff, particularly reception staff. This was obviously my first impression of the hotel. Upon arrival there was a woman at reception who ignored me until I explained that i wanted to check in. Then she just handed me some paperwork to fill in without even speaking! Then she started to do something else and I was suddenly dealing with her colleague.

However, the following day there was another woman at reception who couldn't have been different. She organises the excursions but was also helpful with other info re-the hotel. Very friendly lady and the fact she smiled a lot made us feel welcome.

The bar staff were rude and asking for a glass to have with a beer seemed like a chore. The ladies cleaning the rooms appeared to be some of the most friendly staff in the hotel and greeted us every time we saw them. maybe they should be working on reception!

Room Tip: Choose one with a view of the pool at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#245 of 501 in Marrakech
2,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Hotel Farah Marrakech
#402 of 501 in Marrakech
980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#266 of 501 in Marrakech
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
#454 of 501 in Marrakech
818 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#332 of 501 in Marrakech
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #400 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £40 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing