We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grimey”
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Andalous
Ranked #394 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Forget the 4 star rating. This hotel is a shabby, run down 3 star at best. Reception staff were generally helpful. Breakfast staff were lovely. This hotel is desperately in need of refurbishment. The shower curtains have years of grime on them. But hey, you get what you pay for, and at £70 a night this hotel represents fairly reasonable value for money. The location is perfect. Quiet wealthy residential/hotel area only 15 mins from the city centre. For good, cheap nearby food go to Cafe Extrablatt which is a 5 min walk from the hotel. The staff here are wonderful. Just head out of reception, pass the telephone kiosk on the corner and walk straight ahead up Rue Abou El Abbes Sebti. There is also a very stylish, but amazingly cheap Moroccan restaurant a few doors down from the cafe called Comptoir Darna on Rue Echouhada.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Passenger43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

The lobby is spectacular but it doesn't make up for the worn bed sheets and lumpy mattress in our room. We stayed in room 326, triple occupancy room as part of a large tour group. The hotel is located in Hivernage, 30 minutes away on foot from Koutoubia Mosque.

Our room 326 is a 2 bedroom layout. One room had a balcony and a queen bed, the other room had 2 queen beds and a window. They overlook the front of the hotel. The TV is located in the room with the queen bed. There was AC in both rooms and both rooms were poorly lit. There was no fridge and no in-room safe.

The toilet was in it's own room with the tub, bidet and sink in another. The bathroom had plenty of counter space and was brightly lit. The showerhead could use a bit of cleaning as the water couldn't flow freely due to all the grime. The hairdryer was quite weak.

There was hot breakfast (oatmeal and some kind of soup) along with quite a large selection of croissants and breads as well as cold cuts. The best part is the freshly made msemmen. Drizzle with honey and it's like a taste of heaven. The coffee was good one day and bland another.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tardykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We are experienced travelers who stayed at the Andalous as part of a small group touring Morocco. There wasn't a single positive to our experience. The rooms are worn and shabby, the dining room was filthy - table cloths were never replaced, and showed stains that probably went back to the Last Supper, and the staff was at best indifferent, at worst outright rude. They never returned change when we paid for drinks, they fought with one another in the dining room, they ignored us in the bar while they watched a football game on the TV. There is an extra charge for everything, ranging from the use of the safes in the rooms to serving a cup of coffee at lunch. (BTW, the coffee and the food were dreadful.) The on-site managers shrugged off questions or complaints about their behavior.

In short, I'd rather camp out under a bridge than stay in this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avvocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

We stayed for 6 days at this hotel and had a pleasant stay.
We arrived at 1am and the Reception staff were very polite and helpful and we had even arranged for a member of their staff to pick us up from the airport, free of charge. We would have used this service had it not been for our connecting flight from Casablance being cancelled - make sure you email the Reception before you leave to get this service confirmed as we then got overcharged at the airport - 200 Dirs for a 10 min journey! & paid 100 Dirs on the way back.
We got a good spaced room with balcony and a good view of the pool etc. We also got a fruit basket and Moroccan sweets/ biscuits, water as complementary which was nice. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom all functioned fine although the toilet was separate from the bathroom...didn't like that. The balcony is a good size with chairs for you to relax.
Breakfast consisted of breads, eggs, a lady making fresh Moroccan pancakes in front of you, juices/ coffees, no fruit though :( It is enough to keep you going.
The hotel is about 25 mins walk from the main square (turn right out of the hotel) and about 10-15 mins to the newer part of town(turn left around the hotel).
It is a quite hotel with 'older' people but there was also some families with young children; all in all we had a good stay here and would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HELLOKITTY16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed here on arrival in Marrakech as we were off on tour with Cameltrekking.com the next day. Evening buffet was good and allowed two children as one adult, breakfast buffet very good. The pool was large and clean even in Feb. A little souless compared to the Riad we stayed in after our tour, but would be good for a summer stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxinsoxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

First night was fine, no problems. Went to the mountains for the day and when we came we asked to stay for another 2 nights. The the price when not booking online was nearly 20$ more. We booked from our laptop in their lobby then the people at the front desk would not accept the booking; telling us that we need to have a printed document saying that we booked online. We even showed them the e-mail on our laptops and they didn't permit it. In turn they made us pay the them for the 2 nights at a higher price for not having the option to print our confirmation document thru skoosh.com, they also said if they received the document via fax they would refund us the fee... So we go up to the room and as the concierge is letting us in, a rat runs out the door and down the hall. The concierge in all shock and awe hurried after it shouting in french not knowing what to do as it squishes itself under the next door into the next room.. He then comes back and tries to open the door and the keycard is in operable. At this point my friend and I are like wtf... so we head back to the front desk, telling them what happened and they legit acted as if they didn't understand english! haha no joke. This was just crazy because they we talking to us perfectly 5 minutes prior. So after sorting thru that mess we get a new room(somehow) we go get situated and I go to turn on the shower and water starts spaying out the faucet and the knobs going all over the bathroom! we call down to the front desk and after about 10 minutes they send up two plumbers who just look at it, turn it on and get sprayed in the face, they leave us not knowing what now because they lacked any english. Shortly after the concierge comes back brings us to a new room. Finally this one is par at best. Minus no bars of soap or towels haha. Fun experience right? Next day, we go to the front desk and we ask if they received the confirmation document from skoosh.com... they say no of course, so we email skoosh.com and htey confirm they sent to document and tell us they will resend. The front desk still insists they did not receive it. I ask for the managers email or anyway to contact a person in charge, the response ; "He is out of town and does not have email. You can send an email to reservations." which would be pointless because we were already talking to them... After about 1 month of skoosh.com having to deal with the hotel and sending us updates and copies of the emails they were getting from the hotel, we received a refund for what we had paid them. Skoosh.com is great, el andalous is a joke. Oh yea they also said the pool would be open until 2100, this was false because they closed it all three nights before 1900 and were adding chemicals just feet away from where children were swimming !!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BostonDean_palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We travelled with our kids, ages 5 & 7 and stayed here on several occasions. The location was great (walking distance for kids to most things); the outdoor pool was warm enough for kids to swim for about 20 minutes in December during a cool spell (warmer than a few we tried in the Palmerie; we liked the 2 double beds in every room; the women who worked at the front desk were very nice. The price we found through Otel was really quite a good value for the location amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaddybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#245 of 501 in Marrakech
2,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Hotel Farah Marrakech
#410 of 501 in Marrakech
984 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#293 of 501 in Marrakech
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
#457 of 501 in Marrakech
828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#383 of 501 in Marrakech
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £47 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing