We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The literal Mirage”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kasbah Le Mirage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kasbah Le Mirage
Ranked #154 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The literal Mirage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

The uncertainty of getting to the Kasbah was daunting at first, using the internet to translate English to French (as its the second language of Morocco) and then doing the same with replies. I managed to co-ordinate with the hotel my taxi / collection and drop off from the airport at a cost of 100 Dirhams - approximately £10.

The hotel was fantastically located to sample some othe Real Morocco. A mud flat village, made with straw etc, filled with chickens, running children, donkeys, dogs and quite good fun to get to. Down a dirt track, full bumps along the way, makes it all more enjoyable. Upon arrival a porter visited to collect my bag and show me to reception where I was shown to the Bar, Terrace and then given a complimentary Cocktail. Called the Kasbah. Fantastic as I sat to watch the Quad bikes come in, a donkey going down the river and the sight of further quads in the Palmerie.

Finally getting to the room, getting a little confused with the labyrinth of stair ways, flowing fountains the room was of Patio View, called KouKouYou. WIth a large wooden (secure) door, safe, drapes surrounding the bed. The room was fantastic, left to my own accord to find my way around. Hunting the pool, the grounds and the sun terrace in which I sat to read a book. Surrounded by birds, the call from the village mosque. The tranquil atmostphere really did set off the stay for some serious relaxation.

The Menu du Jour is a set menu at a cost of 180 Dirhams, with service with a smile. The final night this also included some live North African Music and Belly Dancing.

The hotel were courteous, a little hard of talking English although you can get by, a shuttle into Marrakech City twice every day, although they can organise taxi's otherwise at a rate of 100 Dirhams, (an extra 50 between 5pm and 9am), is great for a day out of exploring and even a night in Gjeema El Fna square with the fantastic food markets at night.

Although out of the way, this place is perfect to unwind, cut yourself off. Sure theres no TV in the room, but you dont go on holiday to keep an eye on the news, nor to watch English TV. Enjoyed it so much, that I am looking to return in May or June.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlideal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    131
    33
    18
    15
See reviews for
81
185
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

After reading various reviews about Kasbah Le Mirage, I decided to go ahead and book it anyway as a birthday surprise for my partner. The Mirage is situated out of town, but that was half the reason for booking it. We found the Kasbah and the staff to be great, everyone was really helpful and friendly and the food was amazing. They offer a free shuttle service into the centre twice a day. The views from the terraces are lovely and we had a really good stay. Thank you everyone at Kasbah. Nikki 02 - 05 July.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimdeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

Right well - first thing I should tell you is that this hotel is far away from central marrakech - around 6/7 km I believe... Its in the countryside area of Marrakech and may feel like you're in the middle of nowhere - getting there can be annoying at first since you have to drive on this long dirt track - but you'll get used to this...

When there - it is pretty nice, the air in spring is very still and its quite warm even at night - therefore going out on the patio for a drink and/or shisha is something I enjoyed a lot. In the morning, breakfast was filling and having it out on the patio in the sun was really good - there's a river nearby and hearing it flow at night is brilliant. I didn't go swimming but it definitely looked like a relaxing place to go to. There is a very very small town pretty much surrounding the hotel - the people seem nice although I do regret not going to talk to them to find out more about their way of living and how life is in this part of Morocco (which reminds me, unless you speak a decent amount of arabic or french you may very well have a hard time in Marrakech - unless travelling to the posh parts of the city (e.g. Gueliz).

Leading onto the service - yeh it was very good but again, mt arabic isn't that good and my friend did most of the talking - they were very helpful and allowed us to change rooms.

Altogether it was good but its only for some - if you feel to see more of Marrakech then yuo'd hoped, and venture out a bit into the wild by making those long trips into the centrte city now and again then this place is for you. If you're the sort who likes to have everything easily accesible from their doorstep and be able to only walk 15 mins from the city centre to their hotel room - then perhaps you'd better look elsewhere. I loved it though!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustafa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Qc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

We stayed at the Kasbah for 2 nights, in a room that only had windows that faced into the interior courtyard/lobby area of the hotel. This was the first thing we weren't crazy about - the room was very dark and quite small, although the bathroom was nice. We asked to change rooms since the hotel wasn't full when we arrived but were told we couldn't because a group was arriving the following day. The courtyard layout results in the rooms near the lobby (such as ours) being very noisy - you can hear everything going on at the front desk, as well as the numerous guests (we assume it was the group) who arrived very late during the first night of our stay.
The hotel has a pool area which would be nice except for the annoying techno music playing, and the flies buzzing around. There's a rooftop terrace with a tented lounge area - its a good place to read or relax except that the cushions on the chairs/lounge areas aren't kept that clean. There is also a hot tub which is not too appealing - the area around it seemed to be used for storing various equipment and lawn chairs.
The food at the restaurant was pretty good and reasonably priced although the choices are limited (and if you don't want the table d'hote you have to advise them what you from the regular menu before 18:00, which is a bit of a pain). The staff were generally pleasant but not very pro-active or service oriented, for example, if you were out by the pool or on the terrace no one would ever come back to see if you wanted anything else (you have to go back down to the restaurant to order).
The hotel is located out in the middle of no where, about 13km from the centre of Marrakesh. The taxis we took had trouble finding it. There's a very poor village right outside the Kasbah walls and not much else.
There are quad and camel expeditions but they both looked pretty lame. The hotel does offer free mountain bikes for guests to use, which was nice - we went on a ride from the village into the countryside.
Overall, if you're looking for a hotel outside of the city I would suggest other areas such as the Palmeraie than staying here.

  • Liked — The hammam
  • Disliked — Location and noisy room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank montrealjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2008

Well what can we say. After driving back to Marrakech from the wonderful Irocha hotel near Ouarzazte we were somewhat shocked to discover the mirage was certainly that. We could not believe our eyes when we discovered the hotel. It is located in the middle of nowhere about 7 km from civilization in the middle of what can only be described as a mud hut shanty town with thieving little kids everywhere trying to open the car doors and then throwing stones at us, which was nice and welcoming !! We had a quick look round and realised that the website really is quite "amazing" at making this hotel look nice. The place was deserted, the lobby very nice, the pool area pretty fowl with a delicate stench of manure and body odor. Needless to say we left and drove back to the medina and checked into Les Jardins de la Medina. This was a stunning place with great service and staff. but with a poor website !! DO NOT GO TO THE MIRAGE ITS SHOCKING.

  • Liked — Getting back in the car and leaving before checking in.
  • Disliked — Arriving.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank morocco08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

The location of this hotel is absolutely stunning. We had intended on staying in the city but our hotel there cancelled the booking and we were somewhat disappointed by having to stay in the middle of nowhere.
The hotel is at the end of a dirt track some 30-45 minute drive outside Marrakech. It costs about 100-150 dirham (10-15 euro) to get to and from town but the hotel does provide a free bus service twice a day which can save on costs.
The hotel provides mountain bikes at no extra charge and there is a lovely route through the Palmeraie into town in about 45 minutes. There are great walks in the vicinity and the hotel has its own pet monkey.
The communal areas are well maintained and great for relaxation. Mint tea, water pipes and snacks can be taken in any number of courtyards or on the roof terraces. The swimming pool is sizeable and beautiful and there is a great rooftop jacuzzi.
The hotel rooms are fine but could be larger - note there is no telephone or TV in any of the rooms.
The restaurant is a little on the dull side - eat at jemaa-el-fna for the best food in Marrakech.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Distance from town
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and I am not quite sure what to make of it... the site said it was only at 4 km from Marrakech but the daily taxi trip took 1/2 hour - you don't take 1/2 hr to drive 4 km! This was really disappointing not to say frustrating and costly. It was also low season so not all amenities were fully operational but this didn't bother me that much. I spent the whole time by the pool which was lovely. However I could occasionally hear the donkeys, the goats, a (very confused) rooster) and all this compounded with the DJs' choice on non-stop hip-hop music plus the call to prayers in the background. The occasional manure smell when the wind changed direction also became part of the daily routine as it were... I believe when fully operational this is a very nice place to stay and the gentle and humble attitude of the staff is like nothing I've ever seen.

  • Liked — The building itself
  • Disliked — The distance from any conveniences
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank earoeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
5.5 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#122 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
5.6 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#163 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#261 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
1.4 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#170 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
6.2 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#165 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Le Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Le Mirage

Property: Kasbah Le Mirage
Address: Ouahat Sidi Brahim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#103 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#115 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#170 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Le Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kasbah Le Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Le Mirage Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing